Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Holly Oak Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $428,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 19, 2013

Something has gone wrong with our school. The new pricipal Mr. Hodgin is not encouraging reading skills and activities like the science fair and talent show. I am a 6th grader and proud to say that our school is awsome but down to the new principal. Up to Mr.corpus. Teachers are great but the subs are bad. Our school reenforces lots of rules and all but time for the kids to have some fun. I advise you to look up laurel wood for good rates. I think the rules should be changed up a bit and uh BETTER LUNCHES!!!!!


Posted April 29, 2013

Holly Oak school has suffered when the previous principal moved to another school because the previous principal was very involved in speaking and working with parents. The school seems to need new care in ensuring a nurturing environment for both students and adults. This of course is only the review of one parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2012

My wife and I really like Holly Oak school. Our son was in kindergarten there. The teachers were very dedicated and sent home lots of practice work for our son to work on and gain strength in the areas of his needs. The school is run in a very professional manner. I especially liked the way the teachers and the fine principal Mr. Corpus was open to suggestions. They listen and are very caring about input and ideas from parents. Mr. Corpus was wonderful last year. He really makes the school feel like an extension of our family. Most importantly, our son really felt comfortable going to Holly Oak School and working with all the staff etc. What a wonderful principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

I was a 6TH grader at Holly Oak last year, and I had the best 7 years of my life there! The teachers are very motivating, and they encourage you all the time! The principal, is amazing! He is always inspiring the students to do thier best! I loved this school!


Posted December 19, 2009

The new principal, Mr. Corpus is taking Holly Oak from average school to a great school. There still some old school teachers but with Mr. Corpus leadership, Holly Oak is now a great school for kids! Great leadership!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

My 2 kids go to Holly Oak. My oldest one loves Mrs. Battistella. She is a great teacher for 6th Grade. My other child is on K2 class and the teacher needs a time management class. Always late and always rushing and doesn't give clear instructions to her kids and parents. A lot of parents complained to Mr. Corpus, the principal. He is a great principal at Holly Oak. He makes sure that the parents have the best support from him and teachers. He takes care of issues to anything. We all love him!!! Great job, Mr. Corpus!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

Wonderful Staff, PTA, Principal and school. My child has attended this school since kindergarten, she is now a fourth grader and I couldn't be happier with her academic progress. Her teachers since kinder have made such an impact on her socially and academically. Great communication between the teachers and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Holly Oak is an outstanding school in every way. Principal Corpus is a veteran leader. The PTO has been named the best in the nation for its energy, creativity, and sense of purpose and community. Our son is enjoying the high standards in academics and social ethics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

It is a great school my son and daughter go there and it is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

I have one daughter in this school and my son is attending the school in Aug. I have nothing but positive experiences with the school and teachers at this school. My daughter has been very fortunate to have great teachers in Kindergarten, 1st, and 2nd grade. The teachers have been in challenging my daughter to excel. She's a 2nd grader who's reading at a 5.4 reading level. I think this has a lot to do with her current principal and teacher who's really pushing for her to challenge herself. I think my only that makes me not give the school a 5/5 if the fact that there's not a lot of teachers out with the kids in the morning before school start and sometimes the gates aren't locked the way they are suppose to be during school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

With most school test scores on the rise, Holly Oak School is headed strait down. This past years test score are at an all time low. In other words, our test score were humiliating! This is do in part because for the first time in Holly Oak history, parents, teachers and the administration have all stopped working together. The current administration has done nothing to improve the conditions. She has only helped to divide us further. Until the district make a seroius change, Holly Oak is headed for further failer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

Two generations of children from my family have attended Holly Oak. The school has wonderfully dedicated teachers and support staff who ensure that students receive the best education. Unfortunately, current principal, Leila Welch has had a negative impact on the school. The Holly Oak family atmosphere and open-door policy this school was once known for is nonexistent under the current administration. It s evident in the declining parent involvement. Students, parents and staff stand strong in their efforts to uphold the reputation of their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2007

I teach at Holly Oak and have taught at a few other schools over the course of my career. I have to say the teachers at Holly Oak are amazing. I have never met more hard working, dedicated teachers in my life. It saddens me to say that Mrs. Welch has taken an amazing staff and reduced many of them to tears and to the brink of quitting because of her rudeness and treatment of the students. She is unprofessional and it saddens me that although many teachers have complained about her tactics she still remains in charge. Because of her if I had the choice I would not send my own child to Holly Oak. I want to thank the teacher at HO for being dedicated to their job despite the ridiculous mountains she makes everyone climb. I also salute the office staff who have to deal with her everyday and praise them for all of their hard work.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 18, 2007

Mrs. Welch is very unprofessional. It saddens me to see her speak to teachers, parents and most importantly the students with disrespect. I expected so much more from the Evergreen School District, but it seems that all they do is turn their heads. My fingers are crossed in hoping that the children at Holly Oak will not have to put up with this administration much longer. I am considering moving my child to a different school. After all, I would not doubt that Mrs. Welch is the cause of our school loosing great teachers and fantastic office support. ~Concerned & Active Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

If I were given the opportunity to move my children out of this school, I would! The teachers are great but the administration is failing the children! Unfortunately, no one cares and the children are suffering. Both parents and children are very unhappy! It's a sad place to send you children to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

I've been a parent for many years and for the past few years I've been watching Holly Oak slowly deteriorating. Unfortunatly, no one seems to care and the children are paying the price.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2007

The quality of Holly Oak has greatly deteriorated over the past three years. Major changes are drastically needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2007

I've been at this school for many years. Most years have been great -- teachers & staff. It's now a us vs them atmosphere, most taking sides... The kids are awesome as are most of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

Some teachers are great with communication, while others you have to constantly bother. I would not recommend this school to anyone. The leadership are awful and worse to work with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

My 3 children came from the Alum Rock School District. I couldn't begin to explain how aweful that was. Holly Oak was a Blessing to the lives of my children. The teachers are wonderful! They care about our kids, help them and are open to suggestion and involvement with the parents. The school is clean and the atmosphere is extremely positive. My children were so far behind in their studies at Alum Rock, they were going to be held back. The staff at Holly Oak used their resources, along with my involvement, to help my children catch up to their peers and gave them oppertunity and support they were not given at Alum Rock. Thank you Holly Oak! You are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

856

Change from
2012 to 2013

-11

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

856

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-11

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females70%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner76%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate96%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females78%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learner83%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate64%
Parent education - high school graduate78%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate96%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females66%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asian72%
Filipino59%
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students80%
Females82%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipino82%
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner67%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate64%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)90%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females67%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asian75%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students65%
Females69%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asian78%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner37%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate65%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females76%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asian87%
Filipino73%
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate70%
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students67%
Females71%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asian87%
Filipino64%
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate67%
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students58%
Females53%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asian68%
Filipino64%
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate56%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Females68%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asian86%
Filipino69%
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate73%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students59%
Females58%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asian79%
Filipino69%
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate55%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 49% 11%
Hispanic 39% 52%
White 5% 26%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Keith Hodgin
Fax number
  • (408) 223-4513

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2995 Rossmore Way
San Jose, CA 95148
Phone: (408) 270-4975

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT