Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-12
Private
San Francisco, CA
Students enrolled: 141
After care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sterne School 5

Posted March 08, 2015
- a parent
My kids have been at Sterne for 6 months and are thriving They came from a Parochial school with very large classrooms and very busy teachers. At Sterne, they are learning twice as much with none of the pain. Our home life has improved tremendously as both kids have become independent learners with much improved self-confidence. The curriculum has been tailored to each of my kids to highlight their strength (math and science for one of them), Spanish, English and the Arts for the other - - and work on their weaknesses. The classes are very small and the teacher extraordinarily creative in meeting each kid's learning style. We are thrilled.

Sterne School 1

Posted February 08, 2015
- a community member
Please note non of the reviews are before 2013. Sterne's excellent for children on the spectrum. But not for kids who are "normal" socially and have dyslexia/ADD/dysgraphia. Sterne decided years ago to discontinue being an NPS ( non public school approved by districts ) Many of the teens who fit the "non spectrum" mold were forced to hang out and sit with non friends that were spectrum disordered at lunchtime, despite their protesting against it . Despite being assured the opposite: The high school had a high percentage of spectrum kids. This was a serious problem for the NON spectrum children who were punished for expressing frustration and anger with "spectrum" children who were loudly disturbing classroom time .In many classes the amount of work done was below par, frequently only a few pages of reading a week. After one semester ( 12K) most of the credits from Sterne were NOT accepted by another mainstream school. children or parents who complained were either subtly threatened or expelled from the school. Insist on 4 + contacts for NON spectrum families at Sterne Highschool pre 2013.


Sterne School 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
High school options for East Bay students with Learning Differences are very limited. Sterne School's new high school is a great choice for East Bay families as the school is located on Valencia Street in SF, just a 10 minute walk from the 16th & Mission BART stop. My son has grown in independence, street smarts, self-confidence and simply learning how the world works with this new responsibility of getting himself to school. Sterne faculty and staff rotate daily and provide an escort for those students both to and from the BART station. In addition to the praises sung in the reviews below, commuting on BART has been yet another step in my son learning to be a productive citizen in our society.

Sterne School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
Sterne School is a safe learning environment for students with learning differences. The teachers, staff members and administrators are all well equipped and educated in ways to make the students learning environment engaging.

Sterne School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
Sterne School provides individualized instruction for each of its students with an exceptional Faculty and Staff. Our son just started his third year at Sterne and we are very happy with the program there and he very much enjoys school. The Head of School is very experienced and knowledgeable and leads a dynamic, highly skilled and committed Staff. We are very grateful for Sterne School.


Sterne School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
We rate Sterne school 5 stars! My son entered last year as a very demoralized 7th grader who was failing in the public school system, though he had previously done very well. By the time the year ended, he was a confident outgoing boy again, who was learning and loving it! The individualized homework, stretch goals, executive functioning skills building and one on one coaching by staff make joining the Sterne community one of the best decisions we have ever made for our son and family.

Sterne School 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a parent
Sterne School has been a great place for my son. As a school that understands learning differences, the staff understands how my son learns the best and, knows him, as a unique individual. With its small class size, my son cannot "fall through the cracks" and remain "unnoticed" as it happened in his previous school. It's going to take him some time to "undo" the damage from his previous school, but I already see positive changes in his stress level and better outlook on school as a whole. Tools used to help students learn include iPad technology which is awesome! The school staff really understand how to engage their students and help them become more independent. I highly recommend anyone who has a child with learning differences to check out the school.

Sterne School 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a parent
This is our second year at this school. The head of school is knowledgable and very involved. The teachers, head of school, and parents work like a team, all to make sure the students have the most individualized plan so the can succeed.


Sterne School 5

Posted October 19, 2013
- a parent
Best school ever for Irene. Outstanding support and involvement. Teacher offeres help wehere ever they can. Irene for the first time knows what going on in school and likes to go to it. Could have not imagined a better schoole

Sterne School 5

Posted October 19, 2013
- a parent
This school is welcoming to all learning differences and backgrounds. After years of "I hate school" to "I feel valued" from my son is worth twice the price.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sterne School
2690 Jackson Street, San Francisco, CA  94115
(415) 922-6081
Last modified Sterne School is a Private school that serves grades 5-12
Sterne School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top