Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 38 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


39 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bagby Elementary School 3

Posted October 01, 2010
- a parent
I agree the teacher experience at Bagby is excellent. However, the administration and leadership is lacking. Discipline and guidance around pick-up and drop-off, while improved this year, remains subpar compared to other schools my children have attended. Programs such as "walk and roll" are given lip service only. Two attempts to contact those in charge of the program, including the principal, have been left unanswered. Leadership, specifically the principal, does not take responsibility for the experience of each child. The "buck" is passed and excuses are given. If you want your child to benefit from all the school has to offer, I suggest you make yourself intimately involved with administration. Your child will easily get overlooked otherwise. The principal appears to being concerned with addressing the bare minimum. Hopefully, the excellent teachers will not be alienated by the poor leadership.

Bagby Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
Wonderful community. Teachers are superb. Safe, happy environment. Principal has strong leadership skills. Academic and enrichment programs are fantastic.


Bagby Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is just finishing her kindergarten year at Bagby. She has an amazing experience. The teachers go well above and beyond. There is constant communication with the teachers and parents. The parent involement is huge. The front office is warm and helpful. We are very fortunate to be part of the Bagby family.

Bagby Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 21, 2009
- a parent
My children attend Bagby and I have been very pleased with the school. The teachers, with just a few exceptions, are fantastic, and the parent participation is high. The Home & School Club is very well run and has made greater effort in the last year to be more inclusive. While the school administration has in the past been regarded by many as somewhat stand-offish and abrasive, they are, in my opinion, improving in their responsiveness to parents, though there is room for improvement. Test scores, for what they're worth, are also consistently the highest in the district. I give the school very high marks.

Bagby Elementary School 5

Posted July 14, 2009
- a parent
My twin daughters have attended Bagby for Kinder and 1st grade. Both years they have had exceptional teachers. The school community is wonderful. There is very high parent participation and so many ways to be involved. We feel so incredibly fortunate to have Bagby as our home school. We look forward to the years ahead.


Bagby Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Bagby Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
Amazing hardly descibes this school. From the administration to the teachers and support staff, they consistently deliver. The leadership is passionate about ALL students, and the success of each child is kept in constant view. My entire family feels very lucky to be part of this community.

Bagby Elementary School 4

Posted July 15, 2008
- a parent
Overall, this school is better than average. As previously noted, the leadership can be very cliquish, inconsistant, and lacking in ability to work 'with' the parents. There is much improvement that is yet to be realized but in comparison with other schools in the area, this school is above par. The teachers are wonderful for the most part and parents are very involved in the classrooms and in general. The play areas need some attention especially the main wooden barrier which is bound to cause serious injuries due to loose boards and erroding wood with sharp wooden spikes sticking out everywhere.


Bagby Elementary School 4

Posted May 30, 2008
- a parent
Great families!! Most of the teachers are fantastic. Leadership is lacking, abrasive, and intimidating. The school health aide needs some lessons in compassion.

Bagby Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2008
- a parent
I love Bagby and better yet so does my son!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bagby Elementary School
1840 Harris Avenue, San Jose, CA  95124
(408) 377-3882
Last modified Bagby Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bagby Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top