Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
269 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Clairbourn School 3

Posted January 26, 2016
- a community member
Unfortunately with the changing of the school principal Clairbourn's attitude towards looking at each student as an individual has changed as well. The classrooms have become mini-prisons and the children are not allowed to express themselves without being punished or criticized for their individuality. It has made our children afraid to speak up and voice their opinions or ideas. This treatment has also caused the students to lose respect for the teachers and administrators. The campus is beautiful and the parents are involved at the school but the amount of homework stresses out the kids and gives them no time for any after school activities.

Clairbourn School 5

Posted February 14, 2015
- a parent
Clairbourn is an excellent school in the Pasadena area. My children have attended the school since pre K. This is our eighth year at Clairbourn. The school is academically strong with a reasonable amount of daily homework. It offers music, art, foreign language (Spanish, French, Latin), computer classes and PE every school day. Everybody who works here is extremely friendly. The campus is beautiful and well maintained. It has a large field for PE and after school sports and a pool. The school also has a nice library which they are in the process of expanding. The students are trained in public speaking from early age and by the time they are in middle school even the shyest students are comfortable speaking in front of the whole school. As a parent you are welcome to get involved in different ways, but there is no mandatory parent volunteering. Overall I feel that Clairbourn is a truly outstanding school which prepares its students for future success.


Clairbourn School 2

Posted January 15, 2015
- a community member
I'm a former student. I agree with the previous reviewer. Academically I've found some of the Pasadena area private schools to be superior to Clairbourn. I assume the expensive tuition is for the beauty of the campus. They won't question you if your child is absent a lot. As long as you pay your tuition, and your child has passing grades, they give you a lot of leeway. I also agree about the lack of diversity at the school. I was there for many years, but had only white teachers (this includes the principals and vice principals). The same 2 or 3 family names are always being touted, and having awards named after them, by the school. It seems like all of the descendants of these 3 families are employed by the school. Everyone who works here must be Christian Science. Their new image is to downplay the Christian Science aspect of the school. But as a student I heard about the religion , and witnessed aspects of it, every day. It is not a mainstream religion, despite the name. I witnessed, and heard, some strange things while a student at Clairbourn. Before considering the school, parents would do well to do some online research of Christian Science.

Clairbourn School 5

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school, teachers and students. Kids are happy and enjoy learning. Good test scores and motivated students. Definitely a well balanced school.

Clairbourn School 1

Posted November 29, 2012
- a parent
Academically, it is not going to offer anything better than the area public schools, San Marino for instance. So, at the end of the day, you're left wondering what all your tuition dollars are paying for exactly. All faculty come from the same Christian Science pool and the student body is severely lacking in diversity (think SGV). If you want a school that is full of social and fun things for the moms to do during the day, like literally hang out on campus all day, then this is the place for you. If you want to pay this kind of tuition and expect a substantial education for your child in return, then look elsewhere.


Clairbourn School 5

Posted May 27, 2012
- a parent
Probably the most beautiful lower school in all of San Gabriel valley. The staff is loving, caring, and pays attention to every child. From K to about 2nd grade, parents frequently wonder if their kids are learning because kids are not subjected to tons of homework; but I can assure everyone that kids in K-2 are learning through play (which is the best way to learn). Third grade is when academics pick up (but still manageable). In summary, if you measure academic success by the amount of homework your child receives, there are plenty of schools in the area that will bury kids in homework. If you want to join a community where parents get to know one another and kids learn through life experiences, then Clairbourn might be the place for you and your family. One other point to clarify - Christian Science is NOT Scientology. Everything they teach at school is about citizenship, how to be a great person, etc.

Clairbourn School 5

Posted April 10, 2012
- a community member
Clairbourn School has been excellent since the first time I have went there, In first grade. All the teachers are encouraging, and teach us a lot. Clairbourn is not too strict, but they teach the students not just by reading and extremely hard work, but also through more relaxing and energetic ways. I have seen people leave this school, and they ask me if I will leave, but I just say that I love Clairbourn so much! It is a great school and your children would love it.

Clairbourn School 5

Posted April 28, 2011
- a parent
Great school with a nurturing environment. My son has been there for 8 years and totally loving it. He is excited about going to school every day and that itself is rewarding for the parents. He is doing well in school and the students there are very well-behaved.


Clairbourn School 5

Posted September 12, 2010
- a teacher
I have two young Cougars of my own there, and they love it. Emphasis on ethics, academics, art, technology, parent involvement and nurturing a student's individuality. Differentiated teaching for various learning styles present in many classrooms. Beautiful campus, energetic families association, abroad programs and week-long, team-building field trips for middle school. Service learning programs in place. Public speaking skills developed at daily chapel. Phenomenal library for a small school, great computer science lab, technology, including Smart Boards, in every classroom.

Clairbourn School 5

Posted March 07, 2010
- a parent
Childhood should be a time of fun and learning. My three kids have been at Clairbourn for several years and they truly learn a ton without having to do a marathon of homework. If you want your kids to be submerged in books for years, then Poly is probably the better chose (just look at the huge backpacks carried by the students there). If you want a relaxed environment where your kids learn through play, then this is it. If you think books is the only way to greatness in life, then I'd completely disagree (are all MBA grads from Harvard or Stanford millionaires? Answer is no. Success comes through intelligence, motivation, self interest, confidence - all of which Clairbourn develops for your kids)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Clairbourn School
8400 Huntington Drive, San Gabriel, CA  91775
(626) 286-3108
Last modified Clairbourn School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Clairbourn School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top