Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Urban School of San Francisco

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $850,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2013

Just Fantastic. Great teachers, great environment, couldn't be happier. The classes are difficult, but extremely rewarding. The school creates a fantastic environment to speak openly about world issues and prejudice. I would highly recommend joining clubs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2011

My three daughters attended Urban over the last 7 years. They received a superior education from passionate teachers who challenged them at every step. In fact, they have been far ahead of their classmates at well-regarded liberal arts colleges, in their areas of interest: math, science and languages. We chose Urban because we felt that teachers were accessible and concerned with each student individually, and we were never disappointed. The school's art, music, math, science, writing, foreign language and college counselling are all exceptional. When one of my kids became seriously ill, the school was extraordinarily helpful in helping her thrive, despite severe limitations for 18 months. While she might not have been able to continue attending some schools, Urban helped her continue her studies and remain part of the community. To address one previous criticism, Urban's policies on drugs and alcohol are relatively strict. One of my kids' classmates had a substance problem that the school addressed very proactively, providing counselling and setting limits that turned the student's life around. I don't believe this would have happened in many other SF schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

My family has had a very poor experience at Urban. It has been disappointing except for the performing arts. The parent body is wonderful and try their best to support the students and the school. The teachers are rigid, teaching to a format without considering the needs of the kids and loading them up with endless hours of busy work that teaches them nothing about the world. There is no effort from the teachers to get to know the kids unless your kid happens to have the ability to pander to the teachers' personality and needs. This is not a school for boys. There is no effort from the school to understand the nature of the boy brain and how to teach teenage boys. They focus entirely on verbal communication, essay after essay on every subject, with mind numbing regularity. There is no flexibility. If your child's personality fits, the teachers will help you. If they have any differences, with learning skills, learning style, cultural differences or in differences in personality, the teachers do not have the resources or the inclination to help. This is a great school for girls but boys should look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2011

Excellent! Passionate faculty. Tradition of excellence. My son spent four great years at Urban and is currently flourishing in college because Urban prepared him completely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Don't let their progressive philosophy fool you, this is a rigorous academic school, but how it differs from others is that the students leave passionate about learning and are self-directed on a path.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

Outstanding school. Our child is a strong student academically, and is consistently challenged in all of her classes. The diversity of the student body is one of the key elements in the success of the school. There are many varied talents and passions among the students, adding an important element to the education our child is receiving. This is a 'real world' environment, and excellent preparation for college. Students must be motivated to succeed and take charge of their own successes; that being said, support is readily available for anyone who needs it. No one falls through the cracks at Urban.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2008

Because Urban is located in the Haight, it may not come as a surprise that many kids et into drugs, even as early as freshmen year. I know they say this happens at all high schools, but Urban seems to have a bigger problem with it than most. I would not send my child to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 19, 2006

An excellent school, particularly for students with an artistic passion of some kind, such as writing, music, dance or photography. The extracurriculars are treated more like regular classes, ie, the theatrical productions are all classes, not after school activities. Sports players can expect excellent boys baseball, basketball and soccer teams, as well as exceptional girls basketball, volleyball and softball. Parents seem to be quite involved. This school is very, very, liberal, left wing leaning. Extremely politically correct. Would not recommend it if you or your child have even one bone of conservativism. Our child id quite happy in this unique, albeit, competitive, intellectual environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2005

I attended this school from '96 to 2000. I can't speak highly enough of it. The commitment of the teachers, the emphasis on community service, and the overall quality of the curriculum make this school a very special place.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 13, 2004

Our daughter graduated from Urban June of 2003. She still proudly wears her Urban Sweatshirt. The teaching staff and the administrative staff are all wonderful and caring people. The kids are challenged, but with warmth. It was a great experience for us all. I agree about the math and history departments. They are exceptional. I would recommend The Urban School without qualification.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2004

Urban is a place that allows every student to be themselves. There is never a cookie-cutter standard that is expected of every student because the faculty understands that every child needs to have their own standards. It is a wonderful place for children to learn, grow and become independent, informed, intelligent citizens who will change the world in many extraordinary ways.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2003

My son graduated from Urban the last June. This school has a unique grading system and philosophy. They really challenged my son through the 4 years he was there. The curriculum and standard are high and there is a well round education connected to the real world experiences. I highly recommend Urban to any conscious parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 70%
Two or more races 13%
Asian 10%
Hispanic 4%
Black 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1563 Page Street
San Francisco, CA 94117
Phone: (415) 626-2919

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Discovery Center School
San Francisco, CA



Wells (Ida B.) High School
San Francisco, CA



Gateway High School
San Francisco, CA


Walden Academy
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT