Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Clairbourn School

Private | K-8 | 269 students

We are known for excellent academics, values, and our nurturing environment.
 
 

 
 

Living in San Gabriel

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $606,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,620.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 25, 2013

Excellent school, teachers and students. Kids are happy and enjoy learning. Good test scores and motivated students. Definitely a well balanced school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2012

Academically, it is not going to offer anything better than the area public schools, San Marino for instance. So, at the end of the day, you're left wondering what all your tuition dollars are paying for exactly. All faculty come from the same Christian Science pool and the student body is severely lacking in diversity (think SGV). If you want a school that is full of social and fun things for the moms to do during the day, like literally hang out on campus all day, then this is the place for you. If you want to pay this kind of tuition and expect a substantial education for your child in return, then look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2012

Probably the most beautiful lower school in all of San Gabriel valley. The staff is loving, caring, and pays attention to every child. From K to about 2nd grade, parents frequently wonder if their kids are learning because kids are not subjected to tons of homework; but I can assure everyone that kids in K-2 are learning through play (which is the best way to learn). Third grade is when academics pick up (but still manageable). In summary, if you measure academic success by the amount of homework your child receives, there are plenty of schools in the area that will bury kids in homework. If you want to join a community where parents get to know one another and kids learn through life experiences, then Clairbourn might be the place for you and your family. One other point to clarify - Christian Science is NOT Scientology. Everything they teach at school is about citizenship, how to be a great person, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

Clairbourn School has been excellent since the first time I have went there, In first grade. All the teachers are encouraging, and teach us a lot. Clairbourn is not too strict, but they teach the students not just by reading and extremely hard work, but also through more relaxing and energetic ways. I have seen people leave this school, and they ask me if I will leave, but I just say that I love Clairbourn so much! It is a great school and your children would love it.


Posted April 28, 2011

Great school with a nurturing environment. My son has been there for 8 years and totally loving it. He is excited about going to school every day and that itself is rewarding for the parents. He is doing well in school and the students there are very well-behaved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2010

I have two young Cougars of my own there, and they love it. Emphasis on ethics, academics, art, technology, parent involvement and nurturing a student's individuality. Differentiated teaching for various learning styles present in many classrooms. Beautiful campus, energetic families association, abroad programs and week-long, team-building field trips for middle school. Service learning programs in place. Public speaking skills developed at daily chapel. Phenomenal library for a small school, great computer science lab, technology, including Smart Boards, in every classroom.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 7, 2010

Childhood should be a time of fun and learning. My three kids have been at Clairbourn for several years and they truly learn a ton without having to do a marathon of homework. If you want your kids to be submerged in books for years, then Poly is probably the better chose (just look at the huge backpacks carried by the students there). If you want a relaxed environment where your kids learn through play, then this is it. If you think books is the only way to greatness in life, then I'd completely disagree (are all MBA grads from Harvard or Stanford millionaires? Answer is no. Success comes through intelligence, motivation, self interest, confidence - all of which Clairbourn develops for your kids)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2010

Clairbourn Rules!!! I learned so much and have lots of fun!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2009

My daughter has been at Clairbourn for 5 years. If you are looking for a school at cares about your child and wants to help them be the best person they can be, then this is a great choice. The kids are happy, friendly and polite. Parental involvement is encouraged. The kids are encouraged and have many opportunities to participate in music, sports and theater. They start giving presentations to the entire school in the First grade. This gives them the opportunity to be comfortable speaking in front large crowds. All in all the school provides for a well rounded child. Daily chapel is open to the parents. There the students have a lesson prepared and presented by other students on, again, being the best person they can be. For example, the golden rule and the schools code of ethics are common topics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

My son has been at clairbourn for 2 years, and his academic levels have decreased instead of the other way around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2009

I love Clairbourn even though I've only been involved for about 2 years. The teachers are great, it has a great amount of kids in each class and it is a great environment for anyone. I wouldn't be able to understand anyone who doesn't love Clairbourn School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2009

A beautiful, smart and venerable school full of kids with active library cards and firm handshakes. Clairbourn students are comfortable with themselves, and easy with adults. The academics here are strong, and the teachers are varied and excellent. Our son has been at Clairbourn for six years and has loved it all the way. We have a Head of School who's been in place for 33 years and still feels young and energetic -- the school has moved with the times yet feels stable and well grounded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2008

Our son goes to the JPK. Very loving environment, good teachers and outstanding facilities but very expensive!!! Overall, we are extremely satisfied
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2008

I love it! My children go here and it is an excellent environment for learning, sports and the arts. The teachers here are great and can be challenging. Also, this school goes a great job in high school admissions and most students get into the top high schools in the area. Its a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

My two young sons attend Clairbourn now, and we look forward to their participation in the arts offered at Clairbourn. They look forward to learning to play instruments and to acting in the Shakespeare productions once they are in the middle school. They also immensely enjoy their experiences in art classes. We chose Clairbourn specifically for its nurturing of students beyond the academic focus and the family-oriented values present on campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

I am an alum of the school and have 2 children who have graduated from Clairbourn. Our experience with the school has been exceptional, considering I have other children who went to a fine area public school. The class sizes where just right; the resourses were rich; they had a variety of experiences, being exposed to the arts, music and sports, as well as excellent academics. The teachers are caring and dedicated, working to meet each child in their current development. They see children as unique individuals, each with their own set of cherished qualities and talents. The religious background of the school is respectful of all religions, and I always felt that the Chapel subjects where designed to support both faith in the family as well as universal character values. The school has a strong family feel - a wonderful sense of community. We are happy with the experience.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 2, 2007

I am an alum of the school and had a wonderful experience. I love the spiritual emphasis in the 5-7 min Chapel each morning where positive character traits are emphasized. The academics are very strong and all of the students in my class and in the classes of my siblings got into top prep schools in the area. The preparation was excellent.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 2, 2007

I went to Clairbourn for eight years and highly recommend this school. What I loved best about it was the wide-range of personal development activities. The school gave me a strong music and art foundation in addition to the high quality of competitive academics. I've always felt that my education at Clairbourn has enabled me to stand out academically, exhibit great personal strength, and be a positive contributor to whatever situation I find myself in life.


Posted August 27, 2007

My son went to Clairbourn for a year. I had hoped that, because Clairbourn was originally founded with a heavy emphasis on music, there would be a heavy emphasis on music today. Not so. The arts in general are severly lacking, even though there are dedicated art and music studios on campus. We were also told that the younger children would be merely exposed to religion and not have it pounded into them with regularity. Again, not so. When my son came home one day and said that 'everyone wants to come to America because God prefers America', we were horrified. The final straw for us was when we saw Clairbourn's beutiful advertisement - in the menu at the Cheesecake Factory. Our donations at work. Ugh.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2005

Excellent academic programs, though not all teachers are outstanding. In sixth grade, my daughter learned great study and note-taking habits that she still uses. Lack of music program is a problem, but sports are readily available and the small pool is a big plus for P.E. in hot weather. Very good top administration, and lots of parent involvement. Expensive, but worth it if you can manage it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 27% 11%
Two or more races 13% 3%
Hispanic 11% 52%
Black 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Latin
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Mandarin (optional afterschool program)
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Robert Nafie
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • info@clairbourn.org
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian - Open to all faiths with Christian Science staff
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (626) 286-1528

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Project-based
  • Reggio Emilia
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Engineering
  • Music
  • Service learning
  • Writing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Mandarin (optional afterschool program)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Service Learning Partnerships with Many Local Charities
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join Clairbourn Families Association
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Check out our Virtual Online Campus Tour at: http://www.clairbourn.org/OnlineTour_play.php Download our "Clairbourn School" mobile iPhone App to stay connected with the school: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/clairbourn-school/id684990005?mt=8&ls=1
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 31, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$11000 - $19000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
FAST - ismfast.com

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Top Area Private High Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8400 Huntington Drive
San Gabriel, CA 91775
Website: Click here
Phone: (626) 286-3108

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Wilson Elementary School
San Gabriel, CA



Ark Christian Academy
San Gabriel, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT