Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


William Sheppard Middle School 1

Posted October 11, 2014
- a parent
This school is not a good middle school. While only a little teachers are encouraging, the others show lack in helping and educating the students and only care about getting their pay-check. There is a huge bullying problem at this school and staff has proven time and time again that they do not care about the safety, welfare, and education of the students. Even worse is that the principal and vice principal only worry about getting the best test scores and beating other school's test scores. They put on rallies encouraging kids to do their best for the state tests. How can they if more than half of the teachers aren't competent enough to teach?! They show no effort tying to improve the quality of this school. Parents get little say in the actions of the school, and PTA meetings are a waste of time. My child tells me that the food their is atrocious. She tells me the food the receive is over-processed and unhealthy, like uncooked hot dogs and spaghetti. They never offer healthy vegetables and if they do, it's celery and extremely small cup of coleslaw. One of my biggest regrets is allowing my child to go to this school without doing more research about how horrible this school is.

William Sheppard Middle School 2

Posted August 05, 2014
- a community member
This is school has many bullying issues and I've been here for 2 years and going to 8th grade and my experience was terrible. Each year, there's a food fight and a number of students with behavior problems. Lots of people cut in line and the wait of 30 minutes to go to lunch takes up lunch time. The school is also dirty and the bathrooms are absolutely pathetic. But some of the teachers here actually care and are great at teaching. The only reason that makes them yell all the time is the students who don't shut up. There's going to be a change for the 2014-2015 year for Sheppard which will provide classes like Drama and Art so hopefully this year it won't suck. So all the students coming to Sheppard, don't be one of those kids who don't care about learning and tries too hard to be cool. The only reason why I regret going to this school is because of the society in this school. Good Luck! - from a student
1 person found this helpful


William Sheppard Middle School 3

Posted July 27, 2013
- a community member
This school isn't the best but it isn't the worst either. Some staff are dedicated while others just stand in the background. Some violence has happened around here from my perspective. The staff here are like the students here: some are dedicated while others are just struggling. The one thing this school and staff are trying to do is deal with the recent and constant changes that has been happening in the district and this state. Anyways this school has some really good potential. They have been number one when it comes to star testing. Highest score out of 800 which is very impressive. So there are some really good things and there are some things that I wish were taken into consideration. Nothing more nor less to be said
1 person found this helpful

William Sheppard Middle School 1

Posted July 26, 2013
- a parent
This school is the worst, bullying is a big problem, when brought to the staff's attention nothing is done it just gets worst. Also, no help for grade improvement. VERY Poor School

William Sheppard Middle School 1

Posted October 12, 2012
- a community member
Worst school i have ever been to. Got bullied for three years. The teachers are ****.


William Sheppard Middle School 5

Posted March 21, 2011
- a community member
i currently attempt sheppard it is awesome!!! we have advisory which means that if your a good student you get a fun class like an elective i have drums rite now! i love it! if u dont get a fun class they give u a helping class which helps you in math or what ever you need help in the schools staff is great they are fast and do everything rite away! the principals are very dedicated Mrs. Almason is great she gives advise when you need it. Mrs. Zarmianto is great also. they both go to our games and cheer for the schools team ( specially Mrs. zarmianto she has a loud voice that really gets you going in the game :) ] all the teachers are very helpful and very nice!
1 person found this helpful

William Sheppard Middle School 4

Posted January 26, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

William Sheppard Middle School 5

Posted August 02, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


William Sheppard Middle School 5

Posted June 30, 2009
- a parent
this school has great scores. they have lots of great students who have positive personalities

William Sheppard Middle School 1

Posted October 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

William Sheppard Middle School
480 Rough And Ready Road, San Jose, CA  95133
(408) 928-8800
Last modified William Sheppard Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
William Sheppard Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top