Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


University Preparatory Academy Charter 5

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
Great school!! My daughter thinks about college and she's only in 8th grade. I am very happy with the curriculum and the teachers.

University Preparatory Academy Charter
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
Ms. Wustrow, Mr. Hamilton, Mr. Dhillon, Ms. Bennet and Ms. Sebek in the math department for their excitement and patience in teaching math and computer science.


University Preparatory Academy Charter 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
First of all, this is a university prep school as the name implies. The objective is to prepare the middle schoolers early on in 7th and 8th grade to learn to work hard and be effective before they hit their HS freshmen year and ultimately prepare the students to be effective in getting the grades good enough for university entrance and to do well once they get into university.. Expectation for the grads to make it to CSUs and UCs is almost a given and as such the pace is going to be quick. Not all students that enter middle school will graduate and continue to HS and some will have to repeat or drop out. This is actually good for those who are gifted or knows how to work hard and be effective so the pace doesn't get slowed down to the least capable student. If you aren't cut out to work hard, it will be a miserable experience but if you are up to the challenge then you will get all the support from the teachers and administration.

University Preparatory Academy Charter
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 18, 2015
- a student
Thank you Miss Schwinge! You've taught me so much, not only about science, but also about life. Not many teachers would be willing to take time out of their class/day to answer my stupid questions.

University Preparatory Academy Charter
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 04, 2015
- a parent
The teachers don't have respect to my child and his friends as he tells me whenever a teacher is bad.


University Preparatory Academy Charter
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted July 04, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers at this school are amazing, when i met them, but my child says that there are some teachers who are horrible at teaching and sometimes disrespect the students, whiling being biased.

University Preparatory Academy Charter
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted July 04, 2015
- a parent
The school is great but my child always complains about how to school rules are "bogus" and do not as much respect the student because if you were to have a school you always value the students opinions and not the teachers.

University Preparatory Academy Charter 2

Posted July 04, 2015
- a parent
The school is amazing here at UPA with all these hard core classes that give my child a boost to the college course, but my child is always stressed with their school work and also never actually give a break to my child because in the summer BREAK they advise you to read the summer books for the english class and other courses wanting them to not take to long to start the school year and start to being your homework on the first three days of school. I have chosen to put a 4/5 star review to this school because UPA may be a great school, but they are pushing the kids to hard with all this stress which might affect a long run to their long term life, for example with all this stress it can cause unbalanced harmonies in the body, shorting of height sprout and make their brain always active and having no constant state at rest. I believe they should only leave summer reading to not happen because of the stress of so much through the school year, and should take account that these students need a real FULL break from school during the summer. Also if they were to continue summer reading it should only be at the most one book per grade level.


University Preparatory Academy Charter
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
It develops loathing of teacher and bureaucrats. It clearly shows what happens at a family run business.

University Preparatory Academy Charter 2

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
Great for some, less so for others. After three years of high school, we will be moving on for senior year, as a lot of other students have done. This year the school has become mired in challenges that have led our Junior to plead for another school. Issues include: 1. An almost complete lack of interest in STEM with no participation in GATE or the other great programs in the region. Their participation in Project Lead the Way is a joke with students often knowing more than the teacher assigned to the class. 2. Ongoing staff turnover that has led to a highly inconsistent learning and classroom environment. 3. Inexperienced staff that believe that punishment is an effective tool in modifying behavior 4. A complete lack of interest in the student as an individual. As "His Excellency" Dan Ordaz is fond of saying, "your child is only one of 500" If your child is one of those who can be driven into the mold, then this might be a great school for you. If you child is growing into a thoughtful adult and developing critical thinking skills, they will have a hard time with the authoritarian and hypocritical discipline.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

University Preparatory Academy Charter
2315 Canoas Garden Avenue, San Jose, CA  95125-2005
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. (408) 723-1839
Last modified University Preparatory Academy Charter is a Charter school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top