Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Hamlin School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $813,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

Hamlin is great! The teachers are very energetic and willing to work with students. The academics are great and by the time they leave, they are very well prepared for high school. I especially liked how they are the only school who has the girls lead the school tours. Wanda Holland is an amazing head of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2010

Hamlin is a fantastic school. We have a 1st grader and another starting next year. Hamlin has a dynamic and visionary head of school that is keeping what is good about the school while changing for the 21st century. The teachers are great -- educated, energetic & passionate. Over the past few years, the school has become more diverse in race, religion and social-economic status. I highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

Since most of these reviews are at least two years old, I thought I'd add mine to the mix. Hamlin has a dynamic new head of school and the entire community is excited about the direction the school is going. The incoming K class is diverse--racially, socioeconomically, and in terms of family structure, and probably in other less obvious ways. We have found the community very welcoming. It was by far our first choice for our daughter. Check it out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2006

Great school with excellent academics. The parents are very snooty, but seem nice. We are considering removing our daughter because the school does not respond well to students who creative are learners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

We have really enjoyed our experience at Hamlin. They have provided a wonderful learning environment and experience for my daughter. The teachers are interested in her as an individual and encourage her to take risks. They have provided her with a great foundation to exceed in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2006

Outstanding school all round, save diversity
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2006

My daughter attended this school for the K - 8 grades. At the time of her initial enrollment, I had my doubts, as there are other excellent options in the SF area, and we stressed over making the best decision. In summary and in hindsight, if we were to be in that situation again, we would choose Hamlin, but this time with the utmost confidence. My quiet and introverted daughter flourished here. She left the school with a lot of confidence in her abilities, she has maintained a love of learning, and many fond memories.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2005

Hamlin is am amazing school. The teachers are some of the best educators I have known. They are kind, smart, and extremely helpful to parents. They truly want your children to suceed. It is the best school imaginable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2005

I'm an alumna (as are my sister, cousin) and I still remember my French, history, math, and English teachers; I truly believe they helped me develop as a person as well as succeed in the material sense (Brown, med school, chief resident, etc).
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 10, 2004

Incredible school, especially Corrine Hester, the Head of School. Academics, athletics, art and music etc. are unquestionably great. But the real differentiator is the strength of the vision of the school and philosophy with regard to girls' education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

Everything about this school is awesome! From the challenging curriculum to truly caring teachers, to a sharp head of school that has a geniune love for education and the students. No doubt about it - this school is hard, and may not be for everyone. Those that graduate from The Hamlin School will have a foundation for entry into the finest high schools. This has happened for us!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 61%
Two or more races 25%
Asian 10%
Black 3%
Hispanic 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NCGS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2120 Broadway
San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone: (415) 922-0300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Stuart Hall for Boys School
San Francisco, CA


St. Vincent De Paul School
San Francisco, CA


St. Brigid School
San Francisco, CA



Sherman Elementary School
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT