Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Millbrook Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $428,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2014

I am a parent from another nearby school. I visited Millbrook because it has a very nice after school program run by the City of San Jose. The program is run well in my opinion. I was very impressed as an outsider in the way Millbrook was very inviting as I walked over to the school office. There were posters proudly displayed showing parent names participating in the P.T.A. Other posters showed valuable things that the school was doing. In the main office the secretaries were very kind and the atmosphere was that of great warmth and spoke loudly about the wonderful things the students are doing at the school (student work displayed etc.). About a month later I had the chance opportunity to meet the principal in an outside community situation and also noticed that she attends school district functions too. I found the principal to be very professional and she showed great warmth and kindness in speaking to myself and others. I believe she has strong experience in her years of educational work and although my child does not attend this school, I wanted to voice the good experiences I have had in visiting it.


Posted June 4, 2014

My daughter is almost graduating this school and I was shocked to hear that she wasn't going to have a graduation. She was very upset about this and so was I. I don't think I ever want to recommend this school to anyone I know who has children about the same age. There seems to be many fights breaking out at this school and my kid doesn't feel safe here. I wish I would have known about this earlier so I could have transferred her to a different school, but now it is too late because she is almost graduating. The teachers seem very kind and respectful, but I certainly do not like the principal. My child says that she has heard Mrs. Welch, the principal, say many rude things to confused parents. She refused to sell school teachers and yells a parents.The ladies who work in the office are not as nice either. I always try to avoid having to go in there. My kid dreads seeing the principal every single day. So do I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

We have had both of our kids attend Millbrook and I just have to say that the teachers are some of the best. They care about the students and truly care about teaching. I truly feel that my kids enjoy learning because the teachers do such a good job. My son, who is now in high school, is still remembered by name by most of his previous teachers and it is so heartwarming to get that sense of community from them. We used to have more community building activities in previous years and I really miss that. Areas where the school could improve is the food that is provided. I don't feel that it is nutritious. To respond to other posts the kids do have access to art classes as part of their curriculum though only one day a week. Also 5 and 6th graders have access to a music program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2014

Worst School Ever! My main complaint is the principal. The principal is mean, because she doesn't let kids play baseball, soccer, football, etc. There is one yard duty that plays all those games and the principal is fine with that, but the problem is that he rarely comes. She never listens to anybody's idea, and she never lets anyone talk when its not even their fault for something they were accused of. My son's best friend almost got expelled because of the principal. She never listened to what he had to say. I just hope that the principal resigns from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

If you got here thru home search the information shown there is not updated. ratio is about 24 to 1 on lower grades and about 33-36 to 1 for 4th grade and up. There are several combo classes. Zillow's extra curricular activities listed are NOT correct. There is NO mandarin or spanish. There is no yoga, softball, soccer, football, bicycling, tennis (unless you consider a few teams who use the park for practice after school- but that has NO relationship with the school). There is NO computer arts, drawing-painting is a after school program offered some times(available at extra cost ), there is no film production or theatre drama. Principal's orders students are NOT ALLOWED to play soccer, football or basketball during recess so the boys are bored.The principal also does not believe in the 6th grade kids being promoted to middle school so all they do is a "clap off" which mean the kids walk around the school while the other kids clap for them- it lasts about 3-4 minutes. Parents have asked many times but that is denied by the principal and the district says they have no control on what the principal decides. This school could improve if leadership cared about what the parents think.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2013

This is a wonderful school! My older son used to go to this school, aand my younger one goes to this school currently. All the teachers are helpful, and especially the principal, Ms. Welch. My child was in a mess regarding his grades, and his teachers helped him out. I am really thankful to all of the teachers. Here is something you should know: In sixth grade, there is a program in Millbrook called Leaders for Success. It helps you be more organized and prepares you for college! But here is one thing I don't like about Millbrook: the noon duties. They are mean and always ask people why they eat this food, it is not good for them, and they always barge into people's business. But, overall, this is a wonderful school.


Posted August 26, 2013

My school has good PTA activities. The principal is really good and encourages good behavior and discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2012

The school is improving every year.Teachers are great and motivating. My both kids are going there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

I have two boys both attended Millbrook school my elder one has already graduated from this school and younger one is attending fifth grade they both love this school and so I do. Staff is great, teachers are amazing, Principal (miss Welch) is the most awesome lady I ever met. She is always there to help children and parents. Overall it is an awesome school. I am a proud parent of two Millbrook students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

My son is in sixth grade and other son is in third grade. They help my sons alot in this school. Its excellent that the teacher are so concern about what happens to the student. They help my son so much that its help me
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

my son is in the 5th grade and loves milbrook. although he did prefer dr. rucker's attention & sweetness. mrs. welch did impress me when we had a problem with bullying. i talked to mrs. welch and his teacher and it is now taken care of. they did not tolerate it and now he's having no problems. he even got the monthly courage reward for speaking up- that helped him also. although, some of the front office staff is not so courteous & one lady KEPT giving me the wrong information about enrolling my other son. i was quite upset but she didn't seem to care to attempt to get the correct or at least helpful information. So, I also avoid the front office as much as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

My daughter enjoys going to school everyday...she loves her teacher..the school is kept very clean ..the students here all so respectful kind to one another. The principal is great! so nice and welcoming to all the parents and children..the only down side is the administrative office staff ..not very friendly..try to avoid it as much as possible..other than that..this is a GREAT SCHOOL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2011

My sons are in kindergarten and first grade, enjoying a challenging atmosphere and strong parent involvement. The principal is great, really involved and familiar with the children individually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2010

teachers really care about the kids, we do really well with PTA events, the school is kept clean no fights or bullying are toteralted
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

My daughter went to Millbrook until her 3rd grade and then we had to move. Millbrook teachers are generally exceptional when it came to teaching. However, some of them and especially in the administrative office and the custodian who conducts the parking space need to treat students and parents with more respect. They don't seem happy helping parents when parents need help. In other words, they were not the friendliest people to encounter so I avoided the office most of the time. Also, the principal did not seem to be as involved compare to other principal I've seen in other district..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

We are happy with are new principal. Her name is Mrs. Welch. She has a lot of energy, and loves the kids. She wants more parent involvement at Millbrook. We are lucky to have her at Millbrook.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2008

My daugter got hurt 2 times in the same week at the play ground. Some kids are rougher then others and all they do is give them a time out. I think they need to improve on their safty on the playground.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

This school year Dr. Rucker was transferred to another school and Mrs. Welch, is new the principal. Mrs. Welch appears to be a strict and assertive person and my kids are missing the kind and personal note Dr. Rucker gave to Millbrook. Safety, discipline and school & student success are definetly key issues at Millbrook.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

Excellent team of teachers. Has a good mix of new and tenured staff. The school grounds redone. Brand new classrooms. Overall, a good environment for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2008

Millbrook is a great school. The PTA does alot for the students and the children are happy going to school here. Whenever I see Dr. Rucker, the principal, she always has a smile and time to say hello. The teachers care about their students and have a great leader in Dr. Rucker. This school gets an A+.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

887

Change from
2012 to 2013

+9

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

887

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+9

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females79%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner82%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students81%
Females85%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner90%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate68%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Females79%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner48%
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students91%
Females88%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learner86%
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate90%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)91%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Females85%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate81%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females82%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner39%
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate70%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)84%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females85%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asian81%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students66%
Females72%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students75%
Females79%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asian87%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females83%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate75%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students73%
Females77%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asian87%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate69%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 56% 11%
Hispanic 32% 52%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6% 1%
White 4% 26%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3200 Millbrook Drive
San Jose, CA 95148
Phone: (408) 270-6767

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT