Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public charter
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 396

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Latino College Preparatory Academy 1

Posted September 01, 2014
- a parent
this schools sucks. tries to force everyone into thinking they are descendants of indigenous swamp warriors and brainwash them with desires of taking all of the american content back into nativity . . accept history and move on, especially in a zone like California, where the world has merged into one. They tried humiliating my child telling him speaking Spanish was an insult to the aboriginal communities with whom he should ask forgiveness.

Latino College Preparatory Academy 2

Posted May 16, 2013
- a community member
As a former LCPA student, I feel that it is my duty to inform parents and students so that they can decide for themselves whether this school will satisfy their educational needs. Most of the teachers are dedicated to their jobs and try to personally help their students but the school suffers in several subjects especially in algebra, chemistry, and physics. There appears to be a serious problem with the school's infrastructure because the school was founded by the National Hispanic University. It appears to me that the university exerts a strong influence through the board members of the NHU foundation that handle LCPA's finances. You would think that being allied with a university would work in the high school's favor but in the past, the university has used LCPA as a cash cow by abusing grants meant for LCPA to cover the university's expenses. Because of the control that the university has over this school, it's difficult for passionate teachers to try to make changes that favor students. I think that LCPA needs to completely sever ties with NHU if it is to ever improve because as long as NHU exerts control, there won't be enough resources for the proper education of students.


Latino College Preparatory Academy 5

Posted April 19, 2011
- a community member
this is an awesome school. the staff is amazing they really help the students understand the subject. the classes are small so the teachers and students have more one on one time to provide you all the time needed.lcpa also has a homework tutoring center after school to help students improve in their classes. Mr.Barajas was an awesome principal he cared about the students and the staff the most.he was so not selfish.! he treated everybody like family. people should really stop posting up lies. they should not talk if they don't know i am a senior now and i really love this school and will stick up for it...

Latino College Preparatory Academy 4

Posted May 04, 2010
- a student
First, of all there is no reason as to why there are so many negative and over the top comments posted here about this 'charter school'. Yes this is a 'charters school' people, and not ran under a district! People need to get their facts straight before posting a variety of negative comments and over the top positive comments! There is no need for exaggeration here. As a former student, this school has helped students gain life time experiences, and like no other school created a bond amongst the students and teachers as well as staff. This is not a public school that has been alive for years and years; it was founded not too long ago, about 6 years ago. Last, but not least, everyone chooses where to attend school, and no one is forced to stay there. :) the best teachers of my education, I met here!

Latino College Preparatory Academy 5

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Latino College Preparatory Academy 3

Posted December 16, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Latino College Preparatory Academy 1

Posted November 25, 2008
- a parent
I pulled my child from this school last year. The faculty and administrators have very low expectations of students and parents. I was very disappointed.

Latino College Preparatory Academy 0
no rating

Posted September 18, 2008
- a student
This school has changed dramatically. Since it was started, it has evolved into a magnificent school. I am currently attending this school as a sophomore and it has a remarkable after school Science program. Who ever says different needs to do some serious investigations....


Latino College Preparatory Academy 0
no rating

Posted September 05, 2008
- a community member
Check out the test scores on LCPA. The culture of mediocrity and stagnation put in place by the principle, Jesse Barajas, continues. I've known about this school since the beginning, and it's only gotten worse since Barajas took over. He's a megalomaniac who puts himself before the students.

Latino College Preparatory Academy 5

Posted July 17, 2005
- a student
This school is the best school ever since they give every student what they need. Every student gets the attension that they need. They have sports. Its like any other school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Latino College Preparatory Academy
1966 Flint Avenue, San Jose, CA  95148
(408) 729-2281
Last modified Latino College Preparatory Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Latino College Preparatory Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top