Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

554 students|Campbell Union
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

As the current administrator of Blackford I am so incredibly honored to work at this school. Our students, parents, and community are absolutely wonderful and the staff cares about each and every student and how to best meet their needs. Starting as a classroom teacher, then an instructional coach, assistant principal, and now principal, my belief in this school only gets stronger each year. I truly believe that all children have the right to a high quality education where they can learn, know they are valued and important, and can achieve their goals and dreams no matter what circumstances. I love the opportunity to talk with our parents and community members and encourage consistent communication and therefore have an open door policy. I can not imagine a more wonderful school to be a part of.
February 11, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 94 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Blackford Elementary School 1

Posted May 27, 2016
- a teacher
I was treated poorly when I worked here and bullied not only by other teachers but by the principal as well.

Blackford Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2016
- a teacher
As a teacher, I have never worked at a school with such strong and caring administration and with such high morale among staff and students. The staff is comprised of individuals who care deeply about the students and work hard to provide an environment where every one of them can succeed. In addition to the exceptional team, the school offers numerous programs and support services that many other schools do not. These include Project Cornerstone - Los Dichos, Brazilian Drumming, Playworks, and EMQ Families First, just to name a few. Come see for yourself all the great things that are happening here!


Blackford Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
Blackford staff continually supports and genuinely cares about each student. I've seen it first hand not only with my kids but with others as they smile and laugh and interact with various teachers and staff. I've seen students take tremendous pride in their work, whether it be a science project or any STEAM based assignment or recognition at a RAR assembly.

Blackford Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
Blackford is our neighborhood school and we take such pride in sending our kids to this wonderful school. I see the previous reviews where it seems some families have had issues. It makes me sad to hear that but I must say that I strongly disagree with any statement regarding the staff and administrators being anything but amazing. Our five years at Blackford have been really great. Any school will have issues and Blackford is no exception. The difference is the amount of care and concern that goes into taking care of our kids and making sure they have every opportunity to thrive. Biggest difference you can make as a parent is to stay involved in your child's academic journey. It has made a tremendous impact on my kids and their success and even the failures. If you are considering Blackford, I urge you to come meet the principal and staff. I know you will be so very pleased. Our school can only get better if our neighborhood gives it a fair chance. And beyond my opinion, both my kids love Blackford!

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
As the current administrator of Blackford I am so incredibly honored to work at this school. Our students, parents, and community are absolutely wonderful and the staff cares about each and every student and how to best meet their needs. Starting as a classroom teacher, then an instructional coach, assistant principal, and now principal, my belief in this school only gets stronger each year. I truly believe that all children have the right to a high quality education where they can learn, know they are valued and important, and can achieve their goals and dreams no matter what circumstances. I love the opportunity to talk with our parents and community members and encourage consistent communication and therefore have an open door policy. I can not imagine a more wonderful school to be a part of.
Posted February 11, 2016


Blackford Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
We love Blackford! It has been a great school for my daughter for the past 3 years!

Blackford Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
We are in our 3rd year at Blackford and we couldn't be happier. All the staff (teachers and office) have been amazing and friendly. My daughter enjoys going to school everyday and has loved every single day because she enjoys being with her friends and teacher. Being a parent and being involved in the Blackford community is a bonus...there are so many positives to it...I strongly suggest every parent volunteer their time to really see how amazing Blackford is and how hard they work to make this an amazing school for everyone!

Blackford Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
My 4th grade daughter has had pretty severe anxiety issues about school since the beginning of the school year, even though this is her 4th year to attend Blackford. The principal, vice principal, counselor, teacher, and other staff members have been great about helping us work through the issues, sometimes on a daily basis. It's mid February and I think we're finally on the other side. As with any situation, communication is key. THe staff and teachers at Blackford are always willing to help you through your problems or give you resources.


Blackford Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted February 07, 2016
- a parent
The teachers I encountered were nice but they are afraid of the administrators and the principles therefore they cannot and will not protect your children

Blackford Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted February 07, 2016
- a parent
I don't know because my daughter was never given homework to complete at home she was forced to stay after school and finish all her homework

Nearby schools

Blackford Elementary School
1970 Willow Street, San Jose, CA  95125-5241
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 94 reviews. (408) 978-4675
Last modified Blackford Elementary School is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top