Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cornerstone Academy

Private | K-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $423,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2014

My school was Cornerstone Academy was great during preschool to 5th grade. The teachers spoke Chinese so my Chinese expanded greatly. I also learned a lot because the teachers were experienced and acknowledged every individual student's needs and talents. Middle school was totally different though. My locker was rusting, had dents, and if pulled hard enough my lock would unlock. The teachers gave us zero freedom. While my friends in other schools had no uniform, a privilege to go home by themselves, and free time I had none of that. My teachers would always tell us that they wanted to treat us like adults but two minutes after that they would treat us as if we were preschoolers. I had my locker on the third floor when most of my classes were on the second floor. The other kids had their lockers on the ground floor when their classes were on the third floor. One of my teachers was a complete control freak. When there was free dress she would forbid us from wearing sweatpants, shorts, and for girls she would forbid tank tops, leggings, and and anything that wasn't "kid-friendly." I remember that to go to my first class in the morning i had to walk up six flight of stairs.


Posted December 4, 2013

I enjoyed my time here at Cornerstone Academy during my elementary school years. However, middle school was a different story. The textbooks they provided us with were worn out and outdated (I remember some were printed in the 1980s). The desks and chairs were deteriorating. The lockers were rusting. I remember the carpets and some rooms smelled. Many of the classrooms didn't have heaters that worked well. When I was there, there was not a variety of sports teams to join (only volleyball and basketball). I also noted how incredibly small the high school classes were (I clearly remember that there is roughly 20 students each grade). I thought I was fine, but once I left for high school, I was amazed. Cornerstone had nothing, but my new public school had everything. New pool, new outdoor basketball courts, a baseball field, a soccer field, a track field, sturdy desks, and up to date textbooks. Not to mention, the teachers at my high school were much better than my middle school ones. The school even called families if the student was absent or for announcements.


Posted April 17, 2013

NO counselors or Social Workers on-site. Disheartens me to keep my child here any longer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

My daughter attended Junior Preschool(JPS) and Senior Preschool(SPS) from 2009 to 2012. Let's say I am impressed with how much she has learned thus far. JPS - She learned how to be independent & built a strong foundation of learning both Chinese and English. SPS- By the June 2012, she is able to recite all phonetic sounds, writes in lower & upper case A-Z, counts and write to 100 both in Chinese and English, knows rhyming sounds, opposites concepts, understands directional words, months of the yr, days of the week, four seasons, body parts, shapes (draw & recognize), colors, practice good health, hygiene, & manners, draws human figures, perform weekly show and tell, catches/throws ball, observes rules/follows directions, etc. An added bonus is tuition includes two hot meals and two snacks/day. It's peace of mind to know that she is well fed each day. As a parent, what more could you ask for from a school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2012

I attended cornerstone from Kindergarten to the 8th grade. K - 4th grade was great all around. Once I hit 5th grade, my social life went up and my academics went way down. You start to form a little community with the friends and people you meet at this school. If you saw someone outside of school, you'd be able to pick up a conversation with them easily. I had a lot of fun 5th to 8th grade but I didn't learn ANYTHING about ANYTHING. Middle school here is so strict. You MUST have your parents come pick you up/sign out of the useless "sign out" sheet before you can leave. C'mon they are in middle school. They can take care of themselves. We weren't even allowed to leave after school unless we had permission from our parents. My friends and I would plot forever just to sneak out to get an after school snack. Don't get me wrong, I had a lot of fun with my friends here but once I attended a public high school, everything changed. Everyone is so independent whereas I was just a lost sheep. Cornerstone didn't prepare me for the real world at all whatsoever.


Posted January 2, 2012

Horrible, worst times of my life. The school offered zero freedom and was strict on the most petty things, a very close-minded school. It's excuse for its strictness and close-mindedness is religion. You won't survive in the real world if you come here.


Posted January 2, 2012

Worst times of my life. The school was very strict and close-minded because of its "religion." Very strict on the most petty things when it should have focused on other areas, such as teaching their kids to behave rather than sending them home for an untucked shirt. You won't survive in the real world if you send your child here.


