Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Welcome to the Evergreen Valley High School webpage! EVHS is an amazing school that has achieved so much in its short existence. Since opening its doors in 2002, EVHS has grown to a student population of 2715 students. While this may seem like a large number, we are very proud that our students, parents, and faculty feel there is a closeness one would find in a small community. EVHS is a warm community where the staff is proud of their work and our students are proud to attend Evergreen. Our students know they are privileged to attend one of the best schools in the South Bay and they enjoy their years at EVHS. The test data at EVHS is a testament to student achievement and teacher effort. Students and staff earned an outstanding Academic Performance Index score of 866 in the 2012-13 school year. Approximately 1500 Advanced Placement exams were given in 2013-14 and the scores exceeded the national averages. Ninety-three percent of EVHS seniors self report moving on to the collegiate level with the remaining 7% entering the workforce, vocational careers, or the military. The school offers 17 different Advanced Placement Courses for college credit. Eleventh and 12th graders have the option to apply to the ACCEL mid level college program at Evergreen Community College, and the ability to attend over 30 courses at the Silicon Valley Career Technical Education Center (formerly named CCOC). EVHS also offers a full selection of courses that meet the California State University, University of California, and private college entrance requirements including advanced coursework in all content areas. The EVHS Counseling Department, teaching staff, and administrative team communicates with parents via email, School Loop, and multiple parent nights throughout the year. Additionally, all students have access to the online Naviance program for the purpose of college planning. The school webpage itself provides much information about the school including a daily email bulletin. Our counseling program also offers a comprehensive multi service program (MST) which assists students and parents by connecting them with community services. Our student government and our Leadership class lead our school activities which includes lunch time activities and entertainment, rallies, dances, haunted houses, and more. Approximately 1400 students attended the Homecoming dance in 2013-14 and there are dozens of large events held yearly. This includes the day and night rallies during homecoming, our famous Winterfest, and the Battle of the Classes. EVHS is very proud of its thriving and exciting extra and co-curricular offerings which include a full orchestra, band, wind ensemble, guitar program, choir, drama, visual arts, competitive robotics, and business program. There are 15 boys/girls sports including football, track and field, volleyball, basketball, badminton, soccer, baseball, softball, cross country, water polo, swimming, tennis, golf, wrestling, and cheerleading. EVHS athletics has won 17 Boy s Division Titles and 23 Girl s Titles with 8 teams becoming CCS Champions. Our school yearbook is nationally recognized and has been honored by the National Scholastic Press Association. Additionally, there are over 100 student clubs in which to participate. EVHS is also home to the Child Development Center which offers day care for qualifying families throughout the district. This program is run with the support of EVHS students who work in the center. Feel free to browse these offerings on the website. Students, we know you will enjoy your days at EVHS because being a Cougar is like having a second family! Lauren Kelly, Principal
October 11, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
122 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 139 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Evergreen Valley High School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
I believe this school is growing. I attended a couple of principal's sessions and could feel strong enthusiasm from her. This school offers many great programs and clubs. Specifically, this school's debate team is the nation's best team (won 1st place multiple times in the national competitions). I visited several high schools in the area, and found that this school has the best campus and facilities.

Evergreen Valley High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Yes, I think this is very much coming from the leadership team again. Additionally, I was told that this school maintains good financial status. Combination of the determined leadership team and the good financial would bring persistence and determination in its students


Evergreen Valley High School 1

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
It's too disappoint about LA teacher at grade 9 freshmen. She is not follow up with student and grade them on time in EV School loop.

Evergreen Valley High School 4

Posted March 01, 2015
- a parent
Compared to where this school was at 2 yrs ago, EV has made leaps and bounds in improvements largely due to the new admin leadership that was brought in. The best thing that ever happened was the then new Superintendent brought in new leadership. Props on his selection! Does the school have some bad teachers? Yes, but what public school doesn't have it's share. There are some absolutely passionate and gems at EVHS and some of the teachers there should probably take some lessons from them on how to inspire students. Are there some teachers at EV that have no business teaching? The answer - yes there are some. The great thing is is that at least now there is leadership that truly cares about making EVHS the best school it can possibly be. The school now has a sense of pride and community spirit to it. The campus is clean and well kept and not an eyesore like it was several years ago. Progress is happening at this school. Change does take time. With the continued leadership and management of the school, I am confident that the school will continue to make positive changes. In just two years, there has been a tremendous improvement. Keep up the good work EVHS!

Evergreen Valley High School 5

Posted October 29, 2014
- a student
EVHS has such a bad reputation, but it's not really THAT bad. There are really bad teachers, but everyone forgets that there are also a handful of good teachers who really make your high school years memorable. In terms of spirit, there really is none. The Homecoming rally and BOTC are the only big events worth going to at EV. I had the option of going to Silver Creek but I chose EV because I knew it would be more beneficial to me in terms of getting into college. Yes, this school has lousy teachers, but if you're a GOOD student you take the good with the bad and try to make the most out of it. I am currently a college student attending a top university and I can tell you that most of what I have learned at EV has really carried over into college.


