Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Noble Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $449,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 20, 2013

At Noble, the teachers are committed, enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Noble also has a very supportive and active PTA. The school is strong in its ethnic and cultural diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2013

My daughter (in first grade) LOVES the school. She loves her teachers in Kindergarten and the first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2013

Noble is a well diversified school in terms of students, teachers and staffs. Noble strikes a good balance between academic and other core competency development. The teachers are very nice, easy to communicate, responsible, diligent and surprisingly talented in different areas such as music. Noble has a very strong and active PTA too. My kids love to go to Noble school everyday. Noble rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

Noble rocks! Great school, teachers, administrators, and staff! I love that the school has its own garden and that the kids can pick and snack from it. Definitely a great place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

As a parent of a third grader and a Kindergardener at Noble Elementary, I am happy to say that I am very happy and grateful for our teachers' strong commitment to raise the bar for my kids education. Also, I cannot praise enough our Principal Mrs. Ortiz who is always available to answer parents' questions and concerns and who is supported by great school staff. I cannot praise enough Mrs. Diana and Mrs. Cindy, our front office staff. They always greet everybody with a big and go out of their way to help. I am also very happy to see that our school runs great programs like Project Cornerstone, parents' workshops on safety, education and nutrition. It takes a village to raise our children and Noble Elementary is the heart of our strong community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

My older daughter just started Kindergarten here this year, and we love it! The teachers and staff are amazing, and we have a very invested PTA. Noble offers many opportunities not found at other schools. I can't wait to see what this year holds!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2013

My kids go to Noble Elementary school. This is an excellent school. It is amazing that most parents are involved in their kids education. This is more than school to me. It is a community where evyerone works together for the betterman of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

We moved from Texas to California in 2010 in the middle of the school year and found the schools zoned to us, Ruskin as well as majestic were both full. My daughter had the option of going to Noble and then transferring after a year.By the end of the year, she did not want to move to Majestic. She was very comfortable at Noble and the teachers were great. The PTA president as well as the Principal were also very involved with kids at the school. My daughter had mrs Dalal and mr.blaine in 3rd grade. Both are fabulous teachers. Coming from a blue ribbon school in Texas, I am disappointed in the overall school system in California but we are very happy at Noble. It is also necessary for the parents to be actively involved in their child's school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

Noble Elementary is a wonderful school. My daughter is thriving there. The teachers care very much about their students. The parents at our school are very involved. We have worked very hard in the last couple of years to bring the whole community together, and it shows in increased turnout at community events!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Noble Elementary has a fantastic PPP (Parent Participation Program) and very active parents. The parents have stepped in to add a garden as well as a very unique Green program that has won awards and grants for the school. The teachers are patient, involved and engaged with the kids and parents. Unfortunately there has been a new principal every two years. Hopefully that will change!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

Noble School is the selected school for the Parent Participation Program for the Berryessa Union School District. I find the teachers, parents and students very involved and caring. It has been a pleasure being involved in this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

This school is average, nothing special as some has exaggerated. I have moved to a better school and could see a great difference between a real good school and a average one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2009

You won't know how little your children are learning until you moved to a better school . That's what I did and both my chiildren now had better classmates and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2009

The person who said Noble is horrible is totally wrong. I believe the yard duties are fine. It is a fine school, with many activities that will help the children socially. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2008

My child has been at Noble for 5 years. This is one of the BEST in the district. Highly recommend. It's also adjacent to Noble Park and Noble Public Library which is very convenient for homework projects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

Noble is a good school; nice teachers, nice students and it locates in a very peaceful and quiet neighborhood. My child loves this school and her teacher. Only little one thing I concern is my child have so little of homework, I wonder if that will put an effect on school' API and student's learning/development in the future, although my child is currently doing great with her grades. Beside that everything of Noble is very positive. We are proud Noble Elem. parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

This school is horrible. My son has had a bad experience. The yard duties are bad, many parents have made complaints to the principal, and he has not taken any action. I will not be sending my son here next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

Noble is a wonderful school. My daughter and son loves attending Noble. The school has a very warm and caring environment. The teachers are all very dedicated to the students and the parent involvement really make Noble an excellent place for a child to learn. My daughter who is currently in the 5th grade in Mrs. Ford's class loves it. My son is in Mrs. McCelland's class. We switched from private school to public school this year and what a waste of money. They are getting so much more here at Noble. Thank you teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

My daughter started kindergarten 3 weeks ago. So far we have been very pleased with the teacher involvement, her initial assessment, and the time structure. We also like the option of early vs late bird. We highly recommend noble school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2006

My daughter's experience at Noble has been very positive. She enjoys school and her peers everyday. I have been very impressed with all of her teachers dedication and training. There is more to an education than an API score. Noble values a well rounded child. I appreciate knowing she is receiving the best education available near her home.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

894

Change from
2012 to 2013

+8

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

894

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+8

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Females74%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asian80%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner73%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students78%
Females81%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner81%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females71%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asian77%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner56%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate72%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students86%
Females89%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner94%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students78%
Females83%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asian77%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner40%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females81%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner68%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)84%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females78%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students71%
Females73%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino18%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner39%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate78%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students79%
Females83%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner56%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 55% 11%
Hispanic 17% 52%
White 13% 26%
Two or more races 11% 3%
Black 3% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3466 Grossmont Drive
San Jose, CA 95132
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 923-1935

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Victor School
San Jose, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT