Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
202 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


San Gabriel Mission Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted March 19, 2016
- a parent
The faculty and staff are committed to working on the values that make students successful, active, and engaged global leaders who are deeply rooted in their Catholic faith foundation.

San Gabriel Mission Elementary School 5

Posted March 19, 2016
- a parent
I was a parent for over 15 years and my daughters attended the private high schools and universities of their choice. As a family we made friendships with other families that have lasted way beyond our time at the school. Great teachers and a wonderful family connection.


San Gabriel Mission Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2012
- a parent
I am a graduate of Mission Elementary and believe my education there was of quality. I am now an elementary school teacher (and have been for the past 10 years) so I know that all schools have positive and negative aspects. The quality of a Catholic education and the preparation for higher education were great. The only aspect that I found inadequate was the lack of teaching of critical thinking skills.

San Gabriel Mission Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2011
- a parent
Great School! As a current parent at SGME, I am insulted by the last post. It is unfair to claim that all the children at SGME are bad influences when your problem might have been with a select few. My children are not perfect but they certainly are not bad influences.

San Gabriel Mission Elementary School 1

Posted October 07, 2011
- a community member
i did not enjoy this school at all...dont send your kids here, the kids are a very bad influence.


San Gabriel Mission Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2011
- a parent
I love San Gabriel Mission Elementary School, I enrolled both my 2 girls there this year & I am proud to say the school not only been taking good care of my daughter's education & they also taught excellent Catholic values. Especially my younger daughter, it is really hard to make her sit still & pay attention while learning but since she started this school I see the changes,she starts getting more interested to learn her alphbet & also know how to write her name.I think I am really gladful that I made the right choice enrolled both my daughters there. :)

San Gabriel Mission Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2011
- a community member
This School Is The Very Best. I Am A Recent Graduate, And I Feel That This School Has Prepared Me For High School. They Are Very Orgainzed. The Students Have A Very Strong Bond. They Welcome New Students Very Nicely. The Lunch Program Is Wonderful, The Workers Are Super Friendly. The Teachers Are Very Sweet. They Help The Students Who Need Extra Help, By Having A Tutoring Session At Least Once A Week. The Classes Are Not That Big So The Students Have More 'One On One' Time With The Teachers. The School Could Improve On Little Things Like Having P.E. At Least Once A Day, But Other Than That, Its Perfect. I Attended This School Since I Was In First Grade, And It Has Been Wonderful. The Sports Teams Are Great, & The Coaches Are Very Friendly And Helpful, They Work With Each Individual Participant To Help Them Become The Very Best. I Would Reccomend This School To Anyone That Has A Child Who Is Struggling, Or To Anyone Who Wants Their Child To Progress To Their Very Best. Keep It Up Mission!

San Gabriel Mission Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2009
- a parent
To the parent of the Feb. 2 posting: I was wondering if you have bothered to join any of the fundraising committees? School improvements cost money, so if your willing donates funds, I am sure the school would welcome it. As far as the teacher s attire, well I guess I can see where your values and priorities are. True the teachers are not Abercrombie models; however most of the teachers are caring professionals who have been there for years. I am a parent going on 13 years, most of the kids are great, I know the families and I love the fact that education in this school is challenging. PTA meetings are long but there is much information given. I have been to these meeting and on occasion there are people who try to take over by giving suggestions that are not appropriate for a Catholic school. As far as your statement, of No fine arts or computer classes I wonder if you child really attends this school, there is a art program given 3 times a week, music classes are 2 to 3 times a week. Computer classes are twice a week.


San Gabriel Mission Elementary School 3

Posted August 04, 2009
- a parent
The academics are good but P.E. could should be everyday.

San Gabriel Mission Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 21, 2009
- a parent
The is a very good school. My daughter has always been very shy and quiet. But SGME brings the best out of her personality!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Gabriel Mission Elementary School
416 South Mission Drive, San Gabriel, CA  91776
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (626) 281-2454
Last modified San Gabriel Mission Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top