Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Spirit

Private | K-8 | 528 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Jose

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $823,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 24, 2014

My third child will enter Holy Spirit School this year and he can't wait! Every year we wonder if we have made the right choice by sending our three children to HSS and every year's back to school night confirms that this is the environment we want for them - a place for them to grow and thrive; to be educated in their faith and academics; to be nurtured and appreciated for their individuality; to be held responsible for their actions; and to recognize their role in their community. These are two of the things teachers have said to us: "My job is to make your child love to learn." "Children make mistakes and we will love them through it as they grow." We are very happy at Holy Spirit and so are our kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

We are extremely pleased with the school, in particular with the quality of the teachers. My son is currently in first grade and the progress that he has made during the year is amazing. As many boys of his age, reading is not his forte, but the teacher he has is just wonderful. His reading has improved so much that so far he has read more than 35 books! I also like the fact that the school uses a lot of the current technology that is available for education. Math has been always easy for my son, but the teacher uses apps and other programs that are adaptive, so my son constantly feels challenge. At the beginning he felt troubled, because he used to believe that he didn't need to try that hard in Math, but now, he is really engage with learning and curious about learning what is next.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2014

After searching high and low for a school, I stumbled upon HSS. From the extremely helpful office staff, amazing teachers and families, we have truly been blessed to be a part of such a wonderful school and community. My son entered PreK this year and has blossomed. The quality of education that the students receives ranks high. I recommend this school to anyone in the South San Jose area. My son will continue his elementary/middle education as a Coyote!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

Full Time Learning Specialist. Teachers are open to implementation of accommodations. Children are not made fun of because of different learning styles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

Great community. Great teachers. Wonderful academic programs with great new system to help bridge the gap in all levels of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

Leaving Holy Spirit school is very sad. I was very connected with a number of families. We were disconnected with everything else. The school itself is mediocre. There is no attention put on the individual child and how they relate to other children. It's a mean environment for kids and even worse for the parents. My children were in some classes for years with parents that were still asking me who I was, because they couldn't be bothered to look up at an unfamiliar face. I knew who they were. When we left we realized there are normal nice families and kids can be asked to be kind to each other and when expected to they will.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

We enrolled my son last year in Kindergarten and we couldn't be happier about our decision. He attended an outstanding early development center, so the bar was already high. But the teachers at Holy Spirit have been wonderful and the principal too. I will definitively recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

I read many of the reviews and simply stated the negative reviews are wrong. This is a Catholic School that holds to high standards of being actively part of the greater community. They have high standards for academics as they are preparing you for Catholic High Schools and eventually university. The teachers overall are awesome - this is not a job to them - it's a vocation. They often get paid less than public school teachers who are in the system well past their prime. They can hire and fire based on performance which is nice to see. If you have a problem child - public school is probably better for them. They won't get away with anything at Holy Spirit. Church and spiritual teaching is very important and is a big part of the school. Yes, parents are expected to volunteer so as to lead by example for their children. No absentee parents allowed. The school is by no means perfect but they are well ahead of the public schools that are underfunded, overcrowded and understaffed. It's a great school - I have 2 children presently at the school and 1 who graduated and is now at Saint Francis. I would highly recommend sending your chrildren to Holy Spirit if they can get in
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2012

At one point I had 2 children at HSS. One of my children attended this school for 9 long years and is now in high school and doing great. My child was well prepared although she 'lost' a year in math due to a really bad teacher. Academically, the teachers and standards are ruthless. There is no grace, forgiveness or second chances here! They select only the cream of the crop here either at the entrance process or by self-elimination because of the rigidity. Kids get in trouble for running and kicking the ball at recess!!! Our child made a lot of friends there. Spiritually, my child and her friends were jaded and very cynical and weren t afraid to mock prayer time or going to mass. The children saw a disconnect in what they were being taught spiritually, and what they actually saw in action. If social and spiritual development is as important to you as academics, look somewhere else. Be prepared to participate in endless fundraisers, 40 volunteer hours are MANDATORY, there are parent cliques and the receptionists are very partial to people they like (except for the brunette that works Fridays and has a smile for EVERYONE). Snooty attitudes abound! My other kid is happy elsewhere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2011

