Advertisement

Zion Lutheran School

Private | K-8 | 123 students

Our school is best known for its academic excellence and small class sizes.
 
 

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $885,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2009

I love the personal attention my children get at Zion. The teachers and staff know each child by name and really care about them. They give 110% to the kids and school families in class, in clubs, and in community-building events. The curriculum gives them a really solid foundation in the basics but also builds in more advanced concepts and subjects. I love that my 5th grader is learning about the periodic table and writing reports on current events. The extracurricular activities - sports, music, theater, languages, and others - provide really great opportunities for the kids and are quite wide-ranging, especially for a small school. I also love that Zion is a Christian school not just in name only; helping students grow in their faith is an explicit objective.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I love Zion because my children loves Zion. They missed school during the summer and couldn't wait to get back. They even missed doing homework! The education is well rounded and excellent in both academics and extra-curricular activities. Children are given numerous opportunities to excel and encouraged to reach their potential. All the staff and teachers genuinely cares for the children and families. Zion exemplifies Jesus Christ in its loving environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The academic rigor, the sense of community and family, the nuturing atmosphere and the love. What student couldn't learn and grow in an environment like that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2008

My son has been at Zion for 3 years beginning from K grade. They have a fantastic K and 1st grade teacher that is very disciplined and structured. My son has learned the fundamentals that will help him excel in the future. Every school has its only political non-sense as this school has but I feel safe that my son goes there and trust them with his safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

Our son is in 2nd Grade. He has joined this year. He is very happy with school activities, teachers, and friends. He finishes his homework at extended care everyday which we are very happy.(working parents highly appreciated) He talks about his school day what he's learned, played with his friends, and even sing. He's learned about a lot of christian since he has joined and engaged himself praying for happiness, health or whatever comes his mind. It is amazing how he can adapt so many things well. We are very happy that our son is finally found a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

As a former student at Zion, it has built a foundation for high school, especially at Lowell. Lowell is tough, but Zion has structured me well and brought me through my freshman year especially, when I was merely fitting socially. Academically, teachers prepared me well -- such as studying and note-taking habits that I will never forget as a student. In addition, teachers worked with me side by side if I had questions, taking time off from their own time in order to work with me. Zion not only specializes in academics, but also offers opportunities in sports and participation in school events. I was never a very good athlete, but I managed to play volleyball and basketball a couple times during my career at Zion. The fact that they did not look down upon my skill comforted me. They excepted me for who I was.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2008

This school helps the child to become a well-balanced, loving person. My child has done well academically, spiritually and socially. Among the extras, this school has an integrated computer program, all children K-8 involvement in their annual musicals and optional after-school basketball training K-4.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

We looked for a new school at the end of first grade due to our less-than-pleased experiences at the former school. The principal was welcoming and straightforward. After my son spent a day in the classroom, he really wanted to go back to this school. They also invited him to spend the first week of summer in their vacation Bible school program to get to know his future schoolmates. While we do not actively participate in the church, we have never felt 'slighted'. The staff are incredible. The after-school program is excellent and the teachers and administrators truly care about the children and the school. Also, they do not have a million fundraising programs like our former school did. Right now, the afterschool program is instituting a new program to introduce new activities for the kids. Most of the sports porgrams are for kids in the older grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2005

I spent 9 years at this school. I was fairly fond of my education, though my social interaction with other students weren't the most favorable. Be as it may, it is no different any where else--those clicks and what not. However, it was an atmosphere I cannot imagine myself without--one that lacked the snobbery and selfishness of a private school. I cannot imagine myself else where. It was my middle school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 24, 2005

My son attended this small Lutheran school from K through 8 (graduated in 2003). Although there is nothing fancy about this school or its facilities, it provides an extraordinarily high-quality educational experience at a surprisingly low cost (far below most private schools; comparable to the lower-priced Catholic schools). Excellent parent involvement at all levels, dedicated teachers, and a true 'family' feeling. Good extracurricular activities, including outdoor education in Yosemite, Alliance Redwoods, and Olympic Peninsula, as well as 'living history' events. Virtually all of the graduating 8th graders get into good high schools (my son was accepted at Lowell, St. Ignatius (with honors), and Sacred Heart (as a DePaul scholar). If you are open to the possibility of a religious school, you could not do better than Zion.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 61%
White 16%
Two or more races 15%
Black 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Hispanic 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Cantonese)
Chinese (Mandarin)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Lutheran Elementary Schools Tournament (2013)
  • National History Day national finalist (2013)
  • Math Counts Competition (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Donna Laughlin
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)
Associations
  • ELEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground

Afternoon Extended Care (after school program)

About the program
  • We offer homework time, recess, and quiet recreational activities for grades K-8 after school every day.
Types of activities
  • Academic
Operated by
  • Mrs. Hannah Fox
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
Start time
  • 3:00 pm
End time
  • 6:00 pm
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • Yes
What grades can participate?
  • K-8
Is there a fee for the program?
  • Yes
Is financial aid available?
  • No
How can parents find out more about fees?
  • Call
  • Visit website
Website
Phone number
  • 415-221-7500

Zion Summer Enrichment (summer program)

About the program
  • Zion’s Summer Enrichment Program includes Morning Academics and Afternoon Enrichment. All classes are taught by qualified, experienced teachers. Morning and afternoon extended care are also available.
Types of activities
  • Academic
  • Arts
  • Language
  • Science nature
Operated by
  • Mrs. Donna Laughlin
Dates offered
  • June 9, 2014 - July 18, 2014
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
Start time
  • 8:30 am
End time
  • 3:00 pm
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • No
What grades can participate?
  • K-8
Is there a fee for the program?
  • Yes
Is financial aid available?
  • No
How can parents find out more about fees?
  • Call
  • Visit website
Before / after care
  • After
  • Before
Website
Phone number
  • 415-221-7500
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Schedule a tour to see the school and learn how to apply! Call Admissions Director Debbie Chong at 415-221-7500 x205.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


5 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
20
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
40
Students typically come from these schools
Starlight Christian Preschool
Ark of Hope Preschool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Lowell High School
Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory
Saint Ignatius
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

495 9th Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94118
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 221-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Star of the Sea School
San Francisco, CA


The Laurel School
San Francisco, CA



Lisa Kampner Hebrew Academy
San Francisco, CA



Sutro Elementary School
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT