Advertisement

Drew School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $813,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 25, 2014

I graduated from Drew in 2009. In college, people were always shocked when I described my high school experience so positively. Everyone I spoke to had nothing but complaints about their high school, but I loved Drew! One of my other favorite parts of Drew was playing dodgeball every Friday in the Friday Electives. Years later, I am now the captain of a rec dodgeball team, thanks Drew! Would have never known how much I loved dodgeball. I also thought DEALL was one of the most fantastic ways to explore new passions, the Cake Decorating DEALL I took freshman year was the first time I ever baked anything, and it later inspired the baking company I started in high school and continued for a few years after. It certainly inspired my love of baking! Overall, I would say I received a very positive and well-rounded education and high school experience. It was very unique to go to a high school where someone would be condemned for saying anything at all that was homophobic, racist or offensive in any way. Everyone was really supportive of each other and appreciated each others differences.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2014

Drew has excellent learning support. The learning center is open and available to both LD and non-LD students and there is absolutely no stigma within the student body or faculty. Tara Twedt and Karen Houck are experienced, knowledgeable and personable. It is a pleasure to work with them and they care as much about the success of the LD students as the family does. Drew is not an easy school and the teachers and curriculum is top notch. Although every accommodation is made, I think the students who succeed the most have the desire to do so and the willingness to work. It has been the perfect choice for our dyslexic student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

I am a senior at Drew. It has been such a great experience. Teachers always have extra time to talk to me, including "office hours." On the other hand, you need to be able to seek out those relationships if you want help. We also have extended time built into each test, which is a big help when needed. Academically, it can be as rigorous as you want to make it. Yes, some students choose to take the "easy way" through, but even then there is a lot of appropriate challenges in the curriculum. I have taken many honors and APs, and I have to say that it is academically stimulating, although it can be hard. On the non-academic side, there are so many opportunities to be a leader and get involved. I've probably done everything I've been able to, including DEALL summer trips like going to Senegal. It may not be for everyone, but I have met many more people that rave about it than people who dislike it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2013

My daughter attends DREW and is loving it. We could not have made a better choice in selecting this school. Although the final choice was hers, we supported her in her decision. She adjusted well to the environment and quickly made new friends. She plays volleyball and a member of the student government. What I enjoy most about DREW is that it look at each child as an individual learner. (as you may know that every person learns different) DREW goes above and beyond to make sure that every child feels successful as a learner. Students leave DREW and attend great universities and colleges. After college, they have successful careers. DREW has been around 100+ years and high school I'm not sure. As for me and my daughter we made the RIGHT CHOICE! (and that's what it's all about)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2013

Drew boasts about its kind and embracing community but I have not found that to be the case with my own child. Drew is probably a great school for a student who is not looking for a serious academic challenge but instead just wants to get through high school without anything extra-ordinary. For a more engaged student, it feels like the wrong school. While some of the teachers are fantastic, some are below the standard for a school of its kind. Many are unwilling to go the extra mile. Some are downright disappointing. The new school building is impressive, and so are the travel opportunities during DEALL and summer breaks. The head of the school is concerned and approachable. They definitely have impressive special days like Snow Day (complete with ice rink and falling snow) and International Day! Drew could improve by working harder to be sure all kids are engaged at their own academic level rather than forcing them work at a one-size-fits-all pace, and to make it feel acceptable and desirable to be an enthusiastic student. It could also do a much better job of supporting its students socially and emotionally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

i feel that Drew is has amazing academic, and is one of the best. Being a person of color in Drew School i have had to deal with a lot of unneeded drama which in the end results in me transferring. Drew social awareness skills should be a lot higher for the type of people that go there. basically academic great! social aspects needs improvement
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2010

I am a freshman at Drew Skool. It was my number 1 choice in 8th grade, and i made a great desicion! The open-campus freedom is awesome, all students are nice and are cool, the teachers are extremely helpful and caring. I hope to be successful all 4 years here. Right now im getting ready for 1st semester final exams.....
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2009

Drew is intensely SPIRITED and just overall amazing. The community is extremely friendly and everyone is really close to each other. The kids that attend Drew will surely agree if asked. The teachers are all very experienced and will devote their free time to the students by volition. It's awesome!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2008

Drew is an excellent school. The academics are top notch, taught by caring teachers, most of whom have advanced degrees and all of whom seem to be passionate people who know how to motivate the students. The environment is very accepting and welcoming. We feel very fortunate to have had our daughter at Drew; she has gotten an excellent education and is thriving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

Drew is a great place to learn academically and to learn about yourself. it has a very open environment where people aren't afraid to be themselves and gives you many chances to try something different. the teachers are great and very devoted to their students. i know this from personal experiances, where teachers have helped me out in the past. Overall great school and great community feel.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2008

Drew is a great school that has a strong academic foundation, with amazing teachers that are alway available to talk. Drew has a great envirnment for the students and have exellent extra electives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

Simply a wonderful school. Great academic programs, small classrooms which allow teachers to focus more on students. A school that consists of international students where you get to meet students from around the world, multi-cultural environment. A nice private school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 24, 2005

Academic standards are top-notch. Rigorous and challenging curriculum within a supportive environment. Teachers, staff, and administration are always accessible. Facilities are excellent. Art and music programs are great. Would like to see more sports and clubs available. Parent involvement is high. There are lots of opportunities for participation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2004

Lots of personal attention. Fabulous new facility on California at Broderick. Wonderful opportunity for our daughter to be a Big Fish in a small pond. Academic leadership leaves room for improvement, but is more than made up for by the compassion and boundless energy of individual faculty members. Solid sports and extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 81%
Asian 11%
Black 4%
Hispanic 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2901 California Street
San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone: (415) 409-3739

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Sterne School
San Francisco, CA


Gateway High School
San Francisco, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT