Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 2,117
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oak Grove High School 4

Posted December 05, 2014
- a parent
Great school and great education for our child who was an above average student involved in clubs, sports, leadership and AP classes. Staff and coaches were supportive. Programs for various academic levels. High school is what you make out of it as a student. You are going to get a good education if the student puts effort into it as well as the parents, getting involved and knowing who to contact with questions. In addition to our child, many recent graduates were accepted to UCs , CSUs, and private universities. Don't let reputation steer your wrong, have a tour, meet with administrators to see what kind of programs (academic, sports, arts, music, special ed, etc.) the school has to offer.

Oak Grove High School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
Surprising how happy I am with this school. They care about their students and really go the extra mile to ensure a supportive, safe, stimulating environment for their students. My son wasn't a high achiever before transferring to Oak Grove. Without any special interventions he's thriving in all his courses. They've helped him with ensuring he's gotten all of his college prep and he's passed two AP tests! The difference? Great teachers, great philosophy, wonderful community, excellent facilities, and nice students.


Oak Grove High School 1

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
In my kid's science class they never had tests and watched inappropriate movies like "The Hangover" and "Pirates of the Caribbean." Administrators lied straight to my face. And it took complaining to the superintendent of schools to find out 24 out of 31 kids failed my kid's algebra class. The armed San Jose Police constantly patrolling the school are very necessary. Good students can still learn. Average students will suffer from a very poor learning environment. Miserable teachers and administrators have job security at Oak Grove.

Oak Grove High School 5

Posted August 08, 2011
- a community member
the school was a great experience, and i had a lot of fun there. i hated leaving, it was probably the best 4 years of my life. people say that there's a lot of violence and gang related problems but that really doesnt affect students staying on the right academic path. i would send my kids here! CLASS OF '11

Oak Grove High School 2

Posted July 30, 2010
- a community member
Pro: Education, Teachers, Diversity, Con: Education, Administrators, Environment I put Education in both categories is b/c it depends. You may receive a quality education if you are in high level courses OR you may complain all year long of clueless/miserable teachers if you have average/below average ones. Sad but true. Good/bad teachers are a pro b/c they come to work everyday knowing what they're up against. They take turns keeping an eye on students & taking no pleasure in doing so at all. Most administrators (minus counselors, principal) are rude AND lazy. It's difficult to bring up your situation w/o becoming annoyed or provoked. Most of the time you hear "I don't know" when, in fact, if you push the situation enough, he/she DOES know. The environment is clean but the (Student) bathrooms are the worst. Police patrol the area all the time-Giving it a juvenile delinquent atmosphere.


Oak Grove High School 5

Posted February 24, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Oak Grove High School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a community member
It is a wonderful, multi-cultural atmosphere which deals with the reality of student life.

Oak Grove High School 4

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
Great Teachers, Coaches, and Band Director. Great programs for all kids that seek out being involved. I have had two students go thru OG, They earned a great education and are well on their way to graduation from universities. Students who want an education can be educated, they just need to put in the effort. Go OG Football 2009-2010


Oak Grove High School 5

Posted August 26, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Oak Grove High School 5

Posted April 10, 2008
- a student
I loved this school...it was challenging and enocuraged me to do better in my life and made me a better person...Class of '07

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oak Grove High School
285 Blossom Hill Road, San Jose, CA  95123
(408) 347-6500
Last modified Oak Grove High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oak Grove High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top