Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-12
Private
San Francisco, CA
Students enrolled: 89
After care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sterne School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
With few exceptions the teachers get their work and syllabus off the internet. There are some exceptional teachers, but 4/5 of them never go in depth into a subject, rather they skim the surface because they're not particularly knowledgeable in their subjects. Student control is valued over educational quality.

Sterne School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has said time and time again that students are treated as subjects rather than equals, they are not given respect they deserve.


Sterne School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
If students are punished heavily on a regular basis for honesty, it only teaches them deceit and concealment of faults.

Sterne School 1

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
Sterne's management has spiraled in this past year to the point where they aren't even what the claim to be. Sterne advertises itself as an accommodating community for children with disabilities such as ADHD and dyslexia. Despite this, Sterne's staff has demonstrated time and time again that they don't know how to deal with hyperactive or impulsive children. In the past year five students out of their 30 in the High School have been kicked out or expelled for being "too hard" to deal with, what did they do? One was booted when he offended another student and that student's parents threatened to sue the school. One was booted because she suffered from severe depression. Another was kicked out for impulsively looking at an email when it was displayed on the Apple TV. And lastly a girl was expelled for saying the word "F***". None of these examples are grounds for regular expulsion, which only goes to show the school values their money and reputation over the well being of the students which it claims are it's priority. If your child has ADHD do NOT consider Sterne as a viable option, impulsive students such as those with ADHD are tossed aside at first chance. My daughter got into a predicament earlier in the year to which we had to talk the school down from expulsion and the entire time since then she has been picked on by staff daily, she's constantly being observed for bad behavior and if she makes the smallest mistake she's reprimanded or punished. This behavior from adult members of staff is frankly unacceptable and immature. She's just a little girl for gods sake not an adult on parole. It's not a supportive community, it's a Hierarchy of dysfunctional adults who are only in it to boss around people who can't defend themselves. All in all, until Sterne's adult behavior improves and seriously rethinks the employment of their staff, do not consider it as a viable option for the sake of your child and their academic record ESPECIALLY if they have a tendency to be impulsive. They should renounce the punishments of these children and give themselves a fresh start, otherwise I can't see my daughter continuing to work in their oppressive environment.

Sterne School 5

Posted March 08, 2015
- a parent
My kids have been at Sterne for 6 months and are thriving They came from a Parochial school with very large classrooms and very busy teachers. At Sterne, they are learning twice as much with none of the pain. Our home life has improved tremendously as both kids have become independent learners with much improved self-confidence. The curriculum has been tailored to each of my kids to highlight their strength (math and science for one of them), Spanish, English and the Arts for the other - - and work on their weaknesses. The classes are very small and the teacher extraordinarily creative in meeting each kid's learning style. We are thrilled.
1 person found this helpful


Sterne School 5

Posted February 11, 2015
- a parent
This is in response to the individual who wrote a review recently complaining about neural-typical kids and spectrum kids. I have to say that ADHD is considered on the spectrum. You should be ashamed of yourself for writing review to deter parents from this school. IF your child is so special put him/her in a school for kids without differences. You are probably one of those parents who's child's slight dyslexia or dysgraphia has sent you into a tailspin. Work on your own family. Really shameful, you are free to put your kid where you like,
4 people found this helpful

Sterne School 1

Posted February 08, 2015
- a community member
Please note non of the reviews are before 2013. Sterne's excellent for children on the spectrum. But not for kids who are "normal" socially and have dyslexia/ADD/dysgraphia. Sterne decided years ago to discontinue being an NPS ( non public school approved by districts ) Many of the teens who fit the "non spectrum" mold were forced to hang out and sit with non friends that were spectrum disordered at lunchtime, despite their protesting against it . Despite being assured the opposite: The high school had a high percentage of spectrum kids. This was a serious problem for the NON spectrum children who were punished for expressing frustration and anger with "spectrum" children who were loudly disturbing classroom time .In many classes the amount of work done was below par, frequently only a few pages of reading a week. After one semester ( 12K) most of the credits from Sterne were NOT accepted by another mainstream school. children or parents who complained were either subtly threatened or expelled from the school. Insist on 4 + contacts for NON spectrum families at Sterne Highschool pre 2013.
1 person found this helpful

Sterne School 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
High school options for East Bay students with Learning Differences are very limited. Sterne School's new high school is a great choice for East Bay families as the school is located on Valencia Street in SF, just a 10 minute walk from the 16th & Mission BART stop. My son has grown in independence, street smarts, self-confidence and simply learning how the world works with this new responsibility of getting himself to school. Sterne faculty and staff rotate daily and provide an escort for those students both to and from the BART station. In addition to the praises sung in the reviews below, commuting on BART has been yet another step in my son learning to be a productive citizen in our society.


Sterne School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
Sterne School is a safe learning environment for students with learning differences. The teachers, staff members and administrators are all well equipped and educated in ways to make the students learning environment engaging.

Sterne School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
Sterne School provides individualized instruction for each of its students with an exceptional Faculty and Staff. Our son just started his third year at Sterne and we are very happy with the program there and he very much enjoys school. The Head of School is very experienced and knowledgeable and leads a dynamic, highly skilled and committed Staff. We are very grateful for Sterne School.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sterne School
2690 Jackson Street, San Francisco, CA  94115
(415) 922-6081
Last modified Sterne School is a Private school that serves grades 5-12
Sterne School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top