Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 710
 

3 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

34 reviews of this school


Holly Oak Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
They are lazy, especially 5th Grade Teachers! They don't give out homework. No enough test either. How would we know if kids are learning something?

Holly Oak Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
5th Grade Classes, NO HOMEWORK - DISTRICT APPROVED IT! LAME! Principal is also useless! Can't take care of issues with his teachers!


Holly Oak Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
If 5th Grade teachers don't care, what determination can show to their students??!! They are lazy!

Holly Oak Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
NO, there are a lot of bullies at this school. They should take actions to students that are bullies and don't give extra chances!

Holly Oak Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
Again, 5th Grade teachers are lazy to teach. They don't care. They let student do their work, while they are doing some online shopping!


Holly Oak Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
5th Grade teachers don't care, if students show work without giving credits for a test.

Holly Oak Elementary School 1

Posted January 31, 2015
- a parent
The worst public school!!! The principal, Mr. Hodgin is another head count. Does not do anything for the school, teaching habits, etc to improve the school! Upper grade teachers, 5th Grade teachers are lame, horrible, and lazy! Your kids will not learn anything from them. Parents complained to Hodgin about the 5th grade teachers and he did not do anything! Beware parents, you need to transfer school if your child will be 5th grade. The laziest teachers around!!! They have favoritism and students notice it. It's bad to show favoritism in the classroom! The district does not do anything also. We complained to the district, NOTHING! If they need more money or raise, 5th grade teachers and the principal at Holly Oak do not deserve it!

Holly Oak Elementary School 1

Posted November 15, 2014
- a parent
Holly Oak 5th Grade Teachers are horrible!!! Principal is useless!!! He doesn't do anything with parents' complaints. Teachers are more powerful than the principal! Why 5th Graders don't have homework? Why they don't have work in their Friday Folders? Why they don't have enough test weekly? Why do they watch a lot of videos in the classroom? Why their 5th Grade Teachers read a lot of chapter books in the class? Are our 5th Grade Students learning anything from their teachers? How would we know?? Especially with this Common Core Math implementation, 5th Grade Teachers not checking their work! Horrible School!!!


Holly Oak Elementary School 2

Posted November 19, 2013
- a community member
Something has gone wrong with our school. The new pricipal Mr. Hodgin is not encouraging reading skills and activities like the science fair and talent show. I am a 6th grader and proud to say that our school is awsome but down to the new principal. Up to Mr.corpus. Teachers are great but the subs are bad. Our school reenforces lots of rules and all but time for the kids to have some fun. I advise you to look up laurel wood for good rates. I think the rules should be changed up a bit and uh BETTER LUNCHES!!!!!

Holly Oak Elementary School 2

Posted April 29, 2013
- a parent
Holly Oak school has suffered when the previous principal moved to another school because the previous principal was very involved in speaking and working with parents. The school seems to need new care in ensuring a nurturing environment for both students and adults. This of course is only the review of one parent.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holly Oak Elementary School
2995 Rossmore Way, San Jose, CA  95148
(408) 270-4975
Last modified Holly Oak Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Holly Oak Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top