Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 71 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


79 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Leigh High School 2

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
Leigh High School is currently going through administrative changes. This is good as the past four years have been less than stellar for the staff and the students. Despite any glowing reviews posted, Leigh is not a good environment for students that are unable to be self-taught or independent learners. Departments are constantly changing their rules and processes. The Math department is horrible. There are only two teachers truly qualified to teach. The rest could care less about being there or take any interest in their students. Consistency does not exist. I would highly recommend reconsidering sending your children to Leigh. Attend both school and District meetings to get a better understanding. Ask recent grads and parents before you send your children to this school.

Leigh High School 4

Posted June 17, 2014
- a parent
Even though this is a large high school, it has a small school feel. The teachers are great and have a geniune sense of community and care for our students.


Leigh High School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a community member
Out of the 3 high schools I've been to, Leigh is by far the best one! The teachers I am fortunate enough to have are caring & for the most part good at what they do, with a few exceptions. Unlike a lot of the schools in the Bay Area, Leigh trusts their students enough to provide them with lockers which I believe says a lot. Because of the nice facilities, outstanding teachers, and tremendous amount of school spirit, every student at Leigh is privileged to go to such a fantastic school.

Leigh High School 5

Posted January 30, 2014
- a community member
I hope that these parents that post negative comments about Leigh High school are going directly to the Principal, Administration Offices and the District Superintendent to register their complaints. In addition, If all parents participated/supported the school and communicated with the above contacts this would help the school to improve in the right direction. Parent participation is not high at this school in comparison to other High API scoring schools nearby. Are you participating and contributing to making this a better school? A grandparent of a student at Leigh High.

Leigh High School 1

Posted January 29, 2014
- a parent
1 counselor per 900 students, administration is non-responsive regarding individual students issues. Was a great school 10 years ago. Wouldn't recommend Leigh for 2014. Needs new management and new Honors level teachers.


Leigh High School 4

Posted August 11, 2013
- a parent
Sartorette Elementary is an excellent school with caring teachers and staff. Though they have used their funds wisely, they still face the same challenges every school faces in CA.

Leigh High School 5

Posted February 20, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful high school. Excellent instructors and highly esteemed sports teams. Teachers are very supportive and highly educated.

Leigh High School 1

Posted December 08, 2012
- a parent
worst school in the bay go to los gatos. leigh needs money, so they can make the school better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Leigh High School 5

Posted May 31, 2012
- a parent
This is a great high school which great facilities. They have a great football program and a recently upgraded stadium. They also offer a great band program.

Leigh High School 2

Posted January 18, 2012
- a parent
As an involved parent and one who does her best to be supportive of my child's education, I can tell you that this school's administration is crummy! The AP classes are given the poorest teachers. I'm sure the thought is that these students will be fine, and they generally are. They are used to being responsible for their own education. The admin. has its own agenda and it does not involve supporting the education of students or the education goals of the teachers. Most of the admin. and staff do not support extracurricular activities if they are not sports and are often rude to students looking for support. Many of the teachers try to do well by their students but they are overworked and receive very little support from the admin., other than the activities director, who is also incredibly overworked! Parent support is not the challenge here. It's going to take a complete overhaul of the administration and a willingness to dismiss dysfunctional staff to change what is wrong with this school! Sure, my kid will go to a great college, however, she is a strong student. I'd hate to be a student who is not good at managing his or her own education and be at this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Leigh High School
5210 Leigh Avenue, San Jose, CA  95124
(408) 626-3405
Last modified Leigh High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Leigh High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 79 reviews.