Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,328 students|Cupertino Union
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
62 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 79 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Joaquin Miller Middle School
Grateful to: Student

Posted August 09, 2016
- a student
my friends have been the most helpful they make school fun they make me forget about all the bad things i can't live without them

Joaquin Miller Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted August 09, 2016
- a student
They don't treat the kids right all they want is for them to be good and move ahead in life so they don't have to deal with us and high school teachers can take care of us.


Joaquin Miller Middle School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted August 09, 2016
- a student
I don't know what to say about the homework like most of the times teachers don't give you homework which is nice but then when they do it doesn't relate to what they taught us and the test are the most diffucult and they give like a test in each class almost everyday/week.

Joaquin Miller Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 09, 2016
- a student
the teachers definitely give us the hardest time it just adds on to the stuff we already have to deal with i know they r teaching and want a good salary but if you r gonna be rude to us you are gonna bad reviews and bad reviews lead to less money and being bad teachers makes us don't like school therefore it leads to ditching

Joaquin Miller Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 09, 2016
- a student
i can't explain this everyone legit just stabs u in the back and all u can do about it is cry and deal with it. The people in the school just want to get over with middle school legit


Joaquin Miller Middle School
Grateful to: Student

Posted December 10, 2015
- a community member
Well students. All the students that I know in Miller middle school I want to say thanks to. In one way or another we all helped each other to make our school a great place. Thank you!

Joaquin Miller Middle School 3

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
I will say the school is so-so, the great API is because of the private tutoring and family value of academic performances. Stuff do not need to contribute nothing more , or even less than other not-that-good school, they are just lucky to have students from better family backgrounds , most them are Indians or Chinese families, and those two groups value the academic performance so much. My kid told me that P.E. tore a student paper into pieces publically just because he did not follow the instruction and put it into the tray, and instead, the student handed to the P.E. teacher. I cannot believe that can happen in US. I told my kid, never allow your teacher do the same thing to you! If it happens, you have to let parents know and I will fight for you.

Joaquin Miller Middle School 5

Posted July 26, 2014
- a community member
As a student I loved going to Miller, but then that was 40 years ago. I wonder if any of my teachers are still around LOL.


Joaquin Miller Middle School 3

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
I would give this school an average rating, nothing so outstanding about this school. Parents and kids need to put lots of effort, almost all students get private tutoring. I never heard anyone saying the teachers motivated the student to take to next level. Lots of educated parents around the neighborhood so they take initiative to take the kids to science Olympiad like activities. So these kids would definitely stand out. I have compared lots of school in not so good school district with this, I could not find any single difference in the program or any outstanding activity at this school. I tried to register my son for Robotics club after hearing lots of good reviews, nothing happened that year. It was said that some teachers would volunteer and take them for competition. Kids don t have a super friendly atmosphere, my kid was nervous to go and speak anything to any teachers. So this is best suited for students and parents who are over achievers and extraverts, not a good atmosphere for an average performing kid or an average parent/family.

Joaquin Miller Middle School 4

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
I am satisfied with whole thihgs. My daugher is happy to go to school. She loves her school and her friends.

Nearby schools

Joaquin Miller Middle School
6151 Rainbow Drive, San Jose, CA  95129-4043
(408) 252-3755
Last modified Joaquin Miller Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top