Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 494
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Thomas P. Ryan Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2015
- a parent
There are so many different workshops that are offered to parents! My child sees that I am invested in his future. Thank you Ryan School staff for everything you do to make Ryan a great place to be.

Thomas P. Ryan Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
Ryan school is an amazing place to learn. The staff is amazing. Teachers do all they can to help make the students successful. The principal is a great leader and has made many changes. I attended Ryan school and my children also attended. It is a wonderful community of caring people. A place that cares about your student.


Thomas P. Ryan Elementary School 5

Posted March 08, 2014
- a community member
I had the opportunity to visit the school last week and I must say that I was so impressed with Thomas P. Ryan Elementary School. The staff was welcoming, and the students were well behaved and hard workers. 5 Stars!

Thomas P. Ryan Elementary School 1

Posted February 07, 2012
- a parent
The school prepares well for Ocala and eventually Mt Pleasant, but that is about it. Entering a university is unlikely. The entire system needs a complete re-evaluation. Success rate is low. It is too difficult to improve due to budget issues and ongoing challenges of the local community. If you can help it, don't risk your kids. Send them to the west side with acceptable API scores or at least sit down with your kids everyday to advance their learning. If you don't know the material, learn with your kids. It will create a good bond and they will still advance more than doing nothing. Entering a university can be intimidating and discouraging to your child if they aren't prepared.

Thomas P. Ryan Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2012
- a community member
awesome school...i used to go there for elementary now im a freshmen in high school :) i loved that school!


Thomas P. Ryan Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2009
- a teacher
Exceptionally caring wonderful teachers, an amazing supportive principal, fabulous parents, students who are hardworking, bright, kind and industrious = A model school, a safe nurturing place for our precious children

Thomas P. Ryan Elementary School 5

Posted August 15, 2009
- a parent
Excellent teachers, GREAT principal, Magnificent collaboration between teachers, parents, and students. Ryan is a cut above the rest and is truly a place of love and strong community.

Thomas P. Ryan Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2009
- a parent
Thomas Ryan is a great school. The principal is an awsome person constanly striving to organize everything best for all his students.


Thomas P. Ryan Elementary School 2

Posted June 22, 2006
- a parent
I think the school has gotten a little better. I think that the teachers need to ask for more involvement from parents. The school needs to have more activies so that the kids are excited when going to school. The teachers are good people but require more training, in my opinion.

Thomas P. Ryan Elementary School 3

Posted May 04, 2005
- a parent
I think the academic programs have improved over the last 2 years. The school should offer extracurricular activities, but I don't believe they have the budget for the programs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thomas P. Ryan Elementary School
1241 Mcginness Avenue, San Jose, CA  95127
(408) 928-8650
Last modified Thomas P. Ryan Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thomas P. Ryan Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top