Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Town School For Boys 5

Posted November 22, 2013
- a parent
We have been very happy with our family's experience at Town. The new Head of the Lower School is fantastic. The Head of School sets a warm, funny, dedicated tone for the school and during the capital campaign Town has been doing to fund the new building, he has been appreciative of even small gifts (which we gave) with sincerity which was really nice. The teachers are expert, fun-loving, and masters at engaging boys in learning. We have especially loved the Exploring New Ideas program that exposes boys to mechanical engineering, coding, and exploring design solutions. They boys love it. The community is warm and welcoming and fun. We originally expected the school to be cold, competitive, lord of the flies, and sports obsessed. But, every kind of boy is appreciated - my son loves art and music and it's encouraged and appreciated there. The families are kind. Town is a great place for boys to learn and develop and be happy.

Town School For Boys 1

Posted July 14, 2013
- a parent
This school does not live up to it's reputation. The weaknesses are 3 fold - curriculum and teaching methodology, leadership, and character education. Town teaches the same curriculum as the public schools (literally). There is no hands on learning (at summer camp a counselor was stunned to see my son wonder aloud about the math manipulatives which he'd never seen before) and they actually discourage inquisitiveness. The headmaster has been there for 25 years and is now a fundraising figurehead. The Director of the Lower School has been there 35 years, and the teaching reflects such. They pay lip service to 21st century learning, but there is no evidence of it in the classroom - lessons are taught with a group lecture and worksheet. Perhaps the most unsettling part has been the complete lack of character education. Their claims to "embrace boyhood" are straight out of "Lord of the Flies". My son does not feel safe at school. The only positive things about this school are: a good art program and they're constructing a new building, which will be clean and bright. You'd be much better off choosing another (any other!) independent school, or even sending your son to public.
1 person found this helpful


Town School For Boys 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent
This school is awesome!! Every boy loves Town School! The faculty and staff are amazing and truly strive to make each boy's educational experience phenomenal by allowing them to be the unique and individual boys in which they were meant to be. It is all about boyhood here and when boys are happy they will learn!!

Town School For Boys 3

Posted November 21, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Town School For Boys 0
no rating

Posted June 06, 2009
- a parent
The teachers at this school are so amazing! They truly get and celebrate the boys. In the fall conferences our son's first grade teachers understood him almost as well as we do...and they had only been with him for 6 weeks! They completely got him. It blew us away. It's a pretty academically rigorous program...with a lot of focus on math and reading in the early grades. The after school extras are amazing! The school has a lot of emphasis on sports. (If your child is not into sports you may want to think twice.)


Town School For Boys 5

Posted November 30, 2008
- a student
I have been going to this school since kindergarden and i love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Town School For Boys 5

Posted August 19, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Town School For Boys 5

Posted November 30, 2007
- a parent
Town is a terrific all-boys K-8 school with strong academics, wonderful art, music and computer programs. The community is welcoming and diverse.


Town School For Boys 5

Posted August 16, 2005
- a teacher
Town has proven to be everything and more than promised during our school selection process. Our son had certain readinig disabilities in the first two years of school and the school identified that weakness, tested to try to find the root cause, and provide remedial assistance. After only nine months or so of this treatment, he was ready to rejoin his classmates without any adverse impacts. Today, going into 4th grade, he is an extremely confident and accomplished reader and is excelling in all other areas of the program as well. I could not imagine a better environment for boys to learn.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Town School For Boys
2750 Jackson Street, San Francisco, CA  94115
(415) 921-3747
Last modified Town School For Boys is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Town School For Boys Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews.