Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

George V. Leyva Intermediate School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $280,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,530.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2014

LeyVa Middle School... Home of the Bulldogs! I just want to say all the negative comments that are made about this school are absolutely false. I thought that this school was going to be a living nightmare, but I was wrong. I look at the other middle schools in our district, Chaboya and Quimby Oak, and I say to myself out of all the three middle schools I could've gone to, I'm happy I have the opportunity to go here. The staff are amazing. They never push a problem to the side no matter how small. The students here might not be angels, but we're one big proud family. This school has so much purple and gold spirit. I love you LeyVa! GO BULLDOGS!!!!


Posted March 14, 2013

I am a seventh grader here, and this school is just AWESOME. So many things and activities to do! There are also a lot of electives like Band, Drama, Teacher Assistant, Computer Tech, and a lot more. As far as this year, there is not a lot of trouble at this school. The kids here are so great and really outgoing. There are also sports here like Boys/Girls Wresting, Boys/Girls volleyball, Boys/Girls soccer, Boys/Girls basketball, Cross Country, and Track and Field. I am currently on the girl's soccer team and it is SO fun! The teachers here are great as well. They make sure you're on the right track and they will help pretty much anyone. I love this school and I'm happy I'll be here next year as an eighth grader! :)


Posted June 20, 2012

I just graduated from LeyVa middle school. I think this school is wonderful! There are so many activities available for students! I love how the teachers here are really dedicated to teaching. They would spend whatever time they have to helping students understand the concept. LeyVa has a great after school sports program. Even though they're budget cuts, the school manages to keep all the sports. I personally think that everyone at LeyVa has school pride, whether is wearing your sports uniform, participating in spirit days, or just having a pen that's purple! I came to LeyVa scared and unprepared, but now, I've graduated from this amazing school that has taken me far. I mean, all schools have bullies, and what i love about this school, is that they do something about it. The principals try their best to prevent it from happening. I love LeyVa, it was like my second home! "The Future Begins Here!"


Posted March 28, 2012

I am a parent at LeyVa and I am so impressed with the teachers and administration. They do an amazing job, going out of their way helping students on their lunch hour, after school. The poor comments written are obviously a disgruntled few and not the majority. Ask any student here at LeyVa who are a part of such a spirited school and they will tell you they love being here! Good students will always do well in a great environment and that they do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2012

Wow! I've been a teacher at LeyVa Middle School since 1998. I just can't understand the negative remarks made recently. In my opinion, LeyVa has never been better. There is so much focus on making students succeed here at LeyVa! We have challenging standards based classes. We have after school extended day classes for Language Arts and Math. Many teachers give up their lunch time to work with students. There are after school sports that really focus on being a team member. We have a great leadership class that encourages LeyVa pride and spirit. And the gang issue is at an all time low. We previously had years where gang related students flew their colors and attitude in my face. That is not tolerated here anymore and if it does pop up, the administrators deal with it immediately. Before school, break, lunch, and after school there are teachers, admin., and adults out on the yard through out the entire school on yard duty, so I challenge the remark of LeyVa not being supervised or unsafe....this is simply not true. Anyways, LOVE working here and so do my colleges, otherwise, so many of us would not be hanging around for so many years!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 10, 2012

Well, if I were a parent, I would change your son/daughter's school to Quimby or August Boeger. Here, they were very rude, hung out in stereotype "cliques" insted of being altogether as the administration wants. My friend and I had some trouble dealing with the fact we had to go to LeyVa. You think we're the only people? There's twenty more, just ask. That's pathetic, no child should be afraid to go to school! But, it's true. They intimidate, bully, and show alot of school spirit. Yep, they're bulldogs alright.


Posted January 10, 2012

Haha, where do I begin? If you're thinking of sending your child here, well, see what not just I witnessed. More than ten other students admit they hated this school. Why? -Bullying -Lack of parental/teacher/student communication -Disorderly conduct on the rise. -Academic levels and extra cirriculum are poor. This is actually said from two of my friends' fathers. If you can avoid it, try to stay away.


Posted December 7, 2011

Well where do i begin... Lets start with the gang problems. Seems that they tell these kids no more than 4 in a group yet groups are walking around in the size of 20 students just to intimidate others. Where is the staff? Why are they not stopping this? Are they afraid of the punks in the school or what. Most teachers are very helpful and nice to everyone. My problem is w/the administration. Setting rules and then not following through. Kids spitting at each other because there from different gangs! HELLO... kids are to be safe at school not disrespected by there classmates. Are parents being kept upto date on what is happening to there kids here at Leyva? OR are the parents just as bad? They should be teaching kids how to interact w/each other, same gang or not. Thatsl ife we need to teach them to have respect and empathy for each, dang whos running this place any way? Seems to me the kids are. I must say I am very disapointed in the expectations given to kids and no consiquences is a bad way to run a school full of problems. I graduated from Leyva many years ago, and i find it so sad that my kids were not able to have the same great safe school experience I did
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2011

I am a very involved older sister of a former student that attended this school. It was a bad experience for him and for me as well, as I interacted with the administration. They would suspend him and other students for the max amount of time for very small offenses, causing them to miss classes and homework in order to get those students "out of their hair". I could not believe how little support and patience they had with the students. I also grew up in the area, and it is not the best school by any means. If you can avoid it, consider sending your child to a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2011

Leyva is probably the BEST school to go to. I am an 8th grader about to graduate and have to say my 8th grade year has been the best days i've ever spent. The friends i've met, the amount of spirit this school contains just warms my heart. Even though we have one of the meanest vice principals ever, she is only doing her job to take care of us. However, this school has had a bad reputation because of how some of the students act, but ask yourself what school doesn't have trouble-makers. Some of the trouble-makers have the best attitudes, i have gotten to know them and they're not as bad as you think. (: Another thing i would love to include is the motivation. Everyday, on announcements, we are reminded that each and one of us is special and to always try hard. Some of the teachers you may not like but don't be in gloom, we leyvans will get you through these two years. We will welcome you with open arms and help you out with your struggles. LEYVA YOU KNOW!!


Posted January 10, 2011

This school is the best. end of descussion it is the best school in the whole world. my child's academics went higher and higher. and this school and very protective and safe, unlike chaboya and quimby
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2010

I just graduated from LeyVa this year. My overall overview is that LeyVa is different from other jr highs because it is more spirited. We always have activies & represent our colors. We are reminded almost everyday in announcements that we are LeyVa bulldogs & that we are the best :] The kids are cool, although, there are a few bad ones here & there. we have a very mean vice prinipal to deal w/ bad kids. the teachers are wonderful, and different. Yes, LeyVa is not the biggest school, but its smallness makes it easiar to know the kids around, because it is so small. during lunch ppl only hang out on one half of the school mostly. It's a really cool chill place, the PE is not hard. yes, if you wana stay away from trouble go somewhere else. LeyVa is alright i guess


Posted May 13, 2010

i am a new 8thgrade student at LeyVa Middle School. I just transferred from QuimbyOakMiddle School & to be honest LeyVa Is wayy better. Everyone was so nice & polite , and igot honors at this school.. And inever got Honor's at Quimby. This school is awersomeee ! Go Bulldogsss;]


Posted April 12, 2010

I attended this school last year and it was awesome! I wish that I can stay here another year. This school is very spirited for its many activities and assemblies. The teachers and students have great potential focusing on education. Overall, you'll get used to George V. Leyva Middle School. Go Bulldogs!=D
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2010

This school rocks. I am currently a 7th grader here and I love it here. The honors classes I'm in are challenging and my science teacher is awesome. The principal is amazing and the vice principals are kind but strict if you don't listen. I heard horrible rumors about the school and I was scared to go but when I did I fell in love with the school. I am invovled with spirit at LeyVa and I have so much spirit because the school rocks. Especially Band class
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2010

I'm a student of LeyVa. It's a very good school. The honors classes are very challenging, in a good way. But, sadly, some teachers are completely inadequate to teach. Most of the teachers are very good, but some are a nightmare. Overall, LeyVa is an excellent school with its ups and downs
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2010

i am currently a 7th grader at LVMS . this is really a great school & i can't wait to graduate ! go c/o 2011 !
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2009

This is a pretty good school. The honors' teachers were very good, but the normal classes had very disorganized teachers who didn't know too much about their subjects except that which they just read from the book. Overall, this is a good school with a few great teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2009

im a mother and i have to say this school is a great school..i volenteer for everything they have.pep rallys and everything is awesome i just love it.GO BULLDOGS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2009

Leyva middle school is a very good school. The education is very good and they also have very good teachers that are willing to teach these wonderful students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

816

Change from
2012 to 2013

-5

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

816

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-5

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

475 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

431 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
89%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

435 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
57%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
44%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

461 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

435 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students89%
Females87%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females58%
Males49%
African American47%
Asian73%
Filipino60%
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant education43%
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate41%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students48%
Females46%
Males50%
African American41%
Asian70%
Filipino55%
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disability47%
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant education29%
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate59%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students51%
Females51%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asian67%
Filipino58%
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner44%
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate51%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females60%
Males58%
African American55%
Asian77%
Filipino65%
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner12%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant education53%
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate46%
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate64%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students15%
Females18%
Males12%
African Americann/a
Asian18%
Filipino9%
Hispanic or Latino16%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged16%
Non-economically disadvantaged12%
Students with disability9%
Students with no reported disability16%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only22%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate10%
Parent education - high school graduate17%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)17%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students99%
Females100%
Males98%
African Americann/a
Asian98%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability99%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only99%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate100%
Parent education - high school graduate97%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students62%
Females60%
Males65%
African American44%
Asian80%
Filipino69%
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disability15%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant education56%
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate46%
Parent education - high school graduate66%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students73%
Females70%
Males77%
African American64%
Asian90%
Filipino84%
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant education60%
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate75%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 49%
Asian 32%
Black 4%
White 3%
Two or more races 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/AN/A
English language learners 26%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1865 Monrovia Drive
San Jose, CA 95122
Phone: (408) 270-4993

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Kumon of East Hills
San Jose, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT