Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 1,305

4 stars
Based on 62 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


66 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Joaquin Miller Middle School 3

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
I will say the school is so-so, the great API is because of the private tutoring and family value of academic performances. Stuff do not need to contribute nothing more , or even less than other not-that-good school, they are just lucky to have students from better family backgrounds , most them are Indians or Chinese families, and those two groups value the academic performance so much. My kid told me that P.E. tore a student paper into pieces publically just because he did not follow the instruction and put it into the tray, and instead, the student handed to the P.E. teacher. I cannot believe that can happen in US. I told my kid, never allow your teacher do the same thing to you! If it happens, you have to let parents know and I will fight for you.

Joaquin Miller Middle School 5

Posted July 26, 2014
- a community member
As a student I loved going to Miller, but then that was 40 years ago. I wonder if any of my teachers are still around LOL.


Joaquin Miller Middle School 3

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
I would give this school an average rating, nothing so outstanding about this school. Parents and kids need to put lots of effort, almost all students get private tutoring. I never heard anyone saying the teachers motivated the student to take to next level. Lots of educated parents around the neighborhood so they take initiative to take the kids to science Olympiad like activities. So these kids would definitely stand out. I have compared lots of school in not so good school district with this, I could not find any single difference in the program or any outstanding activity at this school. I tried to register my son for Robotics club after hearing lots of good reviews, nothing happened that year. It was said that some teachers would volunteer and take them for competition. Kids don t have a super friendly atmosphere, my kid was nervous to go and speak anything to any teachers. So this is best suited for students and parents who are over achievers and extraverts, not a good atmosphere for an average performing kid or an average parent/family.

Joaquin Miller Middle School 4

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
I am satisfied with whole thihgs. My daugher is happy to go to school. She loves her school and her friends.

Joaquin Miller Middle School 3

Posted June 13, 2013
- a parent
Many of the students that attend this school are from families that value better academic standards. The students and parents put in the effort. You cannot put a student that is below average into this school and expecting the teachers to turn them around. It doesn't work that way.


Joaquin Miller Middle School 4

Posted March 23, 2013
- a parent
There are many Indians/Pakistians/Cashmere = used to be one India before the British broke them into 3 countries. I had not met an India parent that is not a FOB and majority speak with very accent and a few moderate accent. I hear majority speak their native language to their kids, but Indian Dialect is listed as only 10% for this school. The percentage of Indians/Pakistians/Cashmere people combine should make between 30 to 35% of the total school population. There is no hindi speaking indian at this school is not believeable either. Please update the data.

Joaquin Miller Middle School 3

Posted March 23, 2013
- a parent
Not all the teachers are great, so if your kid is not able to learn by him or herself, then you better not enroll them into this school. There are some good teachers, but there are bad ones too. The bad ones cannot teach. They read off from the books. Currently my child misses the advance 6th grade math teacher cuz she is on maternity leave. My child does not like the sub for advance math. My child told me this sub does show the students in class how to do the math equations. Gee, why do we need a teacher like that for!! I hope the principal reads this and is looking into this problem

Joaquin Miller Middle School 5

Posted December 30, 2012
- a community member
I go to this school and love it and in 8th grade. I'm going to miss this school for 4yrs.


Joaquin Miller Middle School 5

Posted December 28, 2012
- a community member
I can't say anything. All I can say is it's beyond amazing. If you come you will know what I mean. Infinity out of 5 stars.

Joaquin Miller Middle School 3

Posted November 26, 2012
- a community member
Miller is a good school but it is not that special from the other schools in this district. They don't have much opportunity for ELD students and the learning is based on tests. They don't have many great electives like other schools do. Although it has a high API level, it has nothing to do with the school or the teachers. The API was based on students. Kids at Miller are more advantaged in many aspects such as wealthy families, better Elementary schools, and the overall atmosphere. Parents shouldn't expect their kids to be perfect just because they go to Miller. My friend goes to Hyde and tells me about the school. Their API is affected by ELDs, families with low income and education, and (not trying to be racist) different cultures. Their is a high rate of low income families who don't have the same happiness in their children's education. My friend thinks that with student with opportunities and privileges like those in Miller, Hyde would be the schools everyone brags about. Apparently, Hyde has better teachers, more electives, and just needs more attention and funding. After that Miller vs. Hyde debate, I must say, she won.
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Joaquin Miller Middle School
6151 Rainbow Drive, San Jose, CA  95129
(408) 252-3755
Last modified Joaquin Miller Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Joaquin Miller Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 66 reviews. Top