Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holly Oak Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
I would like to thank Ms Talagtag. She has been very patient and is very knowledgeable on how to manage young children. She keeps the classes interesting and creative to help her students stay engaged and on task. She also makes me feel like my child is the only one in her class which I know is not true, but her professionalism and personal attention to each child shows her dedication and passion for teaching.

Holly Oak Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
My child is in Kinder and the packet that is sent home is enough. We work on it all week and I know he is busy in school as well.


Holly Oak Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
My experience with Holly Oak has been wonderful. the front desk ladies were very helpful during enrollment ensuring I had all the correct paperwork. The parent/teachers meeting at the begining of the year was very organized and informative. My child enjoys going to school and the staff is always expressing their concerns for safety.

Holly Oak Elementary School 5

Posted June 07, 2015
- a community member
All teachers do an outstanding job working with community members to provide students with a first class education.

Holly Oak Elementary School 1

Posted June 06, 2015
- a parent
Holly Oak up to 4th grade has some of the best teachers in the district. Unfortunately, at the 5th grade HO has no good teachers. So many parents have horrible stories about how grades dropped for their pervious Honor Roll students. Unfortunately, these teachers have tenure and the Principal cannot motivate them. It's a sad story for the lower grade teachers who work so hard to give our children the best education.


Holly Oak Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
They are lazy, especially 5th Grade Teachers! They don't give out homework. No enough test either. How would we know if kids are learning something?

Holly Oak Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
5th Grade Classes, NO HOMEWORK - DISTRICT APPROVED IT! LAME! Principal is also useless! Can't take care of issues with his teachers!

Holly Oak Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
If 5th Grade teachers don't care, what determination can show to their students??!! They are lazy!


Holly Oak Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
NO, there are a lot of bullies at this school. They should take actions to students that are bullies and don't give extra chances!

Holly Oak Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
Again, 5th Grade teachers are lazy to teach. They don't care. They let student do their work, while they are doing some online shopping!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holly Oak Elementary School
2995 Rossmore Way, San Jose, CA  95148-3527
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. (408) 270-4975
Last modified Holly Oak Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top