Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hammer Montessori At Galarza Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 318 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2014

We have been pretty happy with this school up until this year. There is no longer a PTA which means there is really limited ways for parents to get involved and meet other parents or be involved. There is a foundation but it is not a very welcoming group and does not do the typical PTA events that would draw the students and parents to the school for events. Miss having the events that the other school onsite gets to have. Also my child is now in 4th grade and I am worried about the choices for 5th grade. There is one really great teacher that we all want but she can only have 30 students and currently teaches 4th/5th which means even fewer 5th graders. The other 5th grade teacher is of questionable reputation and character and one I do not want teaching my child. Seems like I am not the only one in this situation. It's a shame that the school does great until the important 5th grade. For younger grades though it is great and I would recommend it. Would also recommend getting a PTA back on campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2014

I have 3 children that attend Hammer Montessori, my oldest since 2009. We have had both kinder teachers for my children, and the teachers clearly have different styles. I found for my 3 children, both styles are effective and offer a unique personality fit for my non-cookie cutter kids. I think parents don't always understand the Montessori classroom and how the kinder classroom is structured. Thus the reason for the tours and the opportunity to meet the kinder teachers. If you are considering schools for your kinder or 1st grader, please come check out our school. You won't find an education like this in any other public school in SJUSD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

My daughter is just entering the fourth grade at Hammer and we have had nothing but a great experience here. The teachers are extremely easy to talk with and accessible. With any school, there will be a range of types of teachers and personalities. I have found that the principal and teachers work together to place the kids with the most appropriate teachers that best suit the child's personality while keeping the the classroom dynamics in mind. Our community of teachers and parents are amazing. I'd really like to see the school find a site that can allow it to expand it to eight grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2013

We were not happy with the kindergarten teacher. We found her to be inflexible and difficult to deal with. We like the community of parents and the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2013

My daughter just finished Kinder at Hammer and we have been very impressed with the education she is receiving. She loves going to school and to the after school program. She has excelled academically, has mastered reading and is writing sentences. She loves all the jobs and being able to work at her own pace. Teachers are all Monterssori trained and do a great job assessing what each child needs and their progress. Parents are very involved and school community is great. Families are all very down to earth. Can't wait for my son to start kinder next fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

My child has attended this school since kindergarten and is now in 4th grade. Up until this year we have loved the school and the teachers up until this year were fantastic. The teacher we have for fourth grade is not Montessori trained and is very lazy and basically just gives assignments and then spends his days on his iPad on Facebook. He is also "sarcastic" which borders on disrespect and mean. Many parents have complained about him to the principal but he has now here three years and only getting worse. My son and his friends are very excited to have this year almost over so they can be (hopefully) in the other 4/5 grade class next year. My concern is that so many people have requested NOT to be in his class that there won't be space in the other class and my son will have to suffer for another year. We are seriously considering another school. Frustrating that my son wants to stay with his friends but does not want to be with his current 4/5 teacher next year. I am not willing to take the chance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

Hammer Montessori School is the best-kept secret in the South Bay public school system. I've worked in public education for 25 years and, as a parent, was looking for a public school that provided an engaging, thoughtful approach to learning, caring and creative teachers, strong leadership, and a great family community. We have found that in Hammer Montessori. We actually started out at our neighborhood school (also a highly rated school), but within weeks saw our son's love of learning plummet due to the worksheet culture of the school. He went from a very active hands-on preschool to a Kinder classroom in which he was seated at his desk with worksheets for most of each day. After 12 weeks, we decided we needed to do something, and switched to Hammer Montessori. It turned out to be a great decision he looks forward to school every day, and our younger son will join the Hammer Montessori family in a few years. If you seek a school that cares about your child as an individual, provides stimulating self-directed learning that meets California state standards, and involves your family in meaningful ways, please visit Hammer Montessori. Every family deserves to love their school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2013

This school has great teachers. It is our second year here and I am very happy with the education my daughter is receiving. There are a few downfalls: Late start time (9:05) doesn't really work well for working parents-I wish this would change. 30 kids per class-this is just too many in these tiny rooms, but what else do you expect from the public school system. Shared campus with Galarza/shared PTA funds. The upside outweighs the cons for the most part. However, there are more pros: Freedom in learning-with the Montessori methods Lot's of extra activities thanks to the HMF Teachers that I feel truly care about my child and the school Many involved dedicated parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2013

This is our second year at Hammer, my son is in 2nd grade and daughter just started in kinder. We are really happy to have found Hammer and the Montessori method of teaching. Both of my kids are really happy and having fun at school. We look forward to many great years here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2013

Perhaps nothing is more daunting than being faced with the choice of where to send your children to school. OK... that may sound a bit strong but it was not an easy decision for our family. When the time came to make our family's choice, we knew that we wanted to send our kids to a school that would inspire them to become life long learners. We wanted to find a group of teachers, faculty and staff that would encourage our kids to experiment, research, read, question, explore and, yes, even fail. In short we were looking for a school that would help us teach our kids to be leaders. The answer for our family is / was Hammer Montessori Elementary Magnet. We currently have a Kindergartener and a First Grader attending Hammer Montessori Elementary. We feel so lucky to have our children attend Hammer Montessori. Both kindergarten teachers are amazing... With our two kids, we have had the opportunity to experience both. They are carrying, warm and our boys love them. My son's first grade teacher is also a rock star. She has inspired my son to love reading and is encouraging him to do extra work on his own to explore science. We highly recommend Hammer Montessori!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

My young daughter has been going to these school about 3 years. Is a great school; My son is been attending to school too, and my preschool too. They have great teachers; great friends & a good principal. I like how people & teacher treat me. and special teacher they help me with any problems i have with my kids @ home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2011

My daughter has been at Hammer for two years and we have been very happy. We had Mrs. H for kindergarten. As mention by another parent, we did find her to be strict, but at the same time we found her to be very caring about the students and their progress. My daughter progress greatly and I believe Mrs. H strong control of the classroom kept the students focus academically. I felt that my daughter needed someone that cared about her, but was also willing to provide her with discipline. Warm and fuzzy was not a priority for us. Her first grade teacher was also wonderful and kept us updated as a classroom online. There are many parents who are very involved and I found this to be a positive indication of the school. I think that we are very lucky to have a public Montessori program. I feel that when parents are choosing this school that they need to keep in mind that this is still a public school and the resources are limited. I feel that many parents expect a private Montessori experience with a public school budget. The HMF program has been wonderful in raising money by donation to provide our children with art, music, and other outside enrichment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

My daughter started here in the 2nd grade. We were really excited to get in but was not impressed with her 2 grade teacher at all. I heard great things about other teachers from other parents so we are trying it another year. So far this year is already been a big improvement. The teacher seems way more on it. My kid likes her and the work. I think they need to work with some of these teachers that may need some more help. I felt out of the loop and lost all last year and actually had many issues with the teacher. BUT So far this year I am impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2011

The idea of this magnet program is great, but in practice it hasn't lived up to our expectations. Not child centered or directed at all, which Montessori should really be. All of the kindergarten teachers were overwhelmed this year (with class size increase to 30 and switch to full-day) and unfortunately for our son, our teacher s response to the stress was an increased rigidity and an overall coldness. Strict is fine, but I expect some nurturing and warmth along with the high expectations. The new assistant principal lacks the support she needs to be effective and although I found her to be understanding, she didn't seem able to resolve the numerous and repeated concerns from parents in our class. Two positive things the parent community is awesome and the building is newer and well maintained. Overall though, we are disappointed and looking for other options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2011

My grandson just finished kindergarden. I am a local grandmother and I babysit for him at least 2-3 times per week. I was worried about the choice his mother made of program at Hammer Montessori. After the experience we had with him this year, I was proved wrong! Mrs H. is a wonderful teacher. My grandson learned to read the site words , he sound out words and write a couple of sentences at the time. He learned to count by 5 and by 10, addition and subtraction, the continents and the countries, he could talk about current events. The most important development though, is the fact that he asks when he does not understand a word. When I traveled, he would ask which continent is the visited country in, and the language they speak and so on... He learned to assume responsibility for his own homework and ask for help if he needed. He would also be upset if he was sick and had to miss school and he verbalized that he loved school! Mrs H gave him the gift of curiosity and excitement for the learning process. What a great gift to have a school and a teacher that gives a child this kind of base to start from! I could only rate this school a 10!


Posted May 14, 2011

it is a very good school it should be 10 out of 10 the teachers are great and the subjects are great too


Posted November 12, 2010

We just started kindergarten this year and my son loves it. I volunteer in the classroom and appreciate the parent involvement. How it works: Children receive lessons at the various stations and they have to prove to be proficient in that lesson before moving on to a harder one at that same station. They also have a music teacher along with time in the library and computer lab. Montessori has the belief that you don't learn just from instruction but by doing it yourself. So for example they have the kids count with physical units and then match the corresponding number to the units they have been working with. They start by learning in cursive because kids are more prone to write in circular motion rather than start/stop. When they do the alphabet they learn it phonetically which has helped my son start reading. In just the past three months he has learned to sound out words and has started reading easy books, he knows all of the continents (North America, South America, Asia, etc..) he has learned to count into the thousands and simple addition, and because of the personal responsibility that they encourage in this program he has taken better ownership of his things
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

Hammer Montessori is a wonderful school. My son has gone there since the middle of second grade. He is in fourth now and he loves it. What I love are the teachers they are a very dedicated group of individuals who work hard to ensure a quality education and great Montessori classroom experience. The only weak link at all is the principal. I would recommend this school to any parent who cares about how their children learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2010

Public Montessori education is an incredible find in San Jose. This school has top of the line, experienced teachers and staff who care for the children very much. Over the two years we have been there we have seen the API score go up and up again. This school is a gem. If you can get in, you and your children will not be let down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2010

i went to this school threw 2-2-3-4-5th grade so 5 years. it was amazing i love this school and i still remain contact with my teachers :) great staff and great hard work!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

868

Change from
2012 to 2013

-13

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

868

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-13

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females92%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students86%
Females92%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females58%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asian85%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino27%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented76%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate70%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students69%
Females64%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Females91%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students78%
Females74%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Females86%
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students57%
Females64%
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students57%
Females57%
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 38%
Hispanic 30%
Asian 13%
Two or more races 10%
Black 4%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/AN/A
English language learners 13%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lynn Belmonte

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1610 Bird Avenue
San Jose, CA 95125
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 535-6671

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




River Glen School
San Jose, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT