Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


R. I. Meyerholz Elementary School 3

Posted June 13, 2013
- a parent
Don't let the high API make you think that it has anything to do with the school or the teachers. Most of the kids that come to these schools have educated parents. They may also have a parent at home keeping them in line with school. Many of these students are from families that value better academic standards than the regular public schools. Most are either Indian, Chinese, Japanese, Koreans , and very small percentage of southeast Asian such as Vietnamese Burmeses and Filipinos for all of the Cupertion Union School District. If your kid is not interested in learning or is above average than he/she will not get any better cuz the child along with their parents put in the most effort. The teachers are about 20% responsible. Just letting you people know and not to think that there is anything to do with the staffs. It is very expensive homes per square footage and also the rent is going crazy right now. My kids love school and are doing very well and that is the reason we stay.

R. I. Meyerholz Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2012
- a parent
This is a wonderful medium sized school with great academics and highly motivated teachers. The school has two different programs, neighborhood and Chinese Immersion. The neighborhood teachers are very caring, student oriented and easily accessible. The new principal is very good at motivating the teachers. I have already seen a difference. A new playground has just been installed for the students. Thanks Mrs. Hickey. The Chinese Immersion program however is using too much resources of this school. As a result, some programs for the whole student body such as chess has to be taken away. The Chinese program takes students from the Cupertino district. Teachers are mostly from Taiwan and the atmosphere is also Chinese. Parents involvement high. Teachers work hard, however, need to be more Americanized in teaching. Not for every student who wants to learn Chinese.


R. I. Meyerholz Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2011
- a parent
Very good school. Teachers are very orgnized and caring. Admin is friendly. Parents and Students are great. My daughter is very happy there everyday.

R. I. Meyerholz Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2011
- a parent
Overall Great!!! great parent participation, administratively very organized, caring staff and involved parents. My daugher loves it! and the YMCA that is on campus is rated the best in the system. Peace of mind.....

R. I. Meyerholz Elementary School 3

Posted October 15, 2010
- a parent
This school had two great principals the past years. But this year (2010-2011), there is a new principal. The Principal is completely unenthusiastic about adding more extra curricular programs. She has no vision of where she wants the school to progress. She is completely uninterested in betterment of the kids and the school. I would really think twice in enrolling in a school with such an indifferent principal.


R. I. Meyerholz Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
Great immersion program, parents and teachers all working together

R. I. Meyerholz Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2010
- a parent
The community cares about its students and are willing to do what it takes to produce outstanding students. Parents, teachers, administrators collaborate to create the most conducive environment for learning.

R. I. Meyerholz Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is getting a good education there. Staff are caring and school is well organized.


R. I. Meyerholz Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
Great immersion program and parents are involved in school activities.

R. I. Meyerholz Elementary School 3

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
Teacher don't do much in Meyerholz, they have high score is because the parents send the kids to after school tutoring all the time. We parents spend a lot of the money for our kids to have tutor, actually all the schools teacher in california are same standard, it depends on the parents in the area. If they family have money and time to spend on the kids, of course they will get high score. The new principle is so so also, not so nice and she thinks she is running the company.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

R. I. Meyerholz Elementary School
6990 Melvin Drive, San Jose, CA  95129
(408) 252-7450
Last modified R. I. Meyerholz Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
R. I. Meyerholz Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top