Posted February 21, 2011

This is a great school for my child. We enrolled her to this school because the school teaches Chinese, and the teachers are caring and disciplined. We are so glad that she is there. Within three months of pre-school enrollment, my daughter could translate Chinese / English back-and-forth. She is also learning a lot academically and socially. More importantly, the teachers give her individual attention, encourage her to continued to do things she enjoys, and provide consistent feedback to us about her performance in school. We live by West Portal Elementary School District, and we had a chance to discuss its chinese immersion program with the teachers during a Open enrollment discussion night at the West Portal School. We were extremely disappointed about the communication skills of the teachers. We plan to keep our daughter at Cornerstone as long as we live in SF.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2010

We came from South East Asia and the Schools over there are known to be focusing very much on academic rather than sports and character-building. Due to my husband's work committment, we have to leave our country and settled in San Francisco. We enrolled our kids in Cornerstone Academy. We are so glad that we did that. Cornerstone Academy is a very good private Christian school. They are both good in academics and sports. Most importantly, they teach students moral, responsibilities and discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2010

I am an alumnus of Cornerstone Academy and am very proud to be able to say so. Cornerstone was did an amazing job of putting me ahead of my peers by thousands of miles. The curriculum was far more advance than the local public school system, and the teachers and faculty sincerely cared for us, their students, and all took extra steps of love to motivate us and keep us on track. Some nitpick about diversity and segregation. My class had a couple Latino students, both of whom I am still friends with, and they will both tell you that they never felt like outsiders at Cornerstone. Cornerstone provides an excellent education and instills the morals required of outstanding students and citizens during the younger, more vulnerable years of the students.


Posted April 20, 2009

We loved this school along with the teachers when our daughter was in preschool. There are still some things we like such as the security and the school itself but overall the school lacks diversity and the non asian children begin to feel like outsiders after first grade. Also, to me it seems like the loving and nuturing environment displayed in the preschool program changed immediately in first grade. I do not feel it is good for the children to be pushed so hard in the lower grades and also think that Chinese should be optional and not mandatory in the academics program. This school really needs more diversity overall and the children outside of preschool should not be treated like they are at a military academy. It is not always productive to force too much academics on children too quickly as it inhibits their growth and creativity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2008

My daughter attended the Preschool program at Lawton site. She has learnt so much not only in acadmic values but also her acknowledement of morale and being a quality individual. The teachers are well trained and sincerely care for the children. I have no worries and have peace of mind seeing her steady progress. With no Chinese language background, she managed to speak fluently, more advance in reading, writing, math than other kids at the same age. It would be my number one choice if I have more kids. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

The prior principle, brought in to reform and diversify the school, has left. With him, left the innovations, stability and new breath needed in the school. There is lack of school programs and a need for injection of new ideas. There is a question of financial dedication by the school management for their lack of financial committment to put forth moneys for qualify trainers for their teachers and assistants. Though the committment is their, the infrastructure and the knowledge base needs serious improvements.


Posted March 18, 2008

I have three children and two are currently attending Jr. Pre-school and Sr. Pre-school at the Lawton campus. I'm very satisfied with the school program and curriculum because both of my kids have learnt a lot. He is at a different level as compared to someone at the same age in daycare and public school. Besides learning how to count, read, write in Chinese and English, they are taught how to make creative art and crafts. Besides, they are able to learn their own heritage and the chinese culture through events like the moon festival and chinese new yr. I would recommend all Chinese parents to enroll their kids into their pre-school program because it serves as a strong foundation for academic learning and their mother language acquisition which will definitely help them in their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

Each year more and more students are leaving the school and going to other schools. This should tell you something about Cornerstone Academy. The teachers in middle school and high school lack teaching skills. No creativity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2007

As a parent of a former student, I can strongly say that Cornerstone Academy has a great academic program where teachers are dedicated on the success of their students. In addition, there is a great amount of parent involvement in the success of their children's education. The students learn Cantonese in elementary school, but have the chance to also learn either Spanish or Mandarin in middle and high school. At Cornerstone, there is a wide variety of sports and music available, but the school lacks in the amount of extracurricular activity. Overall, Cornerstone Academy is a good school for training your child toward a better education and strong work ethic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2007

My kids are excited about going to school everyday. I have three enrolled. They sometimes complain about the amount of homework they receive, but I think it helps them to be responsible for their study habits. They enjoy the dance and sports program they are in. I feel that they are learning and growing as individuals. I'm happy that as parent I don't have to worry about sending them to an outside after school program. They have a before and after school program that is all included in the monthly tuition. I am extremely happy that I do not have to volunteer for fund raisers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2006

Middle school not that great. Language option needs to improve. The school instead of improving is going down. Their Elementary programs are great a recomend parents to place them only for the elementary section.Specially the new principal Mr. Wilkings is making the school more enjoyable for students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

Standards are high. Environment enables kids to focus on learning. However, no real accommodations if your child has learning difficulties or needs tutoring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2006

The teacher quality is not too impressive. Their discipline method can be a little harsh sometimes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 94%
White 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1%
Hispanic 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Black 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

801 Silver Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94134
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 587-7256

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hillcrest Elementary School
San Francisco, CA



The San Francisco School
San Francisco, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT