Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

443 students|Cupertino Union
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John Muir Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
Since this is a smaller school, teachers pay higher attention on individual kids. My kids love the school and they enjoy going to it! Setting up a good personality & character is far more important than getting high marks in academic result at this young age!

John Muir Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
This a great school in CUSD - this is in fact the third elementary school my child is attending within CUSD and I love that it's a smaller school. Teachers are very caring and attentive to individual students, and the principal is great. It should be rated higher IMHO.


John Muir Elementary School 3

Posted January 13, 2014
- a parent
I just moved here to portage 2months ago and my son started out Ok the teachers are Ok but they can work on the discrimination among the kids a lot better than its been because it make my kid not like coming to school and I don't like it because we are here to stay but once they work on that little situation I mention I would rate the school a B+ from my rating sincerely yours parent

John Muir Elementary School 5

Posted November 26, 2013
- a parent
Amazing teachers & staff over the past 3 years 2010-2013. They have a new principal Mrs. Steele who has great energy & leadership. Vanessa Mercado, the IEP instructor provides a nurturing environment for children with ADHD, kindness & patience are her best qualities!!! Mrs Salas (5th grade teacher) provides an educationally challenging but fun environment which distracts the pressure of a challenging academic environment to a fun class to learn in all year long! Mrs Chu (3rd grade) teacher has a lot of experience & provides a warm & caring environment that is conducive to students learning at their own pace. I highly recommend this wonderful school. Great technology, awesome PTA President Wendy Strand who organizes an amazing Harvest Festival, book exchange & more!!

John Muir Elementary School 3

Posted December 31, 2012
- a parent
We relocated back to the US this year and realized that there are probably 98% Asian in John Muir. The international school that my kid attended has a even higher student diversity than in this town. It was to my big surprise. Homework routine was introduced only after parents' meeting in October. The class is full of students of all different levels of competence. If you want your child to feel confident, he/she can easily earn it at this school. If you believe that peers are important and they can challenge each other so to bring out the best of a child, it's probably not the case in here. My kid also picks up a bad habit from an adult from this school.


John Muir Elementary School 5

Posted December 28, 2012
- a parent
I don't think greatschool's stats do the diversity at this school justice. It really is the most diverse school in CUSD. Yes, there are more Asian and Indian students, but there are also many white and Hispanic students. I love that my daughter is around diversity like this. I was a little nervous when we moved in because John Muir was the "overflow" school, but I love the smaller size of the school and was happily surprised. The principle is amazing and seems to really care about and know each student. My daughter was behind in reading, but her teacher has been happy to help me work with her to get her caught up. All of the parents are involved in their child's education. What a wonderful place John Muir is. I couldn't be more at ease having my daughter spend the day there.

John Muir Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
John Muir is such a wonderful place for my kids. Not only they have the loving nourishing staff, but a very strong academic. Love it!

John Muir Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
this is one of the best elementary schools in the cupertino and santa clara districts. the teachers are so caring about the students , they give each child individual attention . The principal is a great leader , and the children find him very approachable. great team work . keep it up john muir. my grandson loves his school.


John Muir Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
The teachers & staff really care about every student.

John Muir Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 05, 2009
- a parent
As a parent of a student who attends John Muir and as an employee of the Cupertino Union School District I think that if you have a child going to school here you are pretty darn lucky. There are great teachers and parent support. People should feel pretty lucky to live and have their kids go to school in the CUSD.

Nearby schools

John Muir Elementary School
6560 Hanover Drive, San Jose, CA  95129-3832
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. (408) 252-5265
Last modified John Muir Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top