Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 594
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dove Hill Elementary School 4

Posted December 25, 2014
- a community member
I went to this school for three years and found they have okay teachers. The teaching was above standard. Although some of the older kids used to bully me and the yard duty did nothing. No matter how many times I reported them. I was also bullied by three girls for two years. My parents told the teachers but they did nothing. If you send your kid be prepared for some tears. I suggest to go to Castlemont Elementary School in Campbell.

Dove Hill Elementary School 1

Posted December 10, 2014
- a parent
These is the worst school in the whole world. The teachers don't know how to teach.The dean of discipline never warns the students that they have detention and because they didn't come they have suspension.My son told me this school was better during the 6th grade. I even liked the school at that time. But then in seventh grade the teachers turned out to be bad.They would never teach. The dean of discipline is Ceran who came to the school in 7th grade and thought that she was the boss of the school. Everyone hates her. She is worst dean of discipline I have ever seen in any school.The other dean of discipline was way better. She goes around the school telling other teachers how to do their job. So in total I think this school sucks! I don't recommend it to anyone.


Dove Hill Elementary School 1

Posted June 09, 2013
- a parent
My 5th grader son goes to this school, and one day he came home crying saying that someone hit him and stole his money. I was furious and wanted to go with him the next day. The boy looked like he was 2x bigger and really mean, but he did apologize. The school is old looking, and the neighborhood around seems a bit scary.

Dove Hill Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2012
- a parent
Terrific school. The school has helped her in English as she came to this school.

Dove Hill Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2011
- a parent
Exceptional school.Our daughter transferred from Cupertino school district for second grade. First we did not expect much with lower API. However this school seems to be better than our previous school. More home work for kids, stricter and more attentive teachers. School has not area for playing etc compared to our previous one. School bus is free of charge! Our daughter likes school so much. Teachers, principle care for kids very much. I cant think of one negative item to write


Dove Hill Elementary School 5

Posted October 23, 2010
- a parent
Dove Hill is a great school. My son came in as a second grader. He was having some problems with his reading , his writing, and spelling. His teacher stepped up and gave him the extra help he needed. He's now in 3rd grade, his penmanship has greatly improved and comes home with 100% spelling tests and loves to read.

Dove Hill Elementary School 2

Posted September 11, 2010
- a parent
My son attended Dove Hill during first grade in 2008. He did ok but in general did not feel capable / confident. We moved him to Rocketship Si Se Puede Charter in it's first year of operation in 2009. He had a hard time at first adjusting to the increased work load ( I could go into detail here but trust me, on several levels, there is just no comparison / it's no surprise Charter schools far outperform comparable regular public schools ) but quickly cought the bug and excelled. He will not miss a day of homework and does it all on his own. He now knows HE CAN DO IT.

Dove Hill Elementary School 1

Posted August 17, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Dove Hill Elementary School 5

Posted August 03, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Dove Hill Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dove Hill Elementary School
1460 Colt Way, San Jose, CA  95121
(408) 270-4964
Last modified Dove Hill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dove Hill Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top