Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Carden Day School Of San Jose

Private | K-8 | 164 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $619,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2010

The ratio of student to teacher is great. A lot on individual attention is given to each student. The school accommodates family who needs to be out of town or when the child is ill. The student is exposed to many cultural activities.


Posted November 15, 2009

I was terribly nervous to send my child to this school. I am unfamiliar with the Carden method and was afraid that it would be too structured. I am extremely pleased with the school. It's well-rounded and the teachers are innovative and caring. Wow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

My son has only been at Carden for 2 months and I am absolutely thrilled with the teachers, curriculum, activities, parents. They truly provide a well-rounded experience. The teachers and resource staff are caring and fun-loving as well as firm when needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

My daughter has been at Carden for six years (since Jr. K). Great thought and research went into deciding on a school for her, having myself been an educator for over 10 years. The teachers are not just caring, they are inviting. They challenge the students every day to think for themselves, come up with thoughtful answers and provide a wonderful environment for their pupils. Artwork and student work adorn the walls. The students are proud of the work they are producing. Test scores from this school speak for themselves. They are high achieving students. The 8th grade students attend prestigious local high schools and are sought after because the schools know what kind of learner and well-rounded student Carden Day School produces. Parent participation is exceptional. We love this school, the families and the administration. I could not ask for a better school experience for my daughter!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

I highly recommend Carden Day School of San Jose. My child graduated from 8th grade this year. She started with Carden system in Kindergarten and with this school since second grade. She was accepted into honors programs at every private school including Harker and Mitty. She scored well above 90% on her Standford Achievement Tests which ranked her as Post-High School level in everything except one subject, that was ranked at 12th grade level. She tested and scheduled into Honors level classes at the high school of her choice in Science, Math, English, and Modern Language. She has a love of learning. Carden teaches the students HOW to study and HOW to LOVE to LEARN and HOW to THINK. Past graduates that I know (who are going into 10th grade through post-graduate college) tell that they learned how to learn well at Carden and that 9th grade will be easy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

Our son moved to Carden for the 8th grade. The quality of the school is exceptional, from the personal care from the school principal, to the excellent education and attention provided by the teachers. The level of education is equivalent to 10th grade public schools. I highly encourage those who are seeking the best education for their children to consider this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

Carden Day has proved to be an excellent school emphasizing academic and social development. Their curricula is well rounded, incorporating art appreciation, music, and yoga into their enriching core studies. Carden Day students and parents are supportive of each other and not competitive as experienced in other private schools. The teachers are inspiring - constantly encouraging students to do their best. The leadership at Carden have the children's best interest at heart for developmental and academic success. We are fortunate to be part of a wonderful community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

Excellent school. This is our Third year at the school. It provides a great balance between academia and proper social skills. We like the school, teachers, staff, the parents, and the well rounded kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

Our children are also finishing a fourth year at Carden Day School, and both love every day there. My two children are very intelligent, articulate, out-going, creative, curious & spontaneous. Every one of their teachers over the past four years has more than satisfied each of my childrens characteristics. My 2nd grader reads well past her level, excels at both math and science, adores composing stories, is reading music as well as French story books. My son in K-1 has learned to write beautifully, can already read simple books, and has worked hard at learning self control. The Teachers and Administration extoll the highest of values and have so successfully helped the children develop a true love of learning. We are really thrilled that we found such a wonderful, loving and richly academic environment in which our children spend these important elementary school years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

Our family is in our fourth year at Carden, and we love the school. It's a terrific community, but we've been especially impressed with how well-rounded the students become. Academically, the curriculum is very advanced, and it's great to watch the kids rise to the challenge. But it's equally impressive to see them learn to love music, art, French, chess, etc. The teachers and the leadership at Carden have far surpassed our expectations!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2007

Our child has been here for three years. Most kids here have grown up in the school, founded just 6 years ago. The families are wonderful, the teachers are warm and involved, and the small class sizes are because it's a startup, not attrition. The principal is straightforward and insightful, and has always been there for us. It is a fantastic, warm school, academically superior, and they grow the whole student and place a priority on good citizenship and character-building. So I am distressed by the first review posted here as it is not at all representative of our experience. Sure, there's a contract; there is at all private schools in the area that I know about. And many unscrupulous schools will routinely tell new parents that their kids are 'behind'-- this helps short-circuit any remorse over a school change and lets them charge more money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2007

We loved this school the first year (pre-kindergarten). The two teachers are experienced and warm. The following year was not at all the same and looking at the upper grades we saw a trend. Less experienced teachers, lots of turn over with many teachers 'leaving for personal reasons' Very poor communication between teachers admin and parents. In fact, they don't want you to ask any questions. They claim the students are above average academically ( we believed the owner who is friendly and seems passionate.) In the end, we see her as the good salesperson. She provides more hugs than substance. Our kids are behind other schools academically despite being in the top group at this Carden. Very few children in upper grade classes - it seems families don't stick around long. Neither did we. They make you sign a contract so you can't leave if you are unhappy. Beware. Look behind the friendly greeting at the door.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Elizabeth Asadi
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1980 Hamilton Avenue
San Jose, CA 95125
Phone: (408) 626-8008

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT