Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Blackford Elementary School

Charter | K-5 | 625 students

Our school is best known for it's Multi Cultural Community

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 27, 2011

We are new to this area and this school. I have been impressed with the leadership I've seen at the school. Mrs. Middlebrooke has a strong plan and set goals for the school, and there are many more programs here than any other school I've been a part of. The teachers my students have are wonderful. The school grounds have made a drastic transformation in the months we've been attending. Overall, I think Blackford is improving from previous reviews and I have enjoyed getting involved with the PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2011

My old daughter just left Blackford last year and my younger daughter is attending this year in 5th grade. I just started last year in volunteering at the school. Here they have strong committees like: ELAC, Project Cornerstone, Los Dichos de la Casa and ABC's Reader program, PTA, School Site Council and others. All the staff are very nice,helpful and understanding. As for a parent to say, " it took the principle alot of strength, courage, wisedom and love for the children to be able turn around the school and have a 55 point growth in the API. The principle, teachers and staff did a GREAT job. What I noticed this year are many new intervention programs to help the children and a new P.E program Play Works. Its going to be a great year and I can't wait to see what else is coming to the school. I almost forgot the school its self got a New Look. I am so glad that im a Blackford Parent and my daughter comes here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2010

This is the third year for our child going to Blackford elementarty school. So far we like the school especially the new Principal (Mrs. Middle Brooke) She is very friendly and easy to talk to every time we have questions. We also like the student of the month award they provided. It encourages the students to be motivated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

This school is absolutely horrible. If you like your kids to be beaten up on a regular basis this is the place to go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

The new principal Mrs. Middlebrook has only been at Blackford for 8 weeks and there have been many improvements to the campus. Mrs Middlebrook speaks fluent Spanish and is very well liked by the parents and the children.


Posted November 6, 2009

Looking forward to a brighter future with our new Principal. She has done so many outstanding changes in ONLY 8 weeks. She brings a new vision to our school that is destined for success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

Good school but poor hygeine conditions. Cleanliness of the school premise, students eating area, bathrooms, staff room and toilets recommended. The custodians in this school needs to do a better job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

My daughter had gone to Blackford from k-5 grade, and my son started going there last year. There have been a few communication problems (I wanted more communication from the teacher), but it was resolved quickly. I think the school is really a great school and we have been lucky to have such caring teachers. I wouldn't have my kids go to any other school. I'm very happy with the education they are receiving and they like to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

Hello, My kids been going to Blackford Elem about 6 months now and I cn say from the other schools in San Jose my kids have been to Blackford is the very best!!! Kids love it, i love it!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I love my son and daughters teachers! They have been amazing. I have had very bad experiences with the principle of this facility, Matt Nagel, and am moving my children to a school with more appropriate leadership . This is actually the first time I have met someone in education who actually acts like they do not like kids. I was in the office one day and he was talking to a teacher in a very degrading way, I was personally embarrassed for him. Like I said...it has a good staff, caring teachers, but poor leadership and I am sure this start effecting the staff and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2007

I am pleased with Blackford and the teachers. Both my children love going here. My sons teacher even gives us a talking to if we send not-too-heathly snacks which keeps us on track. They are both thriving!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

I love this school, the teacher my daughter got last year as k student was great. My daughter struggled at the beginning of the year, but with help from her teacher we got her to become very outgoing and even was student of the month. By the end of year she was already at a almost 2nd grader level. cant wait for this year to begin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

I was very happy about blackford i think they need to improve a little more but GO BOBCATS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2007

I have a special-need kid and Blackford has been wonderful to him. Both the teachers and kids are so loving and helpful. My son has grown a lot both academically and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2006

I think Blackford Elementary is fantastic. Great teachers. Wonderful after school programs, too! The teachers and staff really reach out to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2006

Not impressed w/ the faculty or how they handle communicating with children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2006

Diversity of children and cultures. Strong PTA. Dedicated teachers. Afterschool program is helpful. Art/Music programs are weak.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

My daughter has been in the campbell school district for about 4yrs and I think they are one of the best by far, keep our kids striving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2005

Once a school with problems, a friend told me that they are making attempts to bring back up to par.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

I think blackford has been a very well lead school since Mrs. Zimmer has been principal. I enjoyed her leadership and involement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

784

Change from
2012 to 2013

+24

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

784

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+24

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
17%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students43%
Females49%
Males37%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)40%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability43%
English learner45%
Fluent-English proficient and English only40%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate53%
Parent education - high school graduate39%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate17%
Parent education - declined to state25%

Math

All Students59%
Females63%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner59%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate63%
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate33%
Parent education - declined to state33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students28%
Females34%
Males23%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino16%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability28%
English learner2%
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate18%
Parent education - high school graduate11%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduate38%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students60%
Females61%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner51%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females55%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner20%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students63%
Females62%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduate53%
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females73%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate69%
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students84%
Females81%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learner69%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate69%
Parent education - high school graduate88%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students88%
Females85%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learner69%
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate85%
Parent education - high school graduate81%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 68%
Black 8%
White 8%
Asian 7%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/AN/A
English language learners 52%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Orthopedic impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:35 am
School end time
  • 2:50 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • James Crawford
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (408) 341-7110

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Orthopedic impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • flag football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • flag football

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1970 Willow Street
San Jose, CA 95125
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 978-4675

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Eitz Chaim Academy
Los Gatos, CA


Sage Vista School
San Jose, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT