Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
San Francisco, CA
Students enrolled: 400
 

5 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

14 reviews of this school


San Francisco University High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
Kids at University have to work hard to keep their head above water. Almost all seem to rise to the occasion. It's impressive.

San Francisco University High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
All school assemblies raise important ethical issues. My daughter comes home and talks to me about these issues. Kids treat each other with respect and hold themselves to high standards.


San Francisco University High School 4

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
Programs are outstanding. Culture is fantastic; never seen a school go to greater lengths to create a culture that inspires curiosity and builds strong community. Teaching quality is generally high, but somewhat variable. Like other independent schools I know, University does not yet earn 5 stars on "cultivating teaching excellence."

San Francisco University High School 5

Posted January 21, 2013
- a parent
Amazing school!! Kids are very very smart--future leaders of USA! Teachers are very supportive and the quality of instruction is the best I've ever seen in any school. Very sophisticated faculty--most of them with Phd degree. It is truly comparable to schools of America like Phillips Academy Exeter or Andover. My son is Junior and he is getting an amazing education (he is absolutely ready for college). We are inspired!!

San Francisco University High School 5

Posted June 28, 2012
- a parent
Easily comparable to the great private schools of America like Andover. There are other credible private high schools in San Francvisco, but no one with knowledge would bebate that UHS is at the top of the heap. A national innovator (created Summerbridge), an extraordinary curriculum and faculty, just a jewel which attracts the best ina supportive atmosphere.


San Francisco University High School 5

Posted December 09, 2010
- a parent
UHS has a great faculty who are always engaged in their jobs. I am a parent, and I know that when my child is struggling with the rigorous academics, they can sense it, and strongly suggest meeting with them for extra help. The head of school is always up to date on the new scientific studies which involve student health and studying skills, and is always readily available to us. University also offers a wide variety of extra curricular activities for all students including Zumba (latin dance) to the spring musical. This is by far the best high school in the bay area, and I recommend all parents to highly consider this high school in the application process.

San Francisco University High School 5

Posted August 17, 2009
- a student
Absolutely the best school in the city. A challenging academic experience without a doubt, yet it is all worth it. The best part of the school is definitely the overwhelming support from the faculty and the truly strong sense of school spirit.

San Francisco University High School 5

Posted April 19, 2009
- a student
Best academic school on the West Coast by far!! Amazing faculty support.


San Francisco University High School 5

Posted August 22, 2008
- a community member
I think this school is great. they let middle school students have a summer program called summerbridge there every year.

San Francisco University High School 5

Posted May 03, 2006
- a student
University, or UHS, is an amazing place. Its name is rather appropriate, as it is like going to college in high school. Though it is a challenging school, it is not too overwhelming, and offers almost 150 courses covering every discipline you'd ever be interested in. A huge number of athletic and art programs are readily available to students, all of which are extremely high quality. Anytime a student wants to learn or do something not already in existence, they are able to create the program for themselves as an independent study for academic or art interests. Anything that you want to do you can do here; it is an amazing place to be.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Francisco University High School
3065 Jackson Street, San Francisco, CA  94115
(415) 447-3121
Last modified San Francisco University High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
San Francisco University High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top