Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Challenger - Harwood

Private | K-8 | 198 students

We are best known for outstanding academics.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $555,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,610.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted September 12, 2011

I am glad to see so many positive things being said about our school on GreatSchools.com. I will use this space to clarify a few points. 1. We are focused on high level academics at Challenger. Our average student scores in the 95th percentile on standardized tests. We are proud that we set the bar high at Challenger. 2. P.E. during the school day focuses on physical fitness, but after school we have many activities to include, but not limited to: soccer, basketball, softball, art, chess, martial arts, science, and Spanish. 3. We have a rigorous screening and hiring process ruling out most applicants. Once hired, we have a comprehensive training program that teaches the new teachers the Challenger curriculum and teaching methodology. Once placed in a class, we have continuous teaching training that hones and refines teaching techniques.

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 16, 2011

I love that I have found such a great school for my daughter! I visited several Challenger schools, and they all seemed nice...but the Harwood campus is the place to go! The campus is just beautiful-the rooms, the landscaping, and the view. The office is friendly and responsive, and the classes are VERY diverse! There is a great mix if Asian, Indian, Caucasian, African-American...even students from around the world like Russia, Holland, etc. My daughter is learning so much, making tons of friends, and having a blast!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

The school focuses on academics and nothing else- children have no flexibility and the atmosphere is very rigid and inflexible. No extracurricular activities and school does not encourage parent involvemnt or input. Would not recommned it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

I believe that teachers are not certified and curriculum is too strict, rigid and does not allow for creative children to flourish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2009

Teachers aren't qualified & there are better public schools out there. They are very poor with math. I would not recommend this school for any grades above 1st.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

My son has been going to Challenger for the past two years and we love it. The curriculum is excellent and the children are very well informed about science, math, geography, literature, etc. My one concern is extra curricular activities such as PE and art. Students have to enroll in extra classes for soccer, art and piano classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

Challenger school is good academically. But they are very poor in extra curricular activities. No speciality teachers for PE, music, ART etc... Many teachers are not well qualified. very poor English accent. If your kid gets good teacher you are lucky!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

This school is wonderful. My son has attended preschool here for two years. He can read small books, his math and science are excellent. Challenger is a leap ahead of other schools. The development of children is a high priority at Challenger. I have had only great experiences. *Note - this is a private school *
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2007

My kid is going to this school as preschooler since she was 2 yr.9 mo. She loves it.. She has made many friends over there and does not stop talking about how much fun she has at school.. Now she want to go for 3 days a week from 2 days a week..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2006

In Kindergarten: PROS: Music daily, science, art, logic, geography every week. Kids reading by first week- very academically challenging. Very diverse. Teachers are kind and professional and seem interested in the individual child and teaching them to be good citizens. Bi-weekly assemblies with whole school. CONS: Academically 'challenging'- perhaps overly so. Supported by parents who value that. They SAT test Kindergarteners! The administration is very rigid. The admin postion is one of 'letting' you be there rather than appreciating you have entrusted your child to them. Allow no parent involvement on campus but expect alot at home. Use really rude and inefficient uniform company. Conclusion: Wonderful teachers, great Saxon math, music, phonics. Very demanding. Admin not glad you are there. Teach good citizenry and independence. Teachers responsive to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Sara Kolb
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Year-round

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4949 Harwood Road
San Jose, CA 95124
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 723-0111

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT