Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Family School

Private | K-8 | 389 students

We are best known for academics & community service.

 
 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $409,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2009

My daughter goes to Holy Family and we all love the school. The teachers are very well-trained and are very good teachers. The teachers are well liked by the students also. The principal is very hands on and is ever present to the students and encourages them to have respect for teachers, themselves and parents. 98% of graduating 8th graders are going to the High School of their choice. The school has an almost brand new science lab, computer lab and library. There is a hot lunch program, sports and other after school clubs, and before and after school care at a reasonable rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

This is our family's 4th year at the school and we couldn't be happier. This year HFS became the largest feeder school into Presentation High School and had the largest number of acceptances to date in to Bellarmine. The valedictorian at Archbishop Mitty this year is a past HFS graduate. The principal from Valley Christian has repeatedly complimented our graduates on their academic achievements, well-roundedness and attitude. Truly a terrific school as evidenced by the success of our graduates following their years at HFS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

This is the first year that I have my 2 children enrolled in Holy Family School. I am very happy and impressed with the caring Principle and the very responsive staffs. Both of my kids (one in first grade and other in 4th grade) are happy with their teachers. They are treated with great care and love which they don't quite have it at their previous school. Lots of encouragements are given to the students so it make a great learning motivation for young kids. I am very satisfied and happy with Holy Family School; and would not hesitate to recommend HFS to all parents. Needless to say, the school 's facilities are fabulous! Yes, HFS got all my votes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

I am so pleased our son attends Holy Family school. He receives a faith based education and is encouraged to reach his highest potential on a daily basis. Fabulous teachers, passionate principal, wonderful office staff and a community of parent volunteers that are second to none. Holy Family gets at A+!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2008

Great community, dedicated teachers and staff, major involvement by parents, strong academics, emphasis on Christian values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

We have been a part of the Holy Family community for 3 years. As a family ,we did extensive research on the best private school both academically as well as the community of the school. From the beginning we were extremely impressed with both aspects. The administrative staff as well as the teachers are strong as well as caring , we could not ask for anything better. The Parent Teacher Group is extremely active and truly has great communication with the administration therefore issues and concerns are addressed immediately. Overall,this is an excellent school with caring and loving teachers, the school has open houses all year long or just schedule a private tour to find out how wonderful this school truly is. Good luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

Academics are ok, lower than what we expected for a private school. Math and Science for 6-8th grade level extremely poor. They offer a wide variety of extracurricular activities. The daycare staff is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2006

Holy Family School is the best school for me. The staff is friendly, the students are welcoming, and the academics are outstanding. The community is sympathetic and understanding. It fit my lifestyle perfectly, my parents were able to be helping even in the back of their own child's classroom! The extracurricular activities were amazing. I am able to join in things such as choir, ministry of movement, altar serving, chess club, homework club, spanish, safety patrol, girl scouts, boy scouts, student council, National Junior Honor Society, art vista, basketball, volleyball, softball, football, track and field, and several community service opportunitiesw. For me, the best thing was the Catholic community, growing up morals and values help me become a more responsible young adult. It helped my faith grow along with my love for Jesus. In this community I have grown up to be the best I ever could be! Go class '07!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2006

Holy family is one incredible school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2006

We chose Holy Family because it creates a small community-like atmosphere in an otherwise big city. The prinicipal is pationate and involved, much like all the faculty. Along with a Christian atmosphere, there is discipline along with accoplishments beyond academics. We are greatful to have found this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

Overall Holy Family is a very good school. Their academic and religious programs are good. They are lacking in extracurricular activities. One of the best qualities is the sense of community and family you get. It is a wonderful supportive safe environment for the kids to learn in. Parent involvment is high. Great School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

The school academic programs overall is just OK. Teacher is very slow or no respond back to parents questions or concerns. The quarterly progress report didn't provide the individual subject grade. Parents need to wait until the report card send home to know their kids grade and how they do at school. School doesn't have a qualify Spanish teacher to teach Spanish class for 7th & 8th students. A lot of parents complained and gave input, but no action or change for the last 2 years. If you're looking for Private Catholic school in San Jose area, I don't really recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

WOnderful school!! My son went the Almanden Prep for five years. I was told he was lazy but turns out one month into Holy Family they found out he had a learning disbaility. I am thankfull every day that I moved him to Holy Family. If it wern't for them my son would still be struggling..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2005

Holy Family belives in it's community. Every family must volunteer a miniumum of 40 hours and many go above and beyond. It is believed that a involved parent is beneficial to the growth of the child. I for one am a true believer. The office staff from secretary to principal know every child and makes each one feel special. This is truly a caring community. The academics in the early grades seem to be similar to those at the public school level and move up from there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 26%
Hispanic 18% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 11%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Black 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Gail Harrell
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Jose
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • SCHOOLWIDE LEARNING EXPECTATIONS RESULTS (SLEs) When our students graduate from Holy Family they will have grown stronger in their spiritual, academic, and personal lives. As persons of faith our students will: •Discover the love of God through loving one another. •Foster Christian values – compassion, tolerance, justice, and a respect for the dignity of life. •Participate actively in their faith development through sacraments, liturgical celebrations, and a variety of prayer styles. •Demonstrate a personal faith relationship with God by living the Gospel values and teachings of Jesus Christ through justice based service and prayer. •Have a basic knowledge of the teachings of the Church and the ability to make good moral and ethical decisions based on their Catholic faith. As lifelong learners our students will: •Explore and develop their own unique gifts, talents and interests. •Recognize the importance of a healthy lifestyle, and the negative effect of drug and alcohol use. •Read for enjoyment and knowledge. •Have the ability to work cooperatively with others. •Articulate ideas clearly and creatively, and communicate effectively through reading, writing, and speaking skills. •Use technology to obtain, evaluate, and communicate information. •Be prepared for the next level of education through critical thinking and problem solving skills. As responsible citizens our students will: •Accept responsibility and consequences for their actions. •Exhibit the social skills and moral values needed for responsible citizenship. •Appreciate and respect the cultural diversity of our global community. •Exhibit good sportsmanship. •Grow in awareness and responsibility towards others and their community •Develop strong character traits to strengthen self-esteem and build skills to meet life’s challenges.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bellarmine High School
Presentation High School
Archbishop Mitty High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4850 Pearl Avenue
San Jose, CA 95136
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 978-1355

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT