Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
All the teachers I just saw them a big things they give their heart and soul into teaching the kids sake in one on one and you're able to call or text them or come after school or even before school and talk to him so I owe them a big thanks

Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
They give packet of homework for English and math and then online for the Learning Lab but it's really not that much it might seem like a lot but it really isn't and it helps them learn moreThey give packet of homework for English and math and then online for the learning lab but it's really not that much it might seem like a lot but it really isn't and it helps them learn more


Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
Rocketship does not treat any student different than any other student what are they have the learning disability or anything they treat each student like they should be treated with respect and love and care all the teachers take time out and they care about the students

Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
My son who is a kindergarten at rocketship his writing reading was not really good he did not know any of the letters in the alphabet and couldn't really count past 10 just a few months into the school year he's already known as alphabet he can count to 50 is writing has improved and his reading has improved too. He has made lots and lots of friends and made friends with the teachers too and I know a big things to the school

Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
Miss element she help my son out she takes the The time to have one on one with my son my son has learned his alphabet through her I just really AM grateful for her help


Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
I had my little brother at Rocketship Mosaic, when he first got there his writing and reading was extremly low for a 2nd grader he was there for 2 year he grew so much that most of the 4th graders had the first 4th grade graduation and were transferred to higher level school that goes from 5th up to 8th grade that was amazing to see him grow so much, my brother inlaw had a little brother in 7th grade and he could not keep up with my brothers homework while currently in 4th grade he just didn't know a thing about his homework and him being a 7th grader. My Daughter currently attends ROcketship Mateo Sheedy for her 2nd year she is now a 1st grader and even though she started advace al she does is keep on growing and growing she ended K with a first grade academic level and amazing test scores I just love the teaching ways of this school and her awesome literacy teacher Ms.Beckman wich she had for Kinder and now 1st grade I'am more the pleased with all her hard work and with all the ecouragement and the time a patience she dedicates to my daughter I can only speak for my self experiece. Thank You so much Ms.Beckman and RMS

Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elementary School 1

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
My partner and I became guardians of my nephew last year. He came to us after K-3 at Rocketship and then a year at his neighborhood school. I was told by his mother that it was recommended by the administration at Rocketship that she move him to another school. When he came to me last year, he was in 4th grade with a 1st grade reading and math level. He has behavioral problems and was let to sit in the office at Rocketship and not do any work for 4 YEARS. When we were having my nephew evaluated I called the principal and left quite a few messages and she never called me back. Totally not acceptable and totally not accountable. My nephew is a smart kid and we have been able to pull his grades up by 2.5 grades in one year. The moral to this story is unless your child is self motivated and can work independently, do not send them to this school or your child will sit in the classroom and be allowed to not do any work for YEARS with no accountability from Rocketship's administration.

Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2014
- a parent
Mi hijo cursa su cuarto a o en Rocketship MS. Comenzo desde Kinder y ahora esta en 3er grado. Aunque en el comienzo hubieron ciertos contratiempos de caracter de personalidad entre maestros, padres y ninos. Hoy por hoy mi hijo llama a Rocketship "my second home'. Sin contar sus maestros de Kinder, los maestros que ha tenido desde primero hasta ahora han sido buenisimos. Son maestros que sirven como 'role model' con sus acciones y no con sus palabras nada mas. Siempre estan disponibles y tienen un genuino interes por ensenar. Aunque son muy jovenes y tal vez no tengan la suficiente experiencia en el carrera de docente, tienen la preparacion y la pasion por ensenar y dejar una huella positiva en la vida de estos pequenos. El ambiente que hoy se vive es dinamico, profesional y energetico.


Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elementary School 4

Posted August 31, 2014
- a parent
I'm reviewing our initial experience which includes orientation and 1st 2 weeks of Kinder. Before school began, a Welcome Back Park Day was held to meet/greet new teachers. Orientation can be improved by having a Question/Answer session afterwards. I like that a mock 1st day was held only for Kinders. They have a bathroom only to themselves. No other grades are permitted to use it during school hours. The teacher visited us at our home and is available by email/cell/text. She responds ASAP. Lessons are catered to each child's needs. My child so far loves the teacher and school. Teachers / principal are very involved, communicative and energetic. We are greeted virtually every morning with hi-spirited Good Mornings! Very available to parents' questions. High energy level across the board. Principal shows positive leadership and pride in school. Parent involvement is encouraged. I start next week. I would give this school 5 stars if it had shorter days. Bell schedule is 7:50 to 3:50 for all grades. Minimum days end at 1:50. I'm not sure how creative thinking and innovation is encouraged. I was told this is done through the Enrichment program. I will be exploring this further.

Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elementary School 5

Posted February 06, 2013
- a parent
The best experience ever, my girl had speech delay and they want to put her in a special class in public school, I refuse, now she is the student of the month in Mateo Sheedy. I understand many parents wants the kids to be enjoying be at sports have fun, but many at the end are left behind on there education. Mateo Sheedy is hard, but the kids develop so great, and I now my girl in the regular school would not have a chance. The teacher come from Teacher of america association, only the best are there, the came from Stanford, or other great universities, is a great school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elementary School
788 Locust Street, San Jose, CA  95110-2954
(408) 286-3330
Last modified Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elementary School is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top