Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
51 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 58 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


James Franklin Smith Elementary School 1

Posted December 17, 2015
- a parent
I am a parent with my kid going to this school. His bullying started on day one and and the teacher has done nothing to stop it. The teacher expressed concern that my child was inattentive in the class on day one and wanted to put the child under behavioral review program a month later. The child is not disruptive in any manner has done well in his periodic assessments. I am a doctor and do not find any thing wrong with the child other then normal 20 minute attention spans and regular kid behavior. We have even taken the child to a board certified psychiatrist with a fellowship in child psychiatry and the doctor made it clear that she cannot diagnose my child with ADHD. The teacher still insists on putting the child under review rather then working with the child to make the class room interesting. It appears any child who does not fit the box will be put in for review to get a ADHD diagnosis. I believe the motto of the school is have bunch of robots and if a child does not confirm they will do their best to slap a ADHD label and probably drug the child. I regret the decision of moving him to this school.

James Franklin Smith Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted December 17, 2015
- a parent
My son's teacher is highly ineffective. She should be reviewed for behavioral issues to be sure she is not the one having issues and not the children.


James Franklin Smith Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted December 17, 2015
- a parent
The teacher we work with does not show those qualities and I would not expect her to teach my child those qualities.

James Franklin Smith Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted December 17, 2015
- a parent
When the teacher show no compassion and caring towards a child and want to put the child under behavioral reviews for dropping a paper or not putting the home work folder in the bin once in a while, how would they develop the same qualities in the children they teach?

James Franklin Smith Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 17, 2015
- a parent
The school's motto seems to be to fit the child into the box and if they do not fit they wash their hands of the child by putting them in behavior review programs. Where is honesty and integrity in trying to have a child forcibly branded with ADHD label when doctors disagree.


James Franklin Smith Elementary School 1

Posted March 27, 2015
- a community member
The school is nice but the principal is not. She needs to be replaced. McClintock is not a very friendly principal until she is replace it is best too look at other better school in the area

James Franklin Smith Elementary School 4

Posted January 19, 2015
- a parent
JFS is a wonderful school - I have 2 children attending since KG and we could not be happier. The teachers are wonderful and care about the kids. The facility is new and clean. The new principal, Mrs. McClintock is much more approachable and involved. I wish there was more after school enrichment provided through school, especially established programs such as Math Olympiad which are currently parent-run. My boys enjoy their time at school and have made wonderful friends.

James Franklin Smith Elementary School 4

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
My two children attended JFS under three different principals. Overall we had good experience at JFS for all these years. I would have given 5 starts if they did not have the disputes between the district and the teacher union. In 2013, because of this it was evident the level of school/teachers' efforts dropped significantly in every aspect. I know this is a district wise problem, but students (and parents) should not be penalized.


James Franklin Smith Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
James Franklin Smith Elementary School continues to improve its test scores so it's puzzling to hear that the teachers are doing less work or somehow letting the students down. The contract issue is a district-wide issue and will be resolved once the district makes a good faith offer to the teachers. Happy teachers= happy students. Teachers earn every penny they get, and in my opinion are underpaid!

James Franklin Smith Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
My second child is about to start JFS tomorrow as a kindergartner. I look back to the 4 years my daughter has gone to the school and I am glad we chose JFS. 1. The PTA is very involved. 2. The teachers go the extra mile. 3. The new principal is very approachable. Generally a really good school. I wish the PTA would take a more active role in disseminating information about the after school offerings but I wouldn't hold that against them.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

James Franklin Smith Elementary School
2220 Woodbury Lane, San Jose, CA  95121-3233
(408) 532-2150
Last modified James Franklin Smith Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
James Franklin Smith Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 58 reviews. Top