Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

5-12|Private
141 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sterne School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Marti, Mr. Davies, Miss Rebecca and Mr. Bendon. They are my favorite teachers although I could go on naming at least five more teachers at Sterne. They make learning fun.

Sterne School 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
I have had a great time at this school while learning more than I ever have before. - Mariana (8th Grade)


Sterne School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
We feel a true sense of gratitude to our son's teacher, Ms. Comley. She is truly invested in helping the students rise to their fullest potential. She is a team player and is open to suggestions. She was always willing to meet and talk about our son. She is open and honest and helped our son regain confidence in himself. He felt supported and felt understood and, even when he was struggling, he did not feel judged and knew that Ms. Comley was there to help him figure things out. He is much happier this year and much of this is due to the support and encouragement from his teacher, Ms. Comley!

Sterne School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
Caroline Comley is my son's main teacher at Sterne. She is a treasure. She communicates well with us about how our son is doing. She made our son feel so comfortable and accepted when he started Sterne as a new student in 7th grade. Having her as his teacher helped him adapt quickly to the new environment. She understands learning differences and helps each student figure out how they can use their strengths to succeed at school.

Sterne School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Ed McManis is the Head of my son's school. Having left a school last year due to bullying, my son came to Sterne school a shell of his former self. He was anxious, worried and his self confidence had been badly diminished. Ed took him in and reminded my son every day that he was going to thrive and succeed at Sterne. Ed goes beyond what is expected - whether he is helping Hayes write a journal in his office or helping him talk through his worries, Ed does what it takes to help Hayes. Ed has never raised his voice, nor is he ever punitive. He steers our son in the kindest and most profound way. Recently, he recommended my son for a National Leadership program in Washington DC this summer. And my son, who couldn't sleep alone last year because of anxiety, is now flying by himself to this conference. He told me "If Ed thinks I can do it, then I can do it!" Our son is back to his former self. He is engaged, happy, confident and wants to succeed. I credit Ed for being the conduit for that transformation and I am eternally grateful for his dedication and grace.


Sterne School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Ed is at the helm and creates a nuturing environment for every student to flourish in the way they should.

Sterne School 5

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
Our son is a high school student at Sterne. The teachers are accessible and push him to his highest potential while supporting him while he navigates through social issues. Already in 10th grade, both teachers and counselors are exposing us to colleges and strongly encouraging early exploration. Sterne is WASC certified and also UC A-G certified, so our son has the potential to go anywhere he can get accepted. We are so grateful for the support of administrative staff and faculty. Big school goals with small school advantage. A place where everyone knows our son. It is so special to be at a school where our kids with LD are the center of the stage and not on the periphery. We are so grateful to have Sterne for our son and family.

Sterne School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Burnaugh for creating an engaging science class and for taking extra personal time to lead the club that our son asked to start.


Sterne School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
Our son is learning his subject matter and connects to what the teachers convey. We hear stories from the classroom all the time and in particular those where teachers share their personal stories to make a point. They know how to reach our kids. Other schools don't have this type of leadership in LD.

Sterne School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
As a school that specializes in LD, Sterne meets the students where they are. Sometimes persistence, grit and determination are long goals. The first greatest gift from Sterne is the reduction of anxiety which enables our kids to learn. After that they reinforce self advocacy and provide our kids with tools to function in the world as different learners. These are remarkable skills developed at Sterne.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sterne School
2690 Jackson Street, San Francisco, CA  94115
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. (415) 922-6081
Last modified Sterne School is a Private school that serves grades 5-12
Top