Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 1,160
 

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Del Mar High School 5

Posted January 12, 2015
- a parent
My son is a freshman at Del Mar, and has been so excited to take advantage of the opportunities he's found at Del Mar! He's involved in community service through the Key Club (affiliated with Kiwanis), is active in Model UN, and a couple of other clubs. He has been totally accepted, even though he's a nerdy kid, totally not athletic. He came home from Middle School having seen the presentation about the IB program being established at Del Mar, and he wanted in! He's stayed enthusiastic and motivated, is getting very good grades, and is developing into an awesome member of the community, both at school and in general!

Del Mar High School 5

Posted June 20, 2011
- a parent
Hi, Respected Sir / Madam, I am from India planning to settle in california san jose as my husband is already a doctor at national institute. i have a daughter she is 15 years and she is in class x. how do i get her admission in your school would like to know the procedure.can she get her admission in class xi?i have gone through the net to see the records of the schools in san jose but i found your school good in all around. please help me regarding this factor. Best wishes Lipi Biswas


Del Mar High School 4

Posted January 11, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attended Del Mar her freshman year and had a great educational experience. The teachers really seemed to care about the individual students and helping them to succeed. The "Small earning communities" idea was very good at helping the teachers learn about the students, enabling kids to stay on track and to meet fellow students. The block schedule was great at alleviating too much homework. The only negative was the student body overall which seemed to have a lot of under motivated kids and parents not involved. Due to a move, my daughter now goes to Leland which is ranked very high academically (I believe through no fault of the teachers who mostly seem interested in the A/P students. ) Spirit is very good and the school is very safe. Pressure to excel is high. .

Del Mar High School 5

Posted April 23, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Del Mar High School 5

Posted December 10, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Del Mar High School 3

Posted December 31, 2008
- a community member
As of this year, I am no longer a parent of a student at Del Mar. However, I was concerned last year that kids got out of school about 1:30 PM (school started at 8:00 AM). That seems to be to be really short for a normal student day. I am also concerned because most of us parents don't get home until 5:30 PM and I think four hours of unsupervised time for 14 to 16 years olds is asking for trouble. I know too many pregnant girls in my neighborhood.

Del Mar High School 5

Posted April 18, 2008
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Del Mar High School 5

Posted March 25, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Del Mar High School 5

Posted February 16, 2008
- a student
im a senior at Del Mar high school and im really proud to say that Del Mar is now one of the best schools. It is now a distinguished school and its changing the bad reputation that the media gave it in past years. Im proud to say that I have a 4.16 GPA and its all thanks to the great teachers at Del Mar.

Del Mar High School 1

Posted February 07, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Del Mar High School
1224 Del Mar Avenue, San Jose, CA  95128
(408) 626-3403
Last modified Del Mar High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Del Mar High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top