Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Summerdale Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $449,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 18, 2014

Summerdale was one of the worse schools I've ever had to deal with. Best move was moving my child from that school and paying for him to attend private. Front office staff was rude and so glad that I never have to deal with them again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2014

I am very pleased that my son is attending Summerdale school, he went to kindergarten there;home work , ST math and RAZ kids all those things help a child completely understand everything they learn not just superficial knowledge. My sons teacher Miss Gee was very nice and her way of teaching was very good, I am so glad that my kids are getting private school kind of education but free of any tuition from Summerdale elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2012

Our children are very happy at Summerdale. We have a 2nd grader and a 5th grader. The are both challenged with the work and I feel that I have great access to the teachers and the Principal. This school doesn't just say they care about the children, they show it it how they teach and work with the community. Excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

The Teachers, Principal and the staffs are wonderful here at Summerdale! My son was transferred from another school and he just loves going school here. I help out in class once a week and love the dedication from the teachers and how organized they are. They plan out their day and always on top of things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2012

I think this school is just AMAZING. Who else is with me? I think this school deserves a better rating. WHOS WITH ME NOW?!?!?!?


Posted February 1, 2012

My son has been going since 1st grade and have a great foundation. The principal and teachers are wonderful .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

We have great experienced teachers in Summerdale!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

I love this school... the teacher done a incredible job for there students. And the principal work hard for every kids needs. Thanks so much
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2010

Excellent staff and program. My fifth grade student is being challenged and is having an excellent year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Love the school! My daughter is in 2nd grade, and this is her 1st year at Summerdale. We are pleased with the ciriculum and the extra-curricular activities. The principal is very approachable and amiable. The after-school rec is also an awesome program and it's free!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

I believe in great success for all students whom attend Summerdale Elementary. I have 5 boys and 3 of them have been to a few different Elementary schools. I can honestly say that Summerdale is the best school for us thus far. The teachers are great. The principal is more then accomodating. She is very soft spoken and just handles everything. She is amazing. I give her a lot of credit for the work she accomplishes and how she goes about doing it. Let's just say that the Summerdale staff is a great bunch of people. They show much concern and see to it that the students learn their cirriculum. The PTA is not real big but we get the job done. The parents that do get involved I want to say Thank You. I am very greatful to be a part of Summerdale School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2006

This is great school and had top quality teachers. New principal this year is enthusiastic. My son now in third grade. And I have been very impressed with all his teachers dedication and training.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

My child attended a summer pre-kindergarten program. I'm glad that this program was available to her, as it helped her to adjust to the school, teachers, and a routine of going to school. The kindergarten teachers were very nice to her and seemed knowledgeable. The school, though going through renovations, seemed to be very inviting as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2005

The quality of academic programs is up to par especially regarding educational areas in music, sports and other extracurricular activities. The parents are highly involved what quality of education their children receive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

I really enjoyed Summerdale Elementary as a young boy because the teachers and staff were always so heartwarming in their profession. Its hard to find quality teachers that care about their students the way that the staff at Summerdale does. They really showed me they cared and wanted me to succeed. If I needed help, they would set aside some time in order to help me understand what the subject in which I was struggling. Also, the teachers became more than just teachers to me, they became one of my parents. They acted as though I was one of their children (in essence I was/am) and they taught each of us from the heart...not just from the book. Summerdale is an extrodinary school that has beyond and out of the ordinary to teach wonderful students with wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 15, 2005

I liked Summerdale for my child. She learned alot and the teachers were all great. I felt like this school was a very positive stepping stone to her future years of school. Everytime I went to parent's night or the awards ceremony, I seen a lot of parents there. My daughter played violin there also; but she did not do any sports except what they did in pe. She is now in 6th grade and she still misses her teachers and the principal at Summerdale.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2004

Excellent school! teachers, and staffs are immaculate! my first grader daughter started this school with limited reading knowledge. Within 3 months, she's a reader. School principal, mr. Kin, is very caring and great with the students. Every school should have caring teachers and principal like summerdale elem. I'm glad my children attend summerdale school. Go summerdale!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2004

Summerdale School is an excellent little school that is in the process of growing. It is a good thing that the school is small because it gives the teachers more of an oppurtunity to interact with my children. I am a mother of 6 and all 6 of my children have attended Summerdale School. My youngest 2 are still attending there (5th and 7th grades) I am very satisfied with Summerdale School and they need to keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2003

I was very disappointed with the school year 2002-03 for my 3rd grader. I asked him what he learned, he said nothing. He was not challenged, his homework was very easy. He went 5 to 6 weeks without any home work. I had to make him do additional work at home to keep him from getting lazy.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

860

Change from
2012 to 2013

-12

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

860

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-12

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females70%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asian77%
Filipino75%
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner68%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students78%
Females72%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian87%
Filipino84%
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner77%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females63%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asian76%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner60%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate58%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students83%
Females73%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner81%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate64%
Parent education - high school graduate77%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Females73%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asian88%
Filipino50%
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner59%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students75%
Females70%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asian88%
Filipino71%
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner67%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate75%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Females84%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipino53%
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate69%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students67%
Females71%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipino53%
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students62%
Females65%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asian87%
Filipino53%
Hispanic or Latino24%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 44%
Hispanic 27%
Two or more races 8%
White 3%
Black 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/AN/A
English language learners 45%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Patty McDonald
Fax number
  • (408) 937-4923

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1100 Summerdale Drive
San Jose, CA 95132
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 923-1960

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Victor School
San Jose, CA



Merryhill School
San Jose, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT