Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 562
 

5 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Murdock-Portal Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2014
- a parent
My son will be attending Portal for the 3rd year, and I couldn't be happier. I am always impressed with the projects they complete in class. I know that he is getting a great foundation for future learning.

Murdock-Portal Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
I have 2 kids in this school (1 passing out this year) and I love it. The multi age village system is very good for the kids. They get to grow in the same familiar environment for 2 years; first year as a younger resident with many older kids helping and guiding them and the next year they take on the role of the guide. I haven't heard of any bullying etc. which can be a concern in a multi-age class. I love Project Cornerstone. Teachers go the extra mile with academics and school plays. I did not feel the need to send my kids' to extra academic training outside of school. 2 Parent-Teacher conference every academic-year is great as compared to only 1 in other schools. I wish they had the gifted-kids program & spell-bee/geography-bee/math-Olympiad/science-fair/ elocution/ debate kind of competitions. School used to have after-school Hindi etc. classes, don't know why its been discontinued. I like their band program too. The parents get many opportunities to volunteer, be it in class or field-trip. Overall the school is doing a wonderful job.


Murdock-Portal Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2013
- a parent
I was little worried about my daughter when she got admission to Portal School because of she being the youngest in the class. But with the support of teacher I could see the immense change in her in a year. Love the way they teach and motivate kids to learn and even motivate parents in participating in all the activities that occur. And one best thing I liked is the way they keep note of each and everything the child does. I always get a note for what my child did in each subject. For example; During sharing time what all my child spoke all points were noted down and handed over to us. The conclusion is that the best school with best teachers.

Murdock-Portal Elementary School 4

Posted February 09, 2013
- a parent
Overall, I think this is good school. My daughter has been there for some years and the new principal feels like a good leader. I think she does not want it to be as academic oriented as it used to be and I welcome that because it seemed like it was getting too academic and the scores were most important and it was not about the school experience. Just my opinion. I wish there was a gifted program for kids because I feel my child can do more, but isn't always allowed to move further ahead. But I like the school and she has a great time.

Murdock-Portal Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2011
- a parent
The multi-age, village based learning environments are just one of the few reasons Murdock Portal is such a great school. It has year round academic calendar aimed to ensure that students retain more as they grow... and some of the homework is project-based letting them use their own creativity and collaboration with parents. The Principal is deeply committed and is a constant presence in most of the activities. The teachers regularly communicate with the parents through emails and blogs and that keeps the parents well-informed all the time. The PTA (PSCO) manages quite a few activities throughout the year including Lunch Clubs, Enrichment Programs and Instructional Aids just to name a few. Overall, Murdock Portal Elementary is a great combination of an effective learning program, efficient teachers and steady leadership of the Principal.


Murdock-Portal Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2010
- a parent
Portal school has good staff and better education.

Murdock-Portal Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
My kids learn a lot from the multi-age class.The teachers and the staff are very supportive. The parents are fantastic and contribute a lot to the spirit of the school.

Murdock-Portal Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 08, 2010
- a parent
My kids learn a lot from the multi-age class and the semi year round school calendar. The teachers and the staff are great and supportive. Lots of parents participate, and kids love the school.


Murdock-Portal Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 08, 2010
- a parent
My kids love the multiage school class. They learn a lot from older or younger kids as well. The teachers and staff are great.

Murdock-Portal Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 07, 2010
- a parent
My son changed from one school to the other several times due to family relocations. He entered Portal last year. I have to say that Portal is the best with experienced and responsible teachers, they care about every thing the students have academically and socially. I am very happy to have my child in this outstanding school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Murdock-Portal Elementary School
1188 Wunderlich Drive, San Jose, CA  95129
(408) 973-8191
Last modified Murdock-Portal Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Murdock-Portal Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top