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Welcome to the Evergreen Valley High School webpage! EVHS is an amazing school that has achieved so much in its short existence. Since opening its doors in 2002, EVHS has grown to a student population of 2715 students. While this may seem like a large number, we are very proud that our students, parents, and faculty feel there is a closeness one would find in a small community. EVHS is a warm community where the staff is proud of their work and our students are proud to attend Evergreen. Our students know they are privileged to attend one of the best schools in the South Bay and they enjoy their years at EVHS. The test data at EVHS is a testament to student achievement and teacher effort. Students and staff earned an outstanding Academic Performance Index score of 866 in the 2012-13 school year. Approximately 1500 Advanced Placement exams were given in 2013-14 and the scores exceeded the national averages. Ninety-three percent of EVHS seniors self report moving on to the collegiate level with the remaining 7% entering the workforce, vocational careers, or the military. The school offers 17 different Advanced Placement Courses for college credit. Eleventh and 12th graders have the option to apply to the ACCEL mid level college program at Evergreen Community College, and the ability to attend over 30 courses at the Silicon Valley Career Technical Education Center (formerly named CCOC). EVHS also offers a full selection of courses that meet the California State University, University of California, and private college entrance requirements including advanced coursework in all content areas. The EVHS Counseling Department, teaching staff, and administrative team communicates with parents via email, School Loop, and multiple parent nights throughout the year. Additionally, all students have access to the online Naviance program for the purpose of college planning. The school webpage itself provides much information about the school including a daily email bulletin. Our counseling program also offers a comprehensive multi service program (MST) which assists students and parents by connecting them with community services. Our student government and our Leadership class lead our school activities which includes lunch time activities and entertainment, rallies, dances, haunted houses, and more. Approximately 1400 students attended the Homecoming dance in 2013-14 and there are dozens of large events held yearly. This includes the day and night rallies during homecoming, our famous Winterfest, and the Battle of the Classes. EVHS is very proud of its thriving and exciting extra and co-curricular offerings which include a full orchestra, band, wind ensemble, guitar program, choir, drama, visual arts, competitive robotics, and business program. There are 15 boys/girls sports including football, track and field, volleyball, basketball, badminton, soccer, baseball, softball, cross country, water polo, swimming, tennis, golf, wrestling, and cheerleading. EVHS athletics has won 17 Boy s Division Titles and 23 Girl s Titles with 8 teams becoming CCS Champions. Our school yearbook is nationally recognized and has been honored by the National Scholastic Press Association. Additionally, there are over 100 student clubs in which to participate. EVHS is also home to the Child Development Center which offers day care for qualifying families throughout the district. This program is run with the support of EVHS students who work in the center. Feel free to browse these offerings on the website. Students, we know you will enjoy your days at EVHS because being a Cougar is like having a second family! Lauren Kelly, Principal
Posted October 11, 2014

Evergreen Valley High School 1

Posted October 07, 2014
- a student
My school is honestly really awful. You think it's a nice school and all, but once you get in you realise how bad the teachers are, how the students struggle on what would be easy in other schools, and how dirty and nasty it is. I don't like anything about this school at all. The only thing holding this school together are the try-hard students who study so much and still barely scrape by in their AP classes. The only classes that were actually normal and good were PE and Art for me. The rest need better teachers. There are still some teachers in which students petitioned to get fired due to crazy behavior and inadequate teachings who are still working. I'm not sure if they have to keep the teacher by contract but if over 60+ students agreed this teacher should be fired, they should be fired. They need to find someone who can spot actual teachers and re-interview everybody and fire people who are unable to teach and discipline their students. We also are in desperate need of funds for basic things teachers need to teach, yet extra funds raised were used on some stupid beautifying project of painting cougar pawprints at the front of the school. It honestly looks disgusting.

Evergreen Valley High School 5

Posted September 26, 2014
- a community member
Do i know this school? Heck yeah! Every since I transferred in middle school, I've been anxiously wanting to get out of middle school and get to Evhs already.Now I am, my first year of highschool.At first everything is scary, but then as the day passes by, it's not that bad.There is no bullying here at all and no one is consider as a loner kids.I feel like I am part of something because there are a lot of activities during school and after that you can get involved.Although this school is over populated,everyone gets a chance to be part of something.No one gets left behind.Everyday is a new adventure here cause something new is always happening.So I recommend you to bring your kids here because it's a great place for them to be part of something.


Evergreen Valley High School 5

Posted September 26, 2014
- a student
To examine a school deeply, one must dig down to its roots. A George Eliot once said, " It will never rain roses: when we want to have more roses, we must plant more roses. And the roots of EVHS are its great students and stellar leadership. Unlike other schools, EVHS offers a comprehensive Leadership program that makes a direct, positive impact not just to the school but to the Evergreen Community as well. Students here are positively influential and dedicate their time to continue to build upon the stable roots of the school. Staff mostly demonstrate professionalism and respect for students. Obviously, there is never going to be an "invincible" school that reaches Perfectionism however EVHS is reaching this state like an exponential function.

Evergreen Valley High School 5

Posted September 25, 2014
- a student
Of course, no school is perfect, but I believe EV is for sure darn close to it. As a student, not only is it an educational institute, but it's also a place where I can have fun and express myself. Our events (such as Homecoming, Winterfest, Battle) and spirit days/weeks are super fun with great participation from the student body. I honestly feel like I live in High School Musical sometimes. All in all, I love my school, and I wouldn't want to go anywhere else for the world.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Evergreen Valley High School
3300 Quimby Road, San Jose, CA  95148
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 139 reviews. (408) 347-7000
Last modified Evergreen Valley High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top