Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
4 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Apollo High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted December 29, 2015
- a student
As a former student at Apollo High School I can honestly say my professors did a great job of communicating and interacting with their students.

Apollo High School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted December 29, 2015
- a student
To some extent I can agree Apollo helped students develop some of these traits. Yet because it is a continuation school I do not feel it challenged their students enough academically.


Apollo High School 4

Posted December 29, 2015
- a student
I graduated from Apollo High School during the summer of 2011. The instructors were great! However being that the sole focus of this high school is to help failing student earn credits it does not challenge them enough academically. While I do believe the instructors do the best they can to assist their students I feel the school and professers should place some emphasis on the importance of college. If this were to improve I have no doubt the students would benefit from it. Though I do admit the school did do a great job of referring students to programs such as CCOC. Eligible students were also given the option to attend night school in addition to their current morning of afternoon classes.

Apollo High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 29, 2015
- a student
Students are normally given a textbook to take home. Material covered usually depends on the type of credits you are working towards. This mostly consists of reading articles/passages and then answering questions at the end of each chapter. Teachers also assign research projects but the majority of the work is completed in class.

Apollo High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 29, 2015
- a student
My professors were great! However it is important to make sure you ask for help if you need it. My teachers did a great job assisting their students. They provided after school hours for students who need the extra help and were available if anyone had any questions.


Apollo High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 29, 2015
- a student
I would like to thank Mr. Feldman for being a great English teacher. I appreciate the fact that he challenged his students academically. Thanks Feldman, I can appreciate Cornell note taking now. I would also like to thank Mrs. De La Cruz for her patience and her dedication to her students.

Apollo High School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted December 28, 2015
- a student
In order to remain a student at Apollo students had to follow their regulations. I can appreciate this to an extent because it taught students to appricate the importance of their education. Any fighting or aggressive behavior by the students called for immediate suspension if not expulsion.

Apollo High School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted December 28, 2015
- a student
It is important to acknowledge this school is similar to a continuation school. This means that the ratio of students is much smaller than that of a regular high school. Thus the teachers were able to assist their students one to one and give them the help they needed.


Apollo High School 5

Posted December 13, 2010
- a community member
i am a graduate from apollo and it was a great learning enviroment with teachers who helped and listened when needed....im glad 2 have attended Apollo because i learned so much and made many friends in the process which include students and staff i entered apollo with 55 credits junior year and graduated senior yea with 200+ credits apollo helped me turn my life around.

Apollo High School
no rating

Posted May 15, 2009
- a community member
i am a graduate from apollo and all i have to say is that this is a GREAT school it was a great opportunity to show myself that i could do anything i i try and im sure it was also a GREAT experience for all the other graduates from apollo

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Apollo High School
1835 Cunningham Avenue, San Jose, CA  95122-1712
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (408) 928-5400
Last modified Apollo High School is a Public school that serves grades 11-12
Top