Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Stratford Middle School

Private | 6-8 | 181 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $555,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,610.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 16, 2014

My son has gone to Stratford for middle school. He has blossomed and gained confidence, and built great friendship. The teachers have been very caring and inspiring. He found it challenging in the first semester due to coming from a public school, but picked up quickly. I would highly recommend this school. It is very well balanced academically and with extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2014

Stratford Middle School includes after school activities in the cost of tuition, but my child does not have the time to participate in any of them. He is too busy studying all of the time. Many parents say this, but the teachers and administration deny it. The education is not well-rounded at all. The teachers are caring, but their solution to any problem seems to be to pile more after school work onto the students. The kids are overworked and stressed. On the bright side, the students seem very kind to each other. They seem to have great attitudes towards each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

My child has been at Stratford since Pre-k and now attends the middle school. One thing I notice at the middle school is there is not a school/life balance. There's alot of homework plus studying for tests that is involved on a weekly basis. Unless your child is one that all they like to do is study, then this is the school for you. My child likes to play and be social, but cannot because all they do is study. I'm for working hard, but as a kid you need the weekends to have fun and that is not happening for my child. I've talk to several parents and the consensus is the same. Stratford is a very good school, but there is more to life than studying all the time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

As an alumni who has tried two private schools in Challenger and Stratford, I could not be more proud to have been a Stratford Lion. More academically focused than ever, their top priority is to get students in the right direction for their young futures. They understand what they are doing and they teach well. I have been taught well and I could only wish my teachers had board the ship along with me to join me at Los Gatos High School. Thou shall not exclude a school from their many options until they see it to believe it, and Stratford should always get considerations from families. A great school does not waste a year's worth of time teaching nothing. There is a reason why families pay the money and certainly I am sure the school will make the money paid worth it. I am Josh Kao, a sophomore at Los Gatos High School, and I am certainly proud to have and still be a part of the Stratford Community.


Posted June 10, 2011

Our experience of Stratford over three years of middle school for our child has been unsatisfactory to say the least. The quality of teachers and instruction was hit-and-miss. Teachers used to say things such as "i don't care what you think" to students in front of the entire class. When we complained to the principal, the treatment to our child got even meaner. Arbitrary guidelines, teachers rarely admitting mistakes that were pointed out respectfully and rampant favoritism was the order of the day. Unless your kid can be a straight-A, 4.0 GPA student they will feel invisible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2010

We just joined middleschool here for this year, and so far what I have noticed is although the amount of work has exceeded but my son loves to go to school, everyone is so warm and welcoming, the teachers are all great, curriculum is intertaining , educating but fun, All of us ,new parents worries put to rest after going through back to school night. I am so glad we decided on this school. The atmosphere is very peacful and friendly just like a bigger family setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2010

Very good academically. My child learned more than I expected. Great teachers. Children that have been attending this school since they were young were very unaccepting of newcomers. Not a very warm environment. Disappointed by the lack of parental involvement and inability of administration to step in when an issue needed to be resolved. Cultural favoritism is very obvious on campus - and not in a good way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2010

Great balance between academics and extracurricular activites. Good exposure to outside tournaments, leagues, competitions. All round child devleopment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2010

We love Stratford Middle School. My children have been looking forward to this school, especially the new campus, from their elementary years. The curriculum, teachers and staff have been very supportive. Both my 7th and 6th graders are growing into maturity and their academic skills continue to exceed my expectation. They also love their after school clubs and even homework rooms. We are very happy with Stratford Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

Stratford provides high academic standards that well help prepare my daughter for high school. My daughter is in sixth grade. She feels that the classes are challenging, but manageable. She particpates in variety of clubs and leadership activities that the school offers. The school staff is very friendly and helpful. Most of the kids are well-behaved and supportive of each other. I highly recommend Stratford Middle in San Jose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

The teachers are very dedicated and the school listen to your concern. My son was mediocre in another private school. He came to Stratford in 6th grade and was discovered that he has a knack for math. Now a 7th grader, he is tutoring his highschool sister in her honor Algebra 2 class. Without his teachers' motivation and extra help, he would still be a mediocre kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Maggie Schwartz
Gender
  • Coed

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1718 Andover Lane
San Jose, CA 95124
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 626-0001

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Branham High School
San Jose, CA


Glory of Learning
San Jose, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT