Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

5-12|Private
141 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sterne School 5

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
Our son is a high school student at Sterne. The teachers are accessible and push him to his highest potential while supporting him while he navigates through social issues. Already in 10th grade, both teachers and counselors are exposing us to colleges and strongly encouraging early exploration. Sterne is WASC certified and also UC A-G certified, so our son has the potential to go anywhere he can get accepted. We are so grateful for the support of administrative staff and faculty. Big school goals with small school advantage. A place where everyone knows our son. It is so special to be at a school where our kids with LD are the center of the stage and not on the periphery. We are so grateful to have Sterne for our son and family.

Sterne School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Burnaugh for creating an engaging science class and for taking extra personal time to lead the club that our son asked to start.


Sterne School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
Our son is learning his subject matter and connects to what the teachers convey. We hear stories from the classroom all the time and in particular those where teachers share their personal stories to make a point. They know how to reach our kids. Other schools don't have this type of leadership in LD.

Sterne School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
As a school that specializes in LD, Sterne meets the students where they are. Sometimes persistence, grit and determination are long goals. The first greatest gift from Sterne is the reduction of anxiety which enables our kids to learn. After that they reinforce self advocacy and provide our kids with tools to function in the world as different learners. These are remarkable skills developed at Sterne.

Sterne School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and administrators model compassion, caring and empathy. Depending on the student, he/she may master these qualities or not.


Sterne School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
Sterne focuses on self awareness and advocacy and the teachers and staff respond with an even hand to honesty and integrity. They are specially trained in responding to kids with differences and have multiple ways of addressing our kids. This results in fair and customized treatment for all.

Sterne School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
Ed McManis, Head of School, has built a truly dedicated community of staff, teachers and families who are able to successfully develop those who learn differently. Bravo!!.

Sterne School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
They are specially trained to teach kids who learn differently, and it shows by how well the kids develop intellectually as well as academically


Sterne School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
Homework is tailored to what the individual child needs, not a one-size-fits-all approach. They believe the learning takes place in the classroom and the homework is supplementary.

Sterne School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
They learn with challenges, but the just the right amount- stretch goals that tend to inspire, not deflate. Kids will be more persistent and not give up when they feel they can succeed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sterne School
2690 Jackson Street, San Francisco, CA  94115
(415) 922-6081
Last modified Sterne School is a Private school that serves grades 5-12
Sterne School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top