Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Coolidge Elementary School 4

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
Staff seems genuinely committed and involved - it's nice to see them at extracurricular events! Lot's of parent involvement! I see a lot of the same people volunteering, and I wish I could do more, but maybe it goes back to the 80-20 Rule. The PTA is ALWAYS asking for volunteers so it's not for a lack of trying. The PTA is huge at this school and provides a lot of funds for programs, supplies and events. I don't know all of the Board Members personally, it seems like a pretty diverse crowd (age & race wise), but again, it'd be nice to see some new faces and maybe a couple dads. Some of the parents seem to have a sense of entitlement; to the point of thinking they can request certain teachers. This is a public school - you get what you get and you don't get upset. It is interesting to note, that over the years I've seen at least 3 families pull their kids out to go to private school and then come back a year or two later, proclaiming that private school wasn't all that they thought it would be. At times, I think some parents are annoyed that they aren't at the school district a mile north, but can't afford the extra taxes, housing costs that moving there would entail.

Coolidge Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
Coolidge is an amazing school! The principal, teachers, staff, and PTA impress me every day with their dedication to the students. There are so many engaged parents. I would highly recommend this school. I like having my children attend a school where I can feel so comfortable talking to the principal, teachers, and staff. They care and it shows.


Coolidge Elementary School 4

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
***xxx*** Coolidge has been a great school for years. The climate of the school has been warm, inviting, friendly, and you just got a sense that this was a great place to send your kids to school. For the past few years the school seems to be changing, and I am afraid to say, it has been for the negative. Before I go on, I need to say that the community surrounding Coolidge is great. It has low crime, an educated population, good sports and extra curricular activities. Concerns: The transparency between the administration and parents is getting blurry. The school is starting to go down the path of doing what s best for the administration/staff and not what s best for the kids and the community. There is a growing concern, among current parents, about the conflict of interest, in the number of substitutes that are parents of current students, who are very active in the current PTA, even though they might be qualified to be a substitute. Positives: Coolidge has a great PTA who supports the school by funding instructors for PE, Art, and Music. The top 3 annual PTA functions for the kids are: the end of year talent show, spring festival, and the student spirit sticks. Updates to come.

Coolidge Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
I have two children who attend Coolidge, and we absolutely love it! The principal is fair, professional, and knowledgeable. The staff is enthusiastic and kind. I have found that the teachers, as well as administration, work as a team with the parents for the children. My kids are excited about school and learning new things- this is a testament to the entire staff. We have been a part of the Coolidge family for several years and are very impressed!

Coolidge Elementary School 5

Posted August 15, 2013
- a parent
I don't understand any negative reviews of this school. Both my children are students here, and we find the faculty and Principal to be very professional, caring, and good at their jobs..


Coolidge Elementary School 1

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
Be very careful about attending this school. The only good thing is the PTA; lots of parent participation and involvement. However, the administration is the problem. The principal and some of her staff are the most unprofessional people I have met. They obviously don't know how to work with children. If your child is different in any way, this is not the place for them. The administration will undermine your parenting decisions because they are not in line with what they think is "correct". If the school doesn't know how to work with your children, they will continue to send them home and suspend them rather than trying to get them back to class. They will mark your kids present for the entire day even though they have sent them home. The principal has no business being a principal at this school.

Coolidge Elementary School 1

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
This is the worse school my child has been too. Everyday when she comes home she's crying because the kids their think she's weird, she's in 5th grade and she feels just horrible. She told me the principal their doesn't like her and that other girls spread rumors about her, when she tries to talk to the girls to stop making her feel bad they just run away and scream FATY! My daughter almost cut herself on the leg but didn't because luckily I stopped her in time. I don't like this school at all for my kid.

Coolidge Elementary School 1

Posted April 10, 2013
- a parent
This is the second school year for my child in Coolidge Elementary school. I gave a one star rate in the first year (2011). In March 13, 2013, my child came back home with arm fracture. She was hiding from us and afraid of telling us. She was crying whole night and said she was scared. The next day, we checked with doctor, took x-ray and urgent care. We found out that her classmate pulled her hair, then came back with a pencil stabbed on her. This is the way that school and school district handled the problem. CYB. The boy is till in the class and nothing happens to him. My child have stayed in home for three weeks. The school and school district have failed to provide safety learning environment for children. Please stay close look of your child and be warn!


Coolidge Elementary School 4

Posted December 21, 2011
- a parent
I have a child who started Coolidge this year and I am so impressed with the kindergarten teachers!! My child's teacher has been amazing, inspirational, and truly dedicated to her students. I have a very active child who sometimes needs a little extra help and she has been amazing!! Going to kindergarten at Coolidge has restored my faith in the elementary school system. My husband and I were thinking of going private next year but with my child's wonderful experience, we will be staying at Coolidge.

Coolidge Elementary School 1

Posted December 08, 2011
- a parent
First, second week of the beginning of the school, my child didn't get lunch at the cafeteria, eventhough we paid. My child was four yrs old and didn't eat anything whole day. I cried that day. I told the teacher. Nobody apologized to us. Second, the school staff slammed the gate and yelled to us one morning, "You are late!!! Go to front gate!!" We only had a few steps to the school gate and the class was not closed and other kids still tried to get into school. Third, my child got a absent note one day. My child is at school everyday. Same thing, nobody apologized to us. If I dropped my child at school, the teacher didn't see my child. Where the school put my child? These all have happened in the first three months of beginning of first school year. What is going to happen next?

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Coolidge Elementary School
421 North Mission Drive, San Gabriel, CA  91775
(626) 282-6952
Last modified Coolidge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Coolidge Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top