My older son went to HSS from kindergarten and graduated two years ago. Because of the great teachers and strong curriculum he was very ready for the rigors of high school. The school also does a fabulous job of developing a positive character in all its students. HSS has a new principal this year who has been the assistant principal. She is an experienced educator and administrator. The kids and parents love her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2011

My daughter has just completed Pre-K at Holy Spirit. She has learned so much this year. All her numbers, letters and their sounds, and has much improved penmanship. She LOVES her teacher Mrs. D'Amico and the aids, Mrs. Moyano and Mrs. Matalone are nothing short of saints to her.. They give lots of attention and direction to the children and model responsible, kind and compassionate behavior. My daughter seems to have become more attentive to other's feelings and has more confidence. We have been extremely pleased with the whole school and have found the school staff and other parents very warm and helpful. As for the play area, Pre-K uses the Kindergarten area when the Kindergarten is in class. They make do with what areas they do have and it is fenced in with a play structure and plenty of "grass."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2011

My daughter had a wonderful experience with the screening process. The teachers were compassionate, kind and friendley. My daughter tends to be shy but really felt comfortable with the teachers. We have heard that Holy Spirit School is a wonderful community and we cannot wait to send our daughter in the fall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

My child also went through the Kindergarten screening process at Holy Spirit School this spring and had a blast. The teachers and staff were welcoming and warm but did not talk down to and baby him. The teachers explained in easy to understand terms what was going to happened to the group of parents and kids in the Library before having the kids say bye to their parents and line up and walk to the Kindergarten classroom. Only 2 kids out of the 14 seemd to not understand what was going to happen and were afraid to leave their parents. My son grabbed the hand of one of the teachers and went on his way. He enjoyed meeting the teachers and new friends. My goddaughter is at the school as well. She is developed into a compassionate young woman who tutors neighborhood kids from the public schools and she has received acceptance letters from all three Catholic high schools she applied to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2011

No place for the kids to play outside. Have no bully policy. Principal does not have enough experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2011

I would agree with the posts below about the shiny campus comments as well as the school praising itself for its values. If you look closely at this school, as others have mentioned, you start to see that it can fall short of living its values which is disappointing when you consider this is a good part of what you are paying for at a Catholic School. You can get a better value overall attending high ranking public schools or for a competitive private school - Almaden Country School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2011

We had a very unpleasant experience w/ the Kindergarten screening process at Holy Spirit School. My son felt a bit intimidated by having to join a group of 14 kids plus 2 teachers for the screening test. He had never neen t the school before and did not know anyone there. He refused to enter the classroom and no one from the Holy Spirit staff reached out to engage him and try to make him more confortable. The staff member coordinating the process could only suggest that he was too young for Kindergarten. She had never met my son before and jumped into her own conclusions based on a 5 minute event. I expereinced a very unfriendly environment for a school that praises itself for values, sense of community, parents and teacher working toghether. I guess the tale that they only have a "pretty campus" remains true.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2011

Don't just look at the shiny campus!!! Look at the stuff, teachers and their attitude. We have found that they are quite "full of them self's" and not as warm as caring as other schools. We decided to go with another school. So, look around and just don't be fooled by the shiny new campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2010

My daughter goes to this school and she loves it! The teachers are wonderful and I really think it is a good community to be a part of. We are looking forward to many more years here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2010

My review is with regards to Holy Spirit's Summer School Program. Our son attended this past summer (2010) and we were very disappointed. The charges for the program are ridiculous. They charge you buy 2.5 hours sessions that are then summed up to a full day. The prices were outrageous compared to other private summer school's in the area. The program is only 4 weeks long. The teacher for my son's class was not present for at least one week. Random people (relatives, grandmother's) took the class in her absense. I did not see that my son had worked on anything until the 3rd week of summer school. The before and after school daycare was very disappointing. The children were not really allowed to play outside and the children seemed very down. Finally, there was no way to contact anyone directly during the school day. Not recommended for summer school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2010

the principal is focused on young kids with 'GOOD MORNING COYOTES' and mostly ignores the older kids. He rarely comes into the classrooms and can have an angry temper. Mrs Cully was better.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 26%
Hispanic 14% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 12% 11%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Black 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Peggy Krewson
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Jose
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1198 Redmond Avenue
San Jose, CA 95120
Phone: (408) 268-0794

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT