Advertisement

Katherine Delmar Burke School

Private | K-8 | 400 students

Educating, Encouraging & Empowering Girls
 
 

 
 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $750,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 31, 2012

I did not think highly of the quality of the teachers my daughter had at Burkes If your daughter loves to learn and is driven to learn, this school is not for you. I think that if your daughter is "average" or below , she will do great! The students spend far too much time on "fun" projects than actual learning. The girls are not expected to try their best or extent themselves in any way in the pursuit of learning. Having said that, the new head of school seems to be very good. The last one from the South was just horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

If the last reviewer is 36, she graduated from Burke's more than 20 years ago. I submit that her data is far too old to be relevant today. As a parent of a current Burke's eighth grader, I concur with other positive reviews - Burke's more than fulfills their mission to educate, encourage and empower their girls and they do it thoughtfully and with love and joy. I marvel at the intelligent, confident, capable and caring woman my daughter has become and I know that Burke's played a significant role in her development. My daughter was just accepted to a number of wonderful high schools including her first and second choice and, yet, if she could, she would prefer to spend her high school years at Burke's where she knows the faculty, curriculum, community, and campus meet her every need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

I am 33 year old Burke's graduate, now living in Illinois, and in the process of selecting a school for my own bright and curious daughter. I only wish I could send her to Burkes! From the postings I read, it seems the school continues to challenge, inspire and encourage girls to be their best selves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2012

I went to Burke's and was utterly miserable there. I don't know how much it has changed since then (I'm 36) but I would NEVER send a child to this school, which I found to be incredibly classist and stratified. My social experience was just awful. I used to go home sobbing every day. I had attended FAIS and the Lycee and never had this feeling from either of those places, and I went on to public high school in OR and then Columbia for college which I loved. Honestly, when I get fundraising letters from Burke's to this day, I feel like ripping them to shreds. It still angers me to remember how little help I got from the school when I felt so miserable there. I think it's a toxic, terrible place. I teach at Stanford now, and I feel like I have decent qualifications to talk about what makes a school good or bad, although clearly my bias is personal.


Posted September 29, 2010

Burke's is an astounding school in every respect. If offers in incredibly nuturing and intellectually stimulating environment. Every aspect of the curriculum has been designed with the girls' developmental needs and abilities in mind, with a special focus on developing leadership, high motivation, love of learning, and appreciation of cultural and indivdual differences. Our daughter is ecstatic being there and is growing emotionally and academically in leaps and bounds. I can't recommend Burke's highly enough, and I encourage you to check it out regardless of where you live in the city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

Our daughter in first grade is absolutely loving her school, and we do too. As the school motto goes, these girls are encouraged, educated and empowered, and the sense of self-confidence I see in my daughter and her friends is cool )and also kind of scary). So far, the academics have been top-notch, while being presented in a fun way. We are really happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

I'm a grad of Burke's, am of minority background, and my family comes from modest means. Burke's played an influential role in my setting high expectations for myself and in teaching me solid values. (I still remember how everyone, no matter what their family background, had to do some clean-up chores.) After Burke's, I attended good schools (Brown and Princeton) and have had a rewarding personal and professional life. My friends from Burke's, with whom I am still close, came from similarly middle-class backgrounds and have had rewarding educational, professional and personal lives, too. If you're lucky enough to get in, and you have the means to go, it's a fantastic school that focuses on developing confident and thinking girls and future leaders.


Posted March 14, 2008

Burke's is a great school, and has terrific teachers. My daughter is in the 7th grade and loves it. The sports program is stellar; the arts could be better. New campus, beautiful setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

fabulous teachers, great facility, and getting better. wonderful academics and sports.


Posted March 28, 2007

The academic program, sports program and teachers alike are excellent at KDBS. There is always an open door to enter when you have questions or concerns. My daughter is in her 9th year at KDBS. As African Americans we were somewhat concerned about the lack of diversity when we joined this community almost 9 years ago. However, the KDBS community fast became our family and friend. And when tragedy hit our family, this community could not have been more uplifting and supportive. It has been an excellent school for our daughter and our family and it is a wonderful place for girls to learn and grow. Parent involvement is very strong at KDBS and highly encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2006

A terrific all-girls program for K-8. My daughter is in 2nd grade, has really blossomed at KDBS. Philosophy is to create the right environment for the girls to learn, push appropriately but not before the girls are developmentally ready. Best academic program we've seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2006

KDBS is a wonderfull school that caters to girls. The class sizes are small, and there is a full-range of extracurricular activities. The after-school extended care program is first class, and includes enrichment classes as well as free-time. Parents are highly involved -- a bit of a formal group, but nice enough. Teachers have been outstanding. My daughter has really blossomed there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

We've very much appreciated the school's breadth of curriculum. Science, art, music, technology and library are special subjects once or twice each week, depending on the grade level. Gym class is also offered every day and the PE instructors will often run soccer games or have a walking club at lunch and recess. Our one criticism, however, is that the curriculum throughout could be more inventive and challenging--especially with regard to the music, science and writing programs. Extracurricular activities, sadly, seem to be primarily sports-related and for the Upper School (5-8 grades) girls. This is a big gap, which I hope will be remedied some day. Parents are involved by the school primarily as fundraisers and field trip helpers. It is an old school, with an established routine and tradition. This serves the school and its community but also can prevent vibrancy. I don't have any contact with the Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 70%
Asian 13%
Two or more races 12%
Hispanic 3%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Michele Williams
Gender
  • All girls
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NCGS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Hybrid
  • Mindfulness, Responsive Classroom
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Project-based
  • Reggio Emilia
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Engineering
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • High School Counseling
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Parent Chaperoned Bus
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$25000 - $30000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7070 California Street
San Francisco, CA 94121
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 751-0170

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Kittredge, Inc. School
San Francisco, CA


Lafayette Elementary School
San Francisco, CA


Alamo Elementary School
San Francisco, CA


St. Monica School
San Francisco, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT