Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Voices College-Bound Language Academy

Charter | K-3 | 204 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 10, 2014

I love this school! The office is always open for suggestions to make the school better and they care so much about their students. When I first started looking for a school Voices was my first choice. I knew that I wanted my children to be fluent at both Spanish and English. The students are also very well mannered and I believe that is due to the extended grades. Since Voices goes from K-8th the students appreciate their school more and are more united. I definitely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2013

Voices College-Bound Language Academy is the best school for my child. I've sent 3 older children to another bi-lingual school, but Voices is better in so many ways. 1st. The children learn to read in both languages right from kindergarten. 2nd The percentage of Spanish/English instruction which starts at 80/20, increases the amount of English each year so that by 3rd grade, the students are taught equally in both languages. 3rd. The curriculum is challenging and proves that our children are capable of much more that we ever thought. My daughter is so happy at this school and is learning every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

This school has done a GREAT job with my kid that's in 2nd grade. Love the fact that he's learning a lot in both languages and really having confidence in himself. Teachers & staff have been great so far with my son, me and my wife.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2013

I unfortunately agree with the posts below. I used to be so happy of the fact that my child attended Voices because I felt like I was part of a community that cared about helping him. Definitely not what it used to be. My son had three great teachers there and they are gone. Some people are nice but do not know what they are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2013

This school had great teachers, but almost all of them are gone. The principal and Lizette are both rude! They don't have any skills to be working in a school. They show favoritism towards certain parents who help out in school and towards others they are straight out rude. It's no wonder they can't retain their excellent teachers. the mediocre teachers are the one who stick around. I would think about it twice before enrolling my kid in this school. My child attended this school and in 2nd grade made honor roll when she could not even read. How is this possible? I spoke to the principal about certain issues with the 2nd grade teacher and she shut me up and said that was her number one teacher. If that is her number one teacher then I can imagine how are the rest of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2013

Teachers are rude, principal is never available when parents go into the office to compain deal with problems, even when you see here next door. Instead of dealing with the problems she sends her main secretary. What is the principal getting paid if the secretary deals with everything. For a while I thought Lizet was the principal.


Posted May 8, 2011

Simply Amazing! here's the good stuff..My child in nearing the end of her kindergarten year at Voices. She has excelled in so many ways. She knew how to read a only a handful of words at the beginning of the school year, now she reads absolutely everything..she even attempts hard words. Beyond that, she is more intellectual and asks thousands(literally) of questions. Her spanish speaking skills are amazing. We speak only english at home, yet she has become conversational in spanish with her friends at school. She has learned to read/write at least 200 words in both languages combined. The teachers and leadership at this school are something I have never seen before. It's truly a family atmosphere. All issues are addressed immediately, and there are countless opportunities for parent involvement. here's the not so good stuff...Voices is relatively new. The amenities at this school aren't that great. The classrooms are ancient and many of the restrooms are outside. I wish they had more enrichment opportunities for the kids such as field trips. Also, now that I see how much my child can accomplish, I wish they would spend more time pushing children like her beyond their grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

Voices College-Bound Language Academy, a public charter school has the best teachers. They are caring and are focused to stear all their students to a 4 year university. Let's go Stanford Trees!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

I am very pleased with the education my son is recieving at Voices. This is his 2nd year at Voices and he is in the 1st grade. I am very proud as to how much my son has learned in the year and a half he has been there. Voices will be the only school for him until he reaches High School. I am proud to share my son's experience to all I come in contact with expecially those parents who are looking for a better education for their kids. Ms. Teso and staff are committed to higher learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

This is a great school great teachers has a open door policy so if you have a problem you can come in talk to the teacher or principal with out the run around.My children have been here at this school since it opened and have learned so much.I never worry about thier safety while they are at school mrs.Teso is great and very easy to talk to so if you have a problem you dont feel intimadated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

I am absolutely pleased with the level of commitment from all the staff at Voices. My son is a first grader, loves going to school and I am still amazed that he can now read and write in both spanish and english...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

Everyone who works at this school has a passion for educating children and do an amazing job of teaching them what they need to know inside and outside the classroom. The positive vibe of the school keeps the children feeling comfortable and safe which allows them to focus on learning.


Posted September 4, 2008

My son is attending his second year at Voices and loves it. I have nothing but positive things to say about the school and staff. Principal Teso is an amazing leader and fierce advocate for education. Her passion is shared by the staff at the school. I am proud that my son and eventually daughter will complete their K-8 education at Voices.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

896

Change from
2012 to 2013

+37

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

896

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+37

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Females78%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner57%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students76%
Females75%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner79%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate86%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females61%
Males42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate68%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)29%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students83%
Females82%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner83%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate89%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 86% 51%
Asian 7% 11%
Black 5% 7%
White 2% 27%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Frances Teso
Fax number
  • (408) 361-1979

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4075 Sacramento Avenue
San Jose, CA 95111
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 361-1960

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Rocketship Spark
San Jose, CA


Rocketship Spark
San Jose, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT