Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cedar Grove Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
My son loves his teacher who is teaching his first and second grade. She is one of the best teacher we know.

Cedar Grove Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
My son and daughter attended Cedar Grove, where they received the fountain required to attend NYU and Saint Mary's. Excellent school. It's a shame that it doesn't received a 10 rating that it deserves!


Cedar Grove Elementary School 5

Posted July 23, 2014
- a community member
This school is great. The thing that I don't like is how the new Principal, Mrs. Peery, is changing the whole school so much. The school is losing most of its traditions ever since Dr. Pruitt left, but other than that Cedar Grove is a very great school. In the past 2 years I have been in Cedar Grove, I meet new people and learn more things. I have just graduated and I miss it so much with many memories, such as being field captain for field day (which was the best experience of my life). Academics, rules, and bullying are taken very seriously here. Protection for the students are also taken seriously as well. If you plan to enroll your child here, that would be a very good choice.

Cedar Grove Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2010
- a community member
This is one of the best elementary schools in our area. The teachers are very active in ensuring student progress. Weekly reports are sent home and they can also be easily contacted via email and phone. The principal has strong leadership and is always out and about. The school has an amazing after school Taiko and Choir program lead by teachers. Furthermore, there are many other student-parent activities throughout the school year organized by the PTA.

Cedar Grove Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2007
- a parent
My daughter gets a great education with caring teachers that really care. They do so many things for the children like science camp, movie night etc...


Cedar Grove Elementary School 5

Posted December 13, 2004
- a student
Cedar Grove provides a warm and nurturing environment where any child has the capability to thrive and do well in academia! As a former student more than 20 years ago, and now seeing my niece and nephew going through the school, I have seen that the school remains dedicated to the success of their students on many different levels!

Cedar Grove Elementary School 4

Posted June 25, 2004
- a parent
Cedar Grove has excellent teachers and the new principal is very open to parents suggestions and is also interested in the things parents think can better the school. For instance I have been the head of the safety committee for the last three years and have tried to get the previous principal to try alternative ways of dropping off and picking up children before and after school and he refused, but the new principal, Mrs. Morra was open and ready to try anything. Our new system is working great! I think the parent participation could be better but Cedar Grove has a wonderful PTA! We have a very diverse school and I think that makes it a challenge but one our teachers are up to!

Cedar Grove Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 29, 2003
- a parent
Cedar Grove is a very good school and has an outstanding staff. As the parent with the comment before this one stated, it does have its limitations, but what school doesn't? It would be very ignorant to blame the schools problems on the kids who speak English as a second language. We as parents should work together to help the school reach its full teaching ability and if it means teaching ESL so be it. Let's take on the challenge!


Cedar Grove Elementary School 2

Posted April 17, 2003
- a community member
This is a school where a large percentage of the students come from homes where English is the second language.Apparently the school seems to have everything but the school but there seems to be a singular lack of motivation to do well. The teachers can vary from excellent to mediocre but the office staff is very good.Parent involvement is also poor.This used to be a great school but the Administrative staff is not very open to suggestions from the parents and does not seem to be working towards improving the scores.For the average child this is a great school but if your child is above average ,the chances are that your child will not find much challenge.The teachers have their work cut out for them and not many will take the effort to provide challenge for the gifted child.

Nearby schools

Cedar Grove Elementary School
2702 Sugar Plum Drive, San Jose, CA  95148-2042
(408) 270-4958
Last modified Cedar Grove Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top