Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Evergreen Valley High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $428,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 21 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

91 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2014

This school has substantially improved since last year [which you read about in other people's reviews as I want to get to my points]. There is a lot of great things about the school. However, for introvert and shy kids, it can still be an uncomfortable place. There's over 2,600 kids at this school. People here are friendly, if almost too friendly. Extroversion and loudness is the norm, approaching obnoxious. You can still feel a gap with the rest of the population if you're not comfortable with that kind of environment. I've seen a lot of my introvert friends here become alienated from the whole school. With this, I transferred out to a smaller high school and loved the more intimate, peaceful environment. No one here flaunts about 'how they got a new phone or clothes' or other pretentious stuff. People were more willing to listen to you and also think about the world around us instead of burying oneself in repetitive social activities and academic work (they're both important, but there are times when you need to just step away and focus). In short, if you're shy at any level, a smaller school would be better. For everyone else, EVHS is heaven.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2014

This campus is a very beautiful place. This high school has a very welcoming environment and accepts all people. The spirit and livelihood in this community is unbelievable. I have not seen any experiences of bullying or exclusion in this school. For the education, it has extremely high scores and many of its students move onto UCs and other top notch universities. It is an unforgettable experience to be a part of Evergreen Valley High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2014

2013-2014 was a wonderful year for EVHS in all aspects. The excitement teeming on the first week of school with Welcome Week filled with balloons, pins, and other activities started off the year on point. The class pride and love during Homecoming with the Night Rally, Pep Rally, and class decorations was indescribably crazy. The coming together of many different students to honor the holidays during Winterfest presented such a warm atmosphere. The gym filled with 2000+ students & teachers cheering for their class and our school, all sweaty yet restless to invoke their love, showed just how important EVHS is during Battle of the Classes. In addition to these school-wide pride-inducing events, EVHS has almost a 100 different clubs participating to enrich our school and its people. Renowned for its beautiful diversity, our school campus is rocked everyday by cultural clubs including IDC, LSU, VSU, BSU, Polynesian, etc. The dedication and passion bursting through each student for academics and vigor is truly phenomenal. Our school community comes together to show just how talented and smart each individual is and that is what makes being a Cougar so amazing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2014

EVHS is such an amazing school! I honestly feel like I'm getting the best high school experience at EV, an experience that I can't get anywhere else. EV is so diverse. It has a population of so many unique students, and we get to see all the amazing talents of each student at events like Winterfest, Homecoming, Battle of the Classes, and countless other school events! Our band is always a judge's favorite at every competition, the boy's golf team has only lost 6 games in their entire existence at EV, there are always students attending the national science fairs, our speech and debate team is amazing, and so much more.The Polynesian club and dance groups always perform at school events and at lunch just because they love doing it, our theater performances are always so professionally done, and there are over 80 clubs who enrich the lives of the student body. Our Leadership class does an incredible job of having monthly student weeks, we have at least 4 spirit rallies a semester, and the class spirit AND unity at battle and homecoming is beautiful. EVHS is remarkable, and I am so happy I am able to attend such a rewarding high school. GO COUGARS!


Posted April 30, 2014

I am a senior at EVHS this year and looking back through my years in high school, I have to say that I wouldn't have wanted to go anywhere else. The school spirit here is amazing and EVHS has so many different events to incorporate everyone such as Homecoming, multicultural Winterfest, Battle of the classes, and a lot more. Also, there's been many improvements just in the past year with the new administration that makes it easier for myself and my peers to find resources for our academic needs. I love EVHS and I will miss it deeply. Thank you for being like a second home to me!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2014

I really enjoyed my four years being at this school. I have enjoyed every single moment on the campus, surrounded by a community of teachers and students that really care about creating an effective learning environment and fostering growth not only in academics, but also personal growth.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2014

As a sophomore at EVHS, I've had the pleasure to spend two wonderful years at this school. My teachers have all been knowledgable about their specific subjects, the environment is friendly, and the opportunities are countless. Our school spirit is pretty much unbeatable. Hosted events such as Homecoming and Winterfest involve every student on campus. We also boast over 60 various clubs and several sports (many of them in A-League). Not to mention, EV has the highest API in the district. I truly look forward to attending school every morning, and I couldn't be prouder to be a Cougar.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2014

EVHS is definitely not your ordinary school. It's filled with a diverse group of amazing, talented, unique people. Not only do we rock academically but EVHS is extremely spirited. So before you think about going to this school be prepared for an amazing ride. EVHS has such a broad amount of activities that any student can participate in and attend. We have a Multicultural Winter Fest that is held every year to celebrate all the holidays. We also have Homecoming in which we bring the entire school together and we can't forget it's also to honor FOOTBALL. And lastly the main event is BOTC which is Battle of the Classes. Battle of the Classes is extremely intense and very competitive but it definitely brings the whole school together and showcases what the individual classes are capable of. It's something that is held yearly and is an event many students look forward to! In all honesty, I love EVHS and there isn't any other school id rather be in. The environment itself is so beautiful and the people there are just amazing. There are great teachers, variety of activities to chose from and an overload of SPIRIT!! EVHS has changed my life and I'm looking forward to the next 2 years.


Posted April 29, 2014

EVHS has truly changed. When I first entered EVHS, I heard many negative reviews about the school, naturally making me very scared to come here. Once I started school however, I realized that all of these stories are false. EV is in fact, a wonderful school to be at. Many worry that the teachers are bad, but this is true at every school and also EV compensates for these teachers by having amazing and motivating ones too. For all the years I've been here, I have formed really close bonds with some of my teachers, and they're willing to put in extra time and effort to help you in any way they can, you just have to ask! Another great thing about EV are the numerous event. In 2014, Leadership truly made it a goal to make sure that EV is not only more spirited, but to guarantee the student body that they get the most out of the high school experience. Whether it's Homecoming, Battle of the Classes, or the Multicultural Winterfest, the events held at EV are really great. One if my favorite parts about EV is the clubs. There are so many options for students to choose, ranging from Speech and Debate to Science and Tech, Tennis or sports, or cultural groups like Vietnamese and Indian.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2014

I have been at this school for 2 years and I can honestly say that EVHS is a wonderful school and has improved tremendously within the past year. The new admins are very helpful and more interactive with students. School spirit has risen a lot and the students here are full with cougar pride. Although some teachers are weaker at teaching, most of them provide plenty of material and help for the students to succeed. Our school is diverse and we love to embrace it! Winterfest is a cultural festival that we have each year and clubs such as BSU, LSU, VSU, Kababayan etc. add on to the culture. Test scores are the highest in the district and many students go off to amazing universities. We have events such as homecoming and battle of the classes, and it blows people's minds to see how amazing it is. The school is definitely a safe environment and the campus is beautiful. Our sports teams are in top leagues and we have amazing competitors in our math club, robotics, etc. There is so much about EV that I love and I'm positive that many others would agree.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2014

Words can't even explain how much I love EV. Although it's school, I personally enjoy coming everyday because the spirit, community, and overall environment is amazing. SOMETIMES, OUR SCHOOL FEELS LIKE HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL, BUT BETTER. Of course, EV has its cons, but what school doesn't? Besides, they're really minor. This school has become a really safe environment for me, and a good example too, celebrating all different diversities. Honestly, I just love everything about this school, even our colors! Go Cougars!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2014

Evergreen Valley High School is phenomenal. I've been here for almost four years, and I can honestly say that this school has truly shaped me into the person I am today. I've met so many amazing people with my time being here. Everyone at this school is very welcoming and super spirited. We love spirit days and most of the students go all out! EVHS offers many AP classes that will benefit students and their academic future. We have the highest API scores in the entire district. Not only are we academically strong, but we also offer many extracurricular actives, such as clubs and sports. We have a wide variety of clubs- with more than 30 to choose from! Our sports are incredibly impressive, as our Basketball Boys Varsity went to CCS this year. Overall, Evergreen is just life-changing. :) P.S. EVHS proms are always super amazing! As they say, high school is truly what you make of it. I am immensely happy that I chose EVHS as my high school. I love Evergreen Valley High School and I always will!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2014

Evergreen Valley High School is phenomenal. I've been here for almost four years, and I can honestly say that this school has truly shaped me into the person I am today. I've met so many amazing people with my time being here. Everyone at this school is very welcoming and super spirited. We love spirit days and most of the students go all out! EVHS offers many AP classes that will benefit students and their academic future. We have the highest API scores in the entire district. Not only are we academically strong, but we also offer many extracurricular actives, such as clubs and sports. We have a wide variety of clubs- with more than 30 to choose from! Our sports are incredibly impressive, as our Basketball Boys Varsity went to CCS this year. Evergreen is just overall life-changing. :) P.S. EVHS proms are always super amazing! As they say, high school is truly what you make of it. I am immensely happy that I chose EVHS as my high school. I love Evergreen Valley High School and I always will!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2014

I think that after the admin fix they did this year, and the absolute skyrocket in the spirit and school community this year, this school is now awesome. There are a couple of off teachers still but they're starting to change their ways, and are definitely a minority in comparison with all the awesome teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2014

Evergreen Valley High School has definitely improved over the years that I have been here. With the new principal this year, there have been many positive changes to the system! Students are now offered the opportunity to take up to 4 AP classes, which is great compared to the limited amount in the past. Although many have complained that EV has 'bad teachers', I believe that that is inevitable for each and every school. Aside from academics, this year was the first time I've seen an abundance amount of school spirit from the 3 years I've been here. It definitely affected my high school experience in a positive manner,
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2014

Evergreen is an amazing school with staff and teachers who support and encourage students daily. This school is extremely diverse by having a variety of clubs and multicultural school events. The events planned by students themselves are extremely extraordinary and makes the school united.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2014

Evergreen is an amazing school. The new principal and administration has done so much for our school; such as benches for people to eat and sit on, they walk around during break and lunch and interact with the students, and they are huge supporters of our sports program, always attending the games. Teachers at EV don't only teach us school material, but also valuable life lessons. We are also a diverse school, with many student unions (such as chinese student union, vietnamese student union, black student union, etc) who have fashion shows, performances, and spirit weeks for the students to participate in. Our sports teams are very dedicated and hard working and it definitely shows when it comes to the games/matches. Overall EV is a very good high school and we encourage everyone to come!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2014

Ok so there any many misconceptions that i am gonna clear here. this is my first year at evhs and it is probably the best school in our district by a landslide for many reasonds. Now heres why people. first off, the campus and staff are great, the campus has been extremely clean and safe, and our staff has been amazing this year. previous years i heard it was terrible but look, we have a new principal and a new principal. Ms. Kelly and Mr. Kleckner are probably the greatest people ever, they have cleaned up and made all the teachers better, they have stopped all drug use and violence whatsoever, and have made evhs a golden school. second, our counselors are amazing and we have our own online counseling database called naviance, where students can get all the help they can possibly imagine and are very involved and will help you with anything necessary. It is the best school in the district NOW, not before, but NOW, campus = amazing, staff = amazing, students = amazing, api score = highest in district, and finally, a loving and caring community == always there for you
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2014

EVHS has changed a lot within the last year.No clue why some of the reviews are so stinky .The new Principal is bringing in lot of positive changes.My son feels very safe at the campus .Some of the Science and Math teachers are really good . EVHS has honors classes and they have at least 60 AP classes in various subjects! Parents have tools like school loop, school voice calls and emails to get information in a timely manner.I have seen the principal attending various events to boost the school spirit.Yes, the school has some problems just like all other campuses but with right leadership, school is moving into the right direction for sure. This school has good band program, nice athletic program and tons of clubs to choose from.Go cougars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

EVHS has improved a lot over the year. More APs are offered to students who are willing to learn. Most of teachers are good, and responsible for. More info is shared with parents by phone and schoolloop
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

866

Change from
2012 to 2013

+5

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

866

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+5

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 25% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
45%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 65% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Biology/Life Sciences

The state average for Biology/Life Sciences was 58% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 38% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 62% in 2013.

671 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 16% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
0%

2010

 
 
13%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 45% in 2013.

326 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
75%
Integrated/Coordinated Science I

The state average for Integrated/Coordinated Science I was 26% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
31%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 38% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%
World History

The state average for World History was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 13% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
12%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 39% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
65%
Biology/Life Sciences

The state average for Biology/Life Sciences was 41% in 2013.

589 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 46% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
28%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 35% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 52% in 2013.

668 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
68%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 15% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
19%
High School (Summative) Mathematics (Grade 9-11)

The state average for High School (Summative) Mathematics (Grade 9-11) was 76% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

662 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
71%
World History

The state average for World History was 46% in 2013.

666 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 10% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
10%

2010

 
 
22%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 15% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
24%
Biology/Life Sciences

The state average for Biology/Life Sciences was 51% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
71%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 32% in 2013.

441 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
38%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

645 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
60%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 8% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
11%

2010

 
 
3%
High School (Summative) Mathematics (Grade 9-11)

The state average for High School (Summative) Mathematics (Grade 9-11) was 49% in 2013.

351 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
76%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 58% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
69%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 50% in 2013.

632 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
60%
World History

The state average for World History was 19% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students20%
Females14%
Males24%
African Americann/a
Asian35%
Filipino16%
Hispanic or Latino12%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)8%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Non-economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability21%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only21%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate11%
Parent education - high school graduate12%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)26%
Parent education - college graduate25%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate25%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Algebra II

All Students90%
Females92%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate100%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Biology/Life Sciences

All Students69%
Females71%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipino66%
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)42%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disability7%
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Earth Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Females83%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asian89%
Filipino88%
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability7%
Students with no reported disability84%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate57%
Parent education - high school graduate68%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students0%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students51%
Females54%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asian61%
Filipino31%
Hispanic or Latino25%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduate57%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate57%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Integrated/Coordinated Science I

All Students0%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Physics

All Students81%
Females81%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students11%
Females10%
Males13%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino11%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged11%
Non-economically disadvantaged12%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability15%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only10%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate9%
Parent education - high school graduate7%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)21%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Algebra II

All Students60%
Females63%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asian63%
Filipino40%
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate64%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Biology/Life Sciences

All Students76%
Females76%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asian85%
Filipino67%
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability8%
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate56%
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Earth Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females76%
Males73%
African American36%
Asian88%
Filipino70%
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability3%
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner9%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students18%
Females14%
Males20%
African Americann/a
Asian23%
Filipino15%
Hispanic or Latino2%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)46%
Economically disadvantaged8%
Non-economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability18%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only17%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate8%
Parent education - high school graduate11%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)19%
Parent education - college graduate22%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate28%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

High School (Summative) Mathematics (Grade 9-11)

All Students95%
Females94%
Males97%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability96%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate85%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate99%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students76%
Females76%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asian89%
Filipino68%
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disability7%
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate52%
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

World History

All Students67%
Females64%
Males69%
African American9%
Asian81%
Filipino66%
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disability3%
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students26%
Females35%
Males13%
African Americann/a
Asian36%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino24%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability32%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only30%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)18%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Algebra II

All Students26%
Females24%
Males27%
African Americann/a
Asian37%
Filipino20%
Hispanic or Latino12%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)22%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Non-economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability25%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only24%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate22%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)25%
Parent education - college graduate18%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate42%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Biology/Life Sciences

All Students38%
Females44%
Males33%
African Americann/a
Asian58%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino22%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Non-economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability43%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only42%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Chemistry

All Students54%
Females46%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asian59%
Filipino44%
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)42%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate70%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Earth Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Females71%
Males71%
African American67%
Asian79%
Filipino66%
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disability9%
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students10%
Females12%
Males9%
African Americann/a
Asian15%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino8%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged17%
Non-economically disadvantaged6%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability11%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only11%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate8%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)14%
Parent education - college graduate5%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

High School (Summative) Mathematics (Grade 9-11)

All Students69%
Females69%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asian72%
Filipino56%
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate51%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate66%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Physics

All Students50%
Females32%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asian68%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino17%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged21%
Non-economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)18%
Parent education - college graduate48%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

U.S. History

All Students71%
Females66%
Males76%
African American75%
Asian77%
Filipino62%
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disability15%
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate53%
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 83% in 2013.

676 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

662 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California High School Exit Exam (CAHSEE) to test high school students' skills in English language arts and mathematics. The results for grade 10 students taking the test for the first time are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The CAHSEE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of California. Students must pass all parts of the CAHSEE in order to graduate from high school. If they do not pass it the first time, students have multiple opportunities to retake the test. The goal is for all students to pass both sections of the test.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Females96%
Males90%
Gender Unknownn/a
African American82%
Asian98%
Filipino91%
Hispanic or Latino79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Declined to state96%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Economic Status Unknownn/a
Students with disability40%
Tested with modificationsn/a
English learner56%
Language Fluency Unknownn/a
Migrant educationn/a

Math

All Students97%
Females97%
Males96%
Gender Unknownn/a
African American67%
Asian100%
Filipino96%
Hispanic or Latino90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Declined to state93%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Economic Status Unknownn/a
Students with disability58%
Tested with modifications0%
English learner85%
Language Fluency Unknownn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California High School Exit Exam (CAHSEE) to test high school students' skills in English language arts and mathematics. The results for grade 10 students taking the test for the first time are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The CAHSEE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of California. Students must pass all parts of the CAHSEE in order to graduate from high school. If they do not pass it the first time, students have multiple opportunities to retake the test. The goal is for all students to pass both sections of the test.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 61%
Hispanic 20%
White 6%
Black 2%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/AN/A
English language learners 4%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 1%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3300 Quimby Road
San Jose, CA 95148
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 347-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Apollo High School
San Jose, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT