Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Public charter
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 458
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


University Preparatory Academy Charter
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 04, 2015
- a parent
The teachers don't have respect to my child and his friends as he tells me whenever a teacher is bad.

University Preparatory Academy Charter
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted July 04, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers at this school are amazing, when i met them, but my child says that there are some teachers who are horrible at teaching and sometimes disrespect the students, whiling being biased.


University Preparatory Academy Charter
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted July 04, 2015
- a parent
The school is great but my child always complains about how to school rules are "bogus" and do not as much respect the student because if you were to have a school you always value the students opinions and not the teachers.

University Preparatory Academy Charter 2

Posted July 04, 2015
- a parent
The school is amazing here at UPA with all these hard core classes that give my child a boost to the college course, but my child is always stressed with their school work and also never actually give a break to my child because in the summer BREAK they advise you to read the summer books for the english class and other courses wanting them to not take to long to start the school year and start to being your homework on the first three days of school. I have chosen to put a 4/5 star review to this school because UPA may be a great school, but they are pushing the kids to hard with all this stress which might affect a long run to their long term life, for example with all this stress it can cause unbalanced harmonies in the body, shorting of height sprout and make their brain always active and having no constant state at rest. I believe they should only leave summer reading to not happen because of the stress of so much through the school year, and should take account that these students need a real FULL break from school during the summer. Also if they were to continue summer reading it should only be at the most one book per grade level.

University Preparatory Academy Charter
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
It develops loathing of teacher and bureaucrats. It clearly shows what happens at a family run business.


University Preparatory Academy Charter 2

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
Great for some, less so for others. After three years of high school, we will be moving on for senior year, as a lot of other students have done. This year the school has become mired in challenges that have led our Junior to plead for another school. Issues include: 1. An almost complete lack of interest in STEM with no participation in GATE or the other great programs in the region. Their participation in Project Lead the Way is a joke with students often knowing more than the teacher assigned to the class. 2. Ongoing staff turnover that has led to a highly inconsistent learning and classroom environment. 3. Inexperienced staff that believe that punishment is an effective tool in modifying behavior 4. A complete lack of interest in the student as an individual. As "His Excellency" Dan Ordaz is fond of saying, "your child is only one of 500" If your child is one of those who can be driven into the mold, then this might be a great school for you. If you child is growing into a thoughtful adult and developing critical thinking skills, they will have a hard time with the authoritarian and hypocritical discipline.

University Preparatory Academy Charter
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
Too many newbies or those with personal agendas thata force the students into agreement and compliance.

University Preparatory Academy Charter
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
4-6 hours a night is crazy and has been proven NOT to work, but the Executive Director will not hear otherwise


University Preparatory Academy Charter
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
You cannot develop respect at the point of a bayonet. Forcing the students to tug a forelock and submit is pathetic

University Preparatory Academy Charter
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
At the end of the semester, the administration had lost control and was forced to open the gym at lunch to accommodate the more than 10% of the population that was on detention. On detention for what? Lots of dress code violations such as wearing a charcoal grey sweater rather than a black one. Others for being disrespectful or "defiant". Students were given arbitrary discipline with no chance of appeal by "campus supervisors" who themselves failed to meet the dress code. English teachers who force students to write to local politicians to reinforce the teacher's crypto-liberal beliefs and who punished students who refused. And let's not forget that the Executive Director employs several of his family members at the school, so the politics are toxic. Along with a lot of the senior class of 2016, our student elected to leave this mess behind and finish high school elsewhere. Sadly, what started out as a great possibility for a school is going down the drain

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

University Preparatory Academy Charter
2315 Canoas Garden Avenue, San Jose, CA  95125
(408) 723-1839
Last modified University Preparatory Academy Charter is a Charter school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
University Preparatory Academy Charter Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top