Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Clairbourn School 5

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school, teachers and students. Kids are happy and enjoy learning. Good test scores and motivated students. Definitely a well balanced school.

Clairbourn School 1

Posted November 29, 2012
- a parent
Academically, it is not going to offer anything better than the area public schools, San Marino for instance. So, at the end of the day, you're left wondering what all your tuition dollars are paying for exactly. All faculty come from the same Christian Science pool and the student body is severely lacking in diversity (think SGV). If you want a school that is full of social and fun things for the moms to do during the day, like literally hang out on campus all day, then this is the place for you. If you want to pay this kind of tuition and expect a substantial education for your child in return, then look elsewhere.


Clairbourn School 5

Posted May 27, 2012
- a parent
Probably the most beautiful lower school in all of San Gabriel valley. The staff is loving, caring, and pays attention to every child. From K to about 2nd grade, parents frequently wonder if their kids are learning because kids are not subjected to tons of homework; but I can assure everyone that kids in K-2 are learning through play (which is the best way to learn). Third grade is when academics pick up (but still manageable). In summary, if you measure academic success by the amount of homework your child receives, there are plenty of schools in the area that will bury kids in homework. If you want to join a community where parents get to know one another and kids learn through life experiences, then Clairbourn might be the place for you and your family. One other point to clarify - Christian Science is NOT Scientology. Everything they teach at school is about citizenship, how to be a great person, etc.

Clairbourn School 5

Posted April 10, 2012
- a community member
Clairbourn School has been excellent since the first time I have went there, In first grade. All the teachers are encouraging, and teach us a lot. Clairbourn is not too strict, but they teach the students not just by reading and extremely hard work, but also through more relaxing and energetic ways. I have seen people leave this school, and they ask me if I will leave, but I just say that I love Clairbourn so much! It is a great school and your children would love it.

Clairbourn School 5

Posted April 28, 2011
- a parent
Great school with a nurturing environment. My son has been there for 8 years and totally loving it. He is excited about going to school every day and that itself is rewarding for the parents. He is doing well in school and the students there are very well-behaved.


Clairbourn School 5

Posted September 12, 2010
- a teacher
I have two young Cougars of my own there, and they love it. Emphasis on ethics, academics, art, technology, parent involvement and nurturing a student's individuality. Differentiated teaching for various learning styles present in many classrooms. Beautiful campus, energetic families association, abroad programs and week-long, team-building field trips for middle school. Service learning programs in place. Public speaking skills developed at daily chapel. Phenomenal library for a small school, great computer science lab, technology, including Smart Boards, in every classroom.

Clairbourn School 5

Posted March 12, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Clairbourn School 5

Posted March 07, 2010
- a parent
Childhood should be a time of fun and learning. My three kids have been at Clairbourn for several years and they truly learn a ton without having to do a marathon of homework. If you want your kids to be submerged in books for years, then Poly is probably the better chose (just look at the huge backpacks carried by the students there). If you want a relaxed environment where your kids learn through play, then this is it. If you think books is the only way to greatness in life, then I'd completely disagree (are all MBA grads from Harvard or Stanford millionaires? Answer is no. Success comes through intelligence, motivation, self interest, confidence - all of which Clairbourn develops for your kids)


Clairbourn School 5

Posted February 11, 2010
- a student
Clairbourn Rules!!! I learned so much and have lots of fun!

Clairbourn School 5

Posted December 30, 2009
- a parent
My daughter has been at Clairbourn for 5 years. If you are looking for a school at cares about your child and wants to help them be the best person they can be, then this is a great choice. The kids are happy, friendly and polite. Parental involvement is encouraged. The kids are encouraged and have many opportunities to participate in music, sports and theater. They start giving presentations to the entire school in the First grade. This gives them the opportunity to be comfortable speaking in front large crowds. All in all the school provides for a well rounded child. Daily chapel is open to the parents. There the students have a lesson prepared and presented by other students on, again, being the best person they can be. For example, the golden rule and the schools code of ethics are common topics.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Clairbourn School
8400 Huntington Drive, San Gabriel, CA  91775
(626) 286-3108
Last modified Clairbourn School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Clairbourn School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top