Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

625 students|Campbell Union
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
50 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 72 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Blackford Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted February 07, 2016
- a parent
The teachers I encountered were nice but they are afraid of the administrators and the principles therefore they cannot and will not protect your children

Blackford Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted February 07, 2016
- a parent
I don't know because my daughter was never given homework to complete at home she was forced to stay after school and finish all her homework


Blackford Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted February 07, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has extreme ptsd after being verbally assaulted and abused by the principle on multiple occasions

Blackford Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 07, 2016
- a parent
My daughter was verbally abused by the principle on multiple occasions and bullied by students to the point that she still has ptsd

Blackford Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 07, 2016
- a parent
Horrible staff and administration. They care more about protecting violent staff members and mean children then the defenseless


Blackford Elementary School 1

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
My advice, if you have a choice, do not allow your children to attend here. Terrible office staff who have bad attitudes. My son is always getting hurt during recess only to find out that "no one saw" so nothing is done about being kicked, pushed, tripped. If I had a choice to change schools I would do it in a heartbreat. Read these reviews!!

Blackford Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
My children have been at this school for the past 2 school years. It is by far one of the best elementary schools that my children have ever attended and I look forward to the 2015-2016 school year!

Blackford Elementary School 4

Posted May 14, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and administrators at Blackford make a huge effort to make it a successful school. The parent community is improving with each year that we attend. We have been attending for 3 years, attending grades tk, k, 1, 2, 3, and 4 between 3 children. I firmly believe that a lot of experiences depend on your attitude and involvement. I spend a lot of time on campus volunteering. Our public schools won't get better until parents shift their mindset and send their kids to public schools. As long as you are involved, your child will get a great education and have a good experience.


Blackford Elementary School 4

Posted April 26, 2015
- a parent
As we are finishing up our fourth year at Blackford with many more to go, I am still so impressed with all of the improvements happening at this school. The staff is so committed to making our children's experience not only positive but productive and successful. I have a tremendous amount of praise for the office staff and how they manage the day to day business of our school. The principal and her staff have set the tone and created a community committed to making Blackford a neighborhood school you would be proud to send your child to. We are looking forward to another great year next year!

Blackford Elementary School 4

Posted April 26, 2015
- a parent
I am a parent of a 1st grader...I have been very happy here at Blackford. We are very involved in the school and PTA, which by the way is amazing. They have done such a great job creating a community within Blackford. It's not perfect but its improved leaps and bounds from prior years. The staff has been wonderful and both teachers we've had are amazing and so caring. I had hesitations coming in at kinder, but those were long gone the first day of school...we felt happy to be part of Blackford and continue to feel that way...and being involved makes it all worth while. Go Bobcats!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Blackford Elementary School
1970 Willow Street, San Jose, CA  95125-5241
(408) 978-4675
Last modified Blackford Elementary School is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Blackford Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 72 reviews. Top