Advertisement
Advertisement

Holy Family School

Private | PK-8 | 456 students

We are best known for academics & community service.

 
 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $409,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 12, 2014

It appears that in November an effort was made to recruit a few happy families or faculty members who are also parents to post 5 star reviews. I would strongly urge prospective families to pay close attention to the earlier negative reviews. The primary grades are better than the upper grades and many people end up staying just because they don't want to switch schools after making friends and getting settled at a school but this school fosters a toxic environment. Kids and teachers bully children and there is no action taken. The administration is great at selling their story but there is no substance behind it; look into the specifics of their programs (such as Spanish, computers, art and music) and see that there is little depth. And, if you ever encounter a problem, they will do nothing to help you solve it. Don't get fooled by the PR .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2013

We have had our children at Holy Family for the past decade and it is an excellent school. The community is welcoming, the administration is superb, and the teachers are caring. Is it perfect, no - but there is no school that is 100%. There have been isolated incidents of bullying, but these were dealt with fairly and swiftly and the school has a comprehensive anti-bullying program. Several parents have written poor reviews, but we would urge prospective families to see beyond the grudges of the few. Come to an open house at Holy Family and ask the students themselves if you want an unedited truthful answer about our school. Bottom line: we have found at Holy Family what hundreds of other families have found: great education, great values, and best of all, a wonderful community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2013

I'm very happy w Holy Family. We had a bullying issue w my child and it was dealt with swiftly. They really encourage the children to communicate amongst each other. The academics are high and I am very happy with how my child is doing. I also love the sense of community here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2013

Our family has been a member of the Holy Family School community for the last 5 years and have had a wonderful experience. Too many excellent factors to list: academic excellence and strong curriculum, helpful and supportive community, safe environment, small class sizes, individual attention to the students, communicative teachers & staff. We look forward to our kids growing up in the Holy Family School community and become very well prepared for their high school years. If you are looking for a place that is safe, nurturing, with strong academics and an amazing community, look no further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2013

Holy Family is a wonderful school and community. I have been a part of this community for the last three years. I have loved the opportunities given to my two children. They have Spanish, music, art, and PE weekly. The technology available to the students is on going. There are projectors and doc cams in all the classrooms. My children are challenged both academically and faithfully. I am excited about the sense of community I feel every time I set foot on campus. I love the ministries, sports, extra curricular activities that are offered to the students. This community has strong parental involvement that focus on best interests for all students. I am a proud Holy Family parent, and I am so grateful for the opportunity my children have to grow in the Catholic faith at such an amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2013

Holy Family School has been an excellent educational experience for my two children. We have been at Holy Family School since 2004, and my oldest is now a successful student at Bellarmine. Over the years, the teachers have been friendly, supportive, and they provide a challenging curriculum. We have enjoyed the friendly environment of other families and the opportunity to get involved in a variety of school and parish activities. Both of my children have been involved in sports as well as student council and community service projects. Over the past two years, Holy Family has provided a stronger foreign language program. If you are looking for a school with a safe environment that puts the children at the forefront of education, then Holy Family will be a good fit for you and your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

We've been at Holy Family for five years and have two children attending. We absolutely love it. The community is very warm and welcoming--very down to earth. The teachers we've had, while having different teaching styles, have all been excellent--approachable and committed to helping each child succeed. The academics are rigorous but not over-the-top. There are resources and programs to help students who need extra help or extra challenge. My children have benefitted from field trips and extracurricular programs and activities, which are offered at every grade level. They have also had access to many different forms of technology: tablets, laptops, etc. I've never felt like we were lacking. The administration, like any administration, has a tough job dealing with the challenges of balancing budgets in a rough economy, making tough decisions on where to focus resources, dealing with so many different families, etc, but I feel they do it fairly and appropriately. They have also been very approachable. No school is perfect, but we couldn't be happier with Holy Family. In talking to the local Catholic high schools, Holy Family alums are highly regarded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2012

Pros: - Class Sizes: Primary grades have about 20 kids per class with a teacher and an aide. -Teachers: The teachers hired in the last 5 or so years are quite good. The administration seems to be trying to improve on the quality of their teachers by hiring better teachers in recent years and firing some bad. -Facilities: The school buildings, materials, and facilities are nicely kept -Improving: The administration is forward thinking and is always coming up with ways to try and improve the school. -Families and parental involvement: Most of the families are very nice, and are involved in the school. -Safe environment: The school is practically hidden and is far off the street. The principal is a real stickler on safety and following all mandated guidelines. Cons: -Technology: While there is a nice computer lab with weekly classes, most of the primary grades do not have projectors, etc. to use -Administration: Big ideas, but doesn't always implement it well. Tends to play favorites among some of the families and some longtime teachers and lets them get away with things. -Teachers: A few long time teachers really need to go, and hold the school back from real growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

The positive: there are some wonderful families at this school. The negative: There is a severe bullying issue at this school and the adminstration does not deal with it, even though there is a process documented in their handbook. If anything, they try to cover things up.The instruction provided at the school is at one level only. Any child that falls outside of that level is treated poorly and receives bad grades. We attended the school for 3 years and only had one "decent" teacher. The teachers are not very communicative unless they are complaining about your child and they don't offer solutions. At least the teachers we had didn't. The adminstration is unapproachable. They say one thing and do another. One of the teachers we had was very emotionally abusive and many children suffered under her instruction. There is not much with regards to extra curriculum. The music program is weak. There are few to no field trips. Overall, I don't think this is a healthy environment for most children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2012

Our child attended this school for 3 years. The administration is unfriendly. Several of the teachers are bullies. There is a bullying problem at the school and, although a policy exists, it is not followed -- no matter how severe the issue. The bullying seems to come from the top down. If children fall outside of the one level the school chooses to instruct at, they are singled out and ridiculed regularly. The self-esteem of several students at this school has been destroyed. The administration and staff seem unethical. Example: One teacher was hired to tutor our child after school. The teacher left the child unattended for the majority of the tutoring session to talk to other teachers, parents, etc... This has happened to more than one child. Parents are very involved at the school, but some of the helicopter parents that have become entrenched are also very toxic. This is unfortunate and lends to the oppressed culture of the school. Do your research, there are several other private schools in the area that offer stronger academics, extra curricular programs and an over all more positive atmosphere where your children will get a well-rounded education and excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2010

We have two children at Holy Family and have been there for eight years. We are very happy with the school in general. Safe, family environment, great teachers/staff and after school activities/daycare. Lots of opportunity for parental involvement, during and after school.Would highly recommend this school. Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2009

All three of my children attrnded Holy Family. We loved the warm family atmosphere and caring staff. We have made life long friends through our involvement with the school and consider Hioly Family a second home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2009

All of our children attended Holy Family school. While it was a sacrifice to pay tuition, we feel it was more than worth it. The faculty, staff, parents, and students present a warm, nurturing,and caring atmosphere where students can excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

Wonderful community. The visibility of the administration is unlike anything I have ever seen. My family is so grateful to be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

This school is amazing. Not only are my children getting a great education but the community is supportive and wondrful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

I love Holy Family School, this is our 5th year at the school and my kids are happy to get up in the morning and go to school. We've made some great friends at the school. The teachers are great and understanding and work well to make the kids feel good about themselves. Holy Family school has some great after school programs: Spanish, Chess, Schmahl Science, Lego Robotics, Newspapers, Homework club and more. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2009

Our family has been at Holy Family for 8 years with 2 students at the school now. We have 1 waiting to start Kinder. We have made life long friends and love our community. Our teachers and staff are the best Northern Cal. has to offer. They are family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

We have been at this school for 8 years and have met life-long friends. Our children love it here! The best thing about this school is that it produces well-rounded individuals - children are challenged academically and spiritually. Children see the importance of giving back to their community. It is a wonderful place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

My daughter goes to Holy Family and we all love the school. The teachers are very well-trained and are very good teachers. The teachers are well liked by the students also. The principal is very hands on and is ever present to the students and encourages them to have respect for teachers, themselves and parents. 98% of graduating 8th graders are going to the High School of their choice. The school has an almost brand new science lab, computer lab and library. There is a hot lunch program, sports and other after school clubs, and before and after school care at a reasonable rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

This is our family's 4th year at the school and we couldn't be happier. This year HFS became the largest feeder school into Presentation High School and had the largest number of acceptances to date in to Bellarmine. The valedictorian at Archbishop Mitty this year is a past HFS graduate. The principal from Valley Christian has repeatedly complimented our graduates on their academic achievements, well-roundedness and attitude. Truly a terrific school as evidenced by the success of our graduates following their years at HFS.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 48%
Asian 27%
Hispanic 25%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Gail Harrell
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Jose
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • SCHOOLWIDE LEARNING EXPECTATIONS RESULTS (SLEs) When our students graduate from Holy Family they will have grown stronger in their spiritual, academic, and personal lives. As persons of faith our students will: •Discover the love of God through loving one another. •Foster Christian values – compassion, tolerance, justice, and a respect for the dignity of life. •Participate actively in their faith development through sacraments, liturgical celebrations, and a variety of prayer styles. •Demonstrate a personal faith relationship with God by living the Gospel values and teachings of Jesus Christ through justice based service and prayer. •Have a basic knowledge of the teachings of the Church and the ability to make good moral and ethical decisions based on their Catholic faith. As lifelong learners our students will: •Explore and develop their own unique gifts, talents and interests. •Recognize the importance of a healthy lifestyle, and the negative effect of drug and alcohol use. •Read for enjoyment and knowledge. •Have the ability to work cooperatively with others. •Articulate ideas clearly and creatively, and communicate effectively through reading, writing, and speaking skills. •Use technology to obtain, evaluate, and communicate information. •Be prepared for the next level of education through critical thinking and problem solving skills. As responsible citizens our students will: •Accept responsibility and consequences for their actions. •Exhibit the social skills and moral values needed for responsible citizenship. •Appreciate and respect the cultural diversity of our global community. •Exhibit good sportsmanship. •Grow in awareness and responsibility towards others and their community •Develop strong character traits to strengthen self-esteem and build skills to meet life’s challenges.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bellarmine High School
Presentation High School
Archbishop Mitty High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4850 Pearl Ave
San Jose, CA 95136
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 978-1355

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT