Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 1,619
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Leigh High School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
This all depends on the inidividual teachers. Some teachers encourage their students to put in 100% where other teachers do not have the want or the time to put that kind of effort into their students.

Leigh High School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
They are trying and I hope to see more of this on the campus with those students that attended Camp Everytown. I hope the high school uses these Camp Everytown attendees as ambassadors on the campus to promote empathy among all groups on campus.


Leigh High School 3

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
I believe the school staff tries but they are short staffed and seemed to be overwhelmed. I have a son with a moderate learning disability. Unfortunately, he has fallen through the cracks and not received the instruction needed. Each teacher uses school loop differently, if they use it all, which makes it extremely difficult for a parent to help their child stay on top of tasks.

Leigh High School 2

Posted November 29, 2014
- a parent
The reviews describing Leigh High school's management are spot on. My son attended Leigh 08-12. The staff do their best and many are very good. But the poor leadership has created an evironment that keeps quality education mediocre at best. My son was accepted some very good universities but still struggled as a freshman. He is a junior now and is thriving now and on track to graduate on time thanks to his own hard work. The folks who give this school 5 stars are not seeing the whole picture. The administrative change occurring at Leigh is validation of this review and other sub-standard reviews. Leigh has been a very good school in years past and I believe it will be again one day.
1 person found this helpful

Leigh High School 2

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
Leigh High School is currently going through administrative changes. This is good as the past four years have been less than stellar for the staff and the students. Despite any glowing reviews posted, Leigh is not a good environment for students that are unable to be self-taught or independent learners. Departments are constantly changing their rules and processes. The Math department is horrible. There are only two teachers truly qualified to teach. The rest could care less about being there or take any interest in their students. Consistency does not exist. I would highly recommend reconsidering sending your children to Leigh. Attend both school and District meetings to get a better understanding. Ask recent grads and parents before you send your children to this school.
1 person found this helpful


Leigh High School 4

Posted June 17, 2014
- a parent
Even though this is a large high school, it has a small school feel. The teachers are great and have a geniune sense of community and care for our students.

Leigh High School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a community member
Out of the 3 high schools I've been to, Leigh is by far the best one! The teachers I am fortunate enough to have are caring & for the most part good at what they do, with a few exceptions. Unlike a lot of the schools in the Bay Area, Leigh trusts their students enough to provide them with lockers which I believe says a lot. Because of the nice facilities, outstanding teachers, and tremendous amount of school spirit, every student at Leigh is privileged to go to such a fantastic school.

Leigh High School 5

Posted January 30, 2014
- a community member
I hope that these parents that post negative comments about Leigh High school are going directly to the Principal, Administration Offices and the District Superintendent to register their complaints. In addition, If all parents participated/supported the school and communicated with the above contacts this would help the school to improve in the right direction. Parent participation is not high at this school in comparison to other High API scoring schools nearby. Are you participating and contributing to making this a better school? A grandparent of a student at Leigh High.


Leigh High School 1

Posted January 29, 2014
- a parent
1 counselor per 900 students, administration is non-responsive regarding individual students issues. Was a great school 10 years ago. Wouldn't recommend Leigh for 2014. Needs new management and new Honors level teachers.

Leigh High School 4

Posted August 11, 2013
- a parent
Sartorette Elementary is an excellent school with caring teachers and staff. Though they have used their funds wisely, they still face the same challenges every school faces in CA.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Leigh High School
5210 Leigh Avenue, San Jose, CA  95124
(408) 626-3405
Last modified Leigh High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Leigh High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 87 reviews. Top