Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 539
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


A. J. Dorsa Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a teacher
I have seen teachers go above and beyond to teach their students at this school. They write grants, hold fundraisers, and do whatever it takes to give their students the best resources and community experiences.

A. J. Dorsa Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2014
- a parent
Great school, love all the teachers and support staff. My kids have done really good at this school. Ms Duncan has helped us a lot.


A. J. Dorsa Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
I love this school. My child enjoys going to school and loves the staff. The principal really cares about the students and parents. She's very helpful, friendly,and caring. The school is well maintained and provides a friendly and welcoming environment.

A. J. Dorsa Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2013
- a parent
Awesome teachers, safe environment, my children are happy there. Teachers care about their students. Great school!

A. J. Dorsa Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2013
- a parent
My son attends kindergarten here at Dorsa . So far we have been very pleased with the great principal and the caring involved teachers. Ms. Yolanda Villarreal is such a great teacher! We appreciate that she is so accessible. We also enjoy the energy she brings to the classroom that is shared with all of the students. We feel that our son is safe and very well watched over. Overall the school is Wonderful.


A. J. Dorsa Elementary School 5

Posted November 15, 2012
- a community member
The principal of Dorsa Elementary School is competent, experienced, dedicated, and hard working. I am sure the school has great potential with her leadership.

A. J. Dorsa Elementary School 5

Posted December 17, 2009
- a parent
i went there as a kid.. and now my kids are going there... i love dorsa elementary school... they have good teacher as well as the rest of the staff...

A. J. Dorsa Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Dorsa is a school with wonderful children, dedicated and hard working staff, and a focused principal. We will be a Distinguised School this next year.


A. J. Dorsa Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Dorsa utilizes current technology in every classroom and follows the RtI model of literacy instruction which helps to best meet the needs of the population.

A. J. Dorsa Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Dorsa school is a school of LEADERS who work as a team to ensure that all students reach their full potential. Our RtI model is very successful. A group of parent leaders support the school by running after school clubs, volunteer in various activities. The student leaders plan enrichment activities to promote school spirit. A very powerful Newscast program allows 4th and 5t grade students to experience what it takes to prepate and present the daily news, while all the teacher leaders collaborate and engage in powerful activities such as data analysis, cognitive lesson planning for student success.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

A. J. Dorsa Elementary School
1290 Bal Harbor Drive, San Jose, CA  95122
(408) 928-7400
Last modified A. J. Dorsa Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
A. J. Dorsa Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top