Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cathedral School For Boys 5

Posted September 25, 2013
- a parent
I am the parent of two boys at CSB. Our boys attended public elementary school and transferred to CSB for middle school. I cannot say enough about the fantastic staff and leadership, wonderful supportive community, and intentionality of the teaching. Everything is thoughtful and boycentric. I feel confident that the school is helping our family shape our boys to appreciate that being smart is "cool" and that working hard is school is the norm. There is a great approach to the spirituality at the school and a good balance of the STEM, the arts and sports and social and emotional growth. The school obviously consciously enrolls diversely, but it is not economically diverse as was our public school experience. The school attracts talented teachers because of the leadership and environment. Yesterday my older son's class interviewed --via Skype-- the author of the book the 8th grade read. The class was able to show off their artwork to the author who is going to post the artwork on his website. This type of approach to learning is everyday at the school

Cathedral School For Boys 5

Posted April 20, 2011
- a parent
Absolutely the best school for boys. We were at a downtown parochial school that consistantly chipped away at the boys self esteem. At Cathedral, the boys are supported by a team of teachers and admistrators that foster academic and personal growth within an environment that is positive and understanding.


Cathedral School For Boys 5

Posted December 02, 2010
- a parent
While many middle schools state that they understand boys' development, the Cathedral School truly does. Teachers and staff actively foster a positive, inclusive, and mutually supportive group dynamic among the boys. Administrators keep up on recent research in boys' learning styles, and carefully apply this knowledge in the classroom and on the playing field. CSB provides an excellent liberal arts education; grade inflation is minimal. Curricula can be rigorous, but is taught in ways that engage and entice boys. Through advisories, chapel discussions, and positive role modeling, the school focuses on students' moral and ethical growth, as well. CSB has a well-deserved reputation for educating 'nice kids' . . . who also happen to be highly-focused young scholars. Our son entered this school as a shy fifth-grader. Four years later, he's leaving CSB as a self-directed and optimistic young man with a deep love of learning. Like him, we have been delighted with the active, devoted learning community we found at Cathedral.

Cathedral School For Boys 5

Posted October 04, 2010
- a parent
We have been thrilled with CSB. Our son is in the Lower School. His teachers have all been amazing, and we have been extremely impressed with the quality of academics, the level of individual attention given to students, and how focused the school is in developing the "whole child." We consistently hear from faculty and administrators at numerous private high schools in the area that CSB boys are consistently viewed as "nice," well mannered and well adapted relative to their peers -- and of course academically prepared. Great student to teacher ratios, warm environment, lovely parent community, great cafeteria food -- this school is a winner.

Cathedral School For Boys 5

Posted February 26, 2010
- a parent
This school is nop-notch. We joined a couple of years ago as our children were at another private school in the city. We chose CSB because in embraces the learning styles of the child. It doesn't measure a child success by tests but rather by their exploration into each of the subjects being taught. We are so pleased. Our son has gained confidence, learned to think critically, and has matured to be a thoughtful, supportive and giving individual. The depth of learning his experiences is incredible and his recollection of the material, detailed. We couldn't be happier. And, the fact that they get the boys to exercise every day to keep their minds and bodies healthy is an added plus. Our son also says that the cafeteria food is delicious!


Cathedral School For Boys 4

Posted February 21, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Cathedral School For Boys 5

Posted August 24, 2008
- a parent
We have two sons at Cathedral & have found it an amazing experience for both (VERY different) boys. The small size has made it totally 'customized' for each boy -- I'm amazed at how well the teachers know what makes each boy tick. (The school is small enough that EVERY teacher in the school knows your son, not just his grade-level teacher.) The academics have been rigorous but caring -- i.e., no one slips through the cracks although the bar is set very high. Love the fact that -- at a boys' school -- the 'softer' subjects (music, art, drama, chapel) are just as important. Music is integrated throughout the day in the Lower School, and I often feel that CSB has a 'music immersion' program. My boys are still in Lower School, but (looking ahead) I was thrilled that ALL 8th graders were accepted at their first choice high schools.

Cathedral School For Boys 5

Posted August 22, 2008
- a parent
Our experience at Cathedral School For Boys has been everything we could have hoped for. The programs, faculty and administration focus on the development of the whole child; academic, emotional and spiritual. The small classes in the Lower School (kindergarten through 4th grade) allow boys to learn in an environment that is conducive to all types of learning styles, and the school clearly appreciates what's unique about each boy. In Upper School, CSB admits 5-6 new students each year in 5th and 6th grades and splits the grades into 2 classes of no more than 17 in each. The great majority of boys participates in CSB team sports. There are many ways for parents to be involved that can work with anyone's work schedule and desired level of involvement.


Cathedral School For Boys 5

Posted August 20, 2008
- a parent
I have two boys at CSB, and it has been a fantastic school for both of them. They are quite different, yet the school really works for both of them. I think this is a testament to the fact that the faculty really get to know each boy and what makes them tick (one of the benefits of a smaller school). I see them getting an absolutely top-notch, well-rounded education (core academics plus music, art, physical ed. as well as a spiritual and moral/ethical dimension). This isn't to say that everything is absolutely perfect all the time (and frankly, if that's the standard then you'll only be disappointed anywhere you go). But I can't imagine a more wonderful school for my boys or for our family.

Cathedral School For Boys 5

Posted December 17, 2007
- a parent
CSB is a great experience - the boys love it so much they run to get inside every day. My son graduated at the top of his class and was well prepared for high school. The school does not tolerate bullies.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cathedral School For Boys
1275 Sacramento Street, San Francisco, CA  94108
(415) 771-6600
Last modified Cathedral School For Boys is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Cathedral School For Boys Